Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Harvestier

by killthealias - Compo Entry

After the New Horizons probe passed by Pluto in 2015, it discovered a wealth of rare minerals! It is now your job to traverse the nearby planets in an attempt to take as many of these minerals as possible! If you'd like, feel free to post your high-score in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#147Audio3.45
#202Graphics3.71
#356Mood3.16
#581Fun3.06
#587Overall3.17
#728Humor2.26
#758Innovation2.86
#1017Theme3.11

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

A really simple game that is surprisingly fun once you get up to speed. Initially I thought there wasn't much to it but as I started to rotate faster and faster it got more fun. It feels sort of like a rhythm game similar to Audiosurf in that you can space out and just collect to the beat. It sorta felt like as time went on something was... happening with the visuals. Like the depth of field or the... focal distance was changing? I brought my roommate over to see if he could see something weird going on or if it was just my eyes going. We couldn't figure out what it was.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

What an insane filesize! Won't open on 10.9.5.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

Gets a bit boring - there's no element of danger. The graphics look good, but I'm marking them down because it was making me seasick (also, on a more minor note, it can be hard to see your ship on the darket parts of the world).

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53am

It won't open on OS X Yosemite unfortunately, because it looks good!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very slick presentation, fun twitch game. Like the depth-of-field effect - I assume you used a shader for that? Anyway, very nice. Music is also high-energy and good quality, and fits the game perfectly. Graphics are really well done. Great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:41am

Drop box link is dead.

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I can't download it (windows) but I watched the timeline. Really good looking game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Pretty sweet!

skyr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Simple, fun and addictive and great music too. Worth the wait for the big download.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:47am

SIMPLY.... THE BEST... :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:08am

First of all, I really liked the music. The gameplay was also surprisingly fun, despite dodging the reds to not be that much of a challenge. I also thought using a planet for a level was a good use of the theme too.

To go further, adding new mechanics to make the game harder would be a nice touch. Also, perhaps you could try and lower the reflectivity on the planets to make them look a bit more realistic. With some more content this could become a very good game!

Soron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52am

Rather fun once you get in a good groove. The graphics are nifty and good eyecandy, but I think something about the combination of colors and graphical effects could use a bit of work (though I'm not sure what, off-hand).

Not really a one screen game, though :P. Four screens, maybe.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nicely done! Beautifully executed.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:47am

Really nice and simple game. I really like the music and the shaders you used :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:37am

The lack of danger makes it a little too simple and uninteresting. If you can make at least the red orbs moving at a fast speed, that would be great!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very simple game. I didn't really notice a difference between the three worlds other than spawn rate, the mechanics were identical. It wasn't bad, just not very engaging. The graphics were amazing though, I loved the lighting effects and the bump mapping on the planet. The only thing I would have changed would have been to make some more noticeable difference besides color for the different minerals (shape or texture or something). The music wasn't really my style though, and it got pretty repetitive pretty quickly. Overall not bad, just needs a little more to keep the player engaged.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:04pm

582160 in the third level. Not sure how good that is, but 6 digits sounds OK to me. :D
Very well done, especially the visuals. So many fancy shader effects in such a small game, and while the whole experience made me pretty dizzy, it still looks impressive. Music is good as well, only complaint I have is there were a few cases where a red rock spawned directly in front of me so there was no way to avoid it, or at least it appeared that way. Still kind of amazing how you managed to get such an impressive game out of such a simple concept.

Samm says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:00am

Little bit on the simple side, but nice shader, textures, controls, music, and self-explanatory mechanics. Great entry!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Nice and simple game mechanics combined with quite nice music - I enjoyed it! I felt that you gave too much time to play around in the levels, with very little to actually oppose players. Still, good work; keep it up! :)

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

Beautiful graphics. The game design is a little shallow. It doesn't feel nice to have to turn around, and there is no danger of hitting the reds at all. There is also no real reason to collect these things other than score.

You could increase the danger by lowering your friction, or make the green and yellow affect play in some more complex way.

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Great game! Simple but fun. I loved the music but the volume is a bit too high. Eris mode was the best, because avoiding red orbs adds some challenge. I think the game time could be lower for a faster feel. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]