Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cycle

by vicious_br - Compo Entry

PLEASE, READ BEFORE
YES, I DID IT IN ONE SCREEN. I USED CONSTRUCT2 TO MAKE THIS GAME, AND WORK IN ONE LAYOUT FOR ALL FEATURES. MY MISTAKE WAS TO USE ZOOM EFFECT, I THINK THAT EFFECT IS BETTER FOR MY GAME EVEN DAMAGING THE JAM CONCEPT.
THK U 4 READ, AND CONSIDER IT.
[]'s

----- CONTROLS ------

Use ASDW to move
Space to teleport
Mouse to Aim
Hold left mouse button to Shoot
Click right mouse button to Granades
DONT LET MOUSE OUT OF SCREEN
6 levels + Boss. HF!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Fun3.71
#124Audio3.49
#125Graphics3.90
#189Overall3.62
#220Mood3.33
#752Innovation2.87
#1107Theme2.86

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Cool idea but hard to figure out how to do well, haha hard game.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great game! Controls were fluid, music and sound fit well, and I enjoyed playing it. A very, very solid game!

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

Great graphics! Almost like a Vectrex :D

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

I really liked the addition of the teleport mechanic to the kind of already done geometry wars style of the whole thing. I was going to say "man I feel so stacked with all this ammo" until at the 5th stage I realized I was out of it haha... anyways nice job! Really fun.

Pierce_Z says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

Really neat graphics and great soundtrack. One thing - I got outside the arena on the right side and I couldn't be hit.

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

This is really fun, and I could play this for a long time.

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

I really like the graphics! The gameplay feels really good.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Pierce z, u r right, a little bug to fix. :p

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Very slick game. good work. I really enjoyed this. I think the exploit where you can teleport out needs addressing post-jam tho ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really nice! Loved the graphics!

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Awesome game, nice rhytm, mechanic, music, and enemies. Sometimes they respawn right besides you, but well, that also happens in my game! :D Nice work!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Good and fun game with good graphics. I like it.
(Use ASDW to movie - "to movie" ^^)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Hard game,good graphics,good theme,good audio //5/5/5 x) if you have time also check my "weird tower defense" :-D

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Pretty graphics, nice audio and a good idea. Good Job!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hahaha, tku Sh1rogane, I was desperate :p and I write English very very bad :p

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Wow, that was just a fantastic experience. I don't know where to start. Graphics and sound were incredible, game was addicting as heck - I had a really hard time pulling myself away to fill out this form. Definitely some Geometry Wars inspiration but that's not a bad thing at all. I like how you can respawn by collecting the lines, and the upgrades representing by increased number of sides. Really solid effort, I'm truly amazed you pulled this off in 48-hours - I could easily fool myself into believing it was a Jam entry. Difficulty is punishing but not frustrating, feedback is satisfying, controls were excellent. You should try to get this on Steam.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Fleegle2000,I got to do it in 24h because I use Construct2, this software is easy to program, several features are preconfigured. I use LaunchPad to produce the music (just push the button and music happen), its so easy with this software. In photoshop, I copy and paste the layout effects, which made it the fastest production. I do not showered, I sleep only 3 hours, my wife scolded me ... I lost two barbecues, but I made the game =D
I always say that I will not participate because it is very exhausting. But here I am in producing games in 48 hours.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Sorry... I mean 48h

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35pm

fleegle2000, I really appreciate your feedback, it is very important to me. The effort was tremendous, I really thought I could not post this game. I published at 23:45, if I remember correctly ...
Feedback is the most important thing for the designer, I appreciate very much.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Good game. Really like the teleport function!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

So hard oO !
It's almost perfect, but a feedback to warn where the mobs will spawn will be better !

Awesome job :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I love love love the teleporting mechanic!!

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Great game! The graphics really matched up nicely with it's theme. Damn hard toward the end when ammo is scarce :D

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Amazing job. great graphics and sound. Rich mechanisms, replay value, addictive. The only things is that it doesn't fit the them. The rest is Waow

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Awesome game, really good graphic and music.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Excellent game! Had a lot of fun playing it.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Really smooth! A great game with nice graphics and great game play. Not sure about the theme though

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

tMalicet, First tku for your feedback, it is very important for me. I also felt the same with other games here in the LD31. But I programmed to operate in only one layout, the sprites are appearing in it, upgrade and downgrade in the same screen as well. Boss and death too. Even congratulations. What happens is that the screen moves. I thought stopped screen very boring for these type of game. The theme is 'on one screen', did not say anything about screen move. It was my point to evaluate other games.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12am

Cool concept but hard game! Good job overall!

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21am

Excellent remastared version of asteroid! controls are very smooth, great mood!

Sestren says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52am

This was pretty fun. The enemy's spawning algorithm seemed a tad annoying, as it frequently happened that they would spawn right next to you with no warning. Overall, really good entry!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really cool game!
Things:
-Enemies dont show where they spawn, sometimes i got hit suddenly and couldnt avoid it.
-Teleport is delayed and isnt an effective strategy

Overall an excellent game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:13am

Cool game which is very impressive for a html game ++

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39pm

It's hard and fun. The respawn interaction is very clever and the whole game looks and feels nice. Good job. We will share it on Twitter :)

vicious_br says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Tku Trite! I glad 4 your twt! :_)

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really cool game! The gameplay is smooth, and the teleport mechanic is really great. It seems like the primary fire becomes a little bit useless towards the end, I feel like that should be slightly more useful, as in you get more ammo and you should get less grenades to go along with that, but that's not important. The game is really fun, and I'd like to play more! I think I managed to break it though, about half way through the boss, it said I won, and then let me keep playing while the overlay was still there. But apart from that, really great entry!

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28am

Very satisfying game, just as I thought, "Oh an this is brutal, I'll never make to cycle 2 alive!" I remembered the awesome sauce grenade button! SO much satisfaction! Mwahaha!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Oy, don't make me addicted to your game, i have more games to rate!
This really got me into the "Just one more level" mood. It also became quite hard as I ran out of bullets.
The only thing I can't rate you well on is the theme, cuz I have no idea how this'd fit in it at all, but other than that, great effort, keep it up, make more fun 'just one more level' games!

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice shooter. The ammo mechanic change it all though and that makes it more strategic. Good game!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Liked:
- The controls. They were easy to use, felt smooth, and responsive.
- The visuals. Very nice graphics. Not breaking any new ground by making a neon space shooter, but it's a tried and tested style that looks nice.
- The difficulty curve. It was a fun game to play, I didn't become frustrated, and felt like I was able to win so long as I mastered the controls and kiting enemies.

Disliked:
- Enemy spawning. Some indication of when/where would have been nice. Often I felt as though I was being spawned on top of.
- The teleportation mechanic. While I think this is a cool idea, and a good way to set your game apart from others, I don't feel as though the stage or enemies ever made teleportation necessary. Because of this, it just felt like an unnecessary feature.

Overall I enjoyed playing though. Very solid entry. Polished and fun.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Really, enjoyed a lot playing it. Didn't stop until I defeated the boss. And love the graphics. Very nice game!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Hey good job, the game has a nice feel and I like the graphics!

vekjeft says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Fun game, nice little twists like picking up sticks to respawn and teleport, makes it original:)

Frump says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:58am

Cool game. Quite polished. It was a bit weird that my main gun had ammo, I didn't even realize it until I had run out.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Hi there. Love the graphics and sound. Nice effects and movement. Like the generous gameplay, also enjoyed the 'after death mini-game' - very nice feature that! Amazing for the Compo, really good job!

jpmit says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Cool game! Great fun, good graphics and sound. All round a top class entry.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Asteroids++ with some powerful sound effects.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Tku guys for playing my game, rate an comment it. Tku for more one LD, see u next time. HF!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]