Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Carillon

by cdwaddell - Jam Entry

Carillon is a game where you have to record your version of a song on bells. The game will play two bars of a song and it is up to you to play the song back. If you think you have the stuff, try playing without the metronome.

--D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#97Audio(Jam)3.73
#366Theme(Jam)3.69
#426Innovation(Jam)3.15
#514Overall(Jam)3.20
#603Mood(Jam)2.91
#656Graphics(Jam)2.95
#672Fun(Jam)2.83

Comments

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

Most games like this don't include Timing.
That is a huge plus.
Very nice. Simple concept.

Very relaxing :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

not terribly complicated, but nicely polished. The metronome is very nice, and I love that you have the option to play without it if you feel confident.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

I like games like this! I think it adds good challenges. Good concept! :-)

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Nice game. I'm afraid I didn't get very far.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

Well done, doesn't feel like a 72hour game. Going beyond simple Simon Says type memorization is a nice touch.

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

I like the game, but I do not like waiting to get the right timing :P. The game is now based on memory alone, I think it would be even better if you added a gameplay element to it so that you could actually 'feel' which notes to play.

Very polished game though :)!

Xorboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

Timing concept is really good

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

The fact that this includes timing is great. Most pattern/simon style games ignore that to make it easier. This game doesn't try to coddle you that's for sure! The tones are also very pleasing, so playing for a long time isn't grating. Well Done!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

You took simple concept and put it into very interesting surrounding. Loved the metronome!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

Returning the favor for a great comment on my entry; Very great simple little game, I like it a lot, as most other "music" games, I did find the "timing" a bit harsh at times but I've never seen games use "timing" that way before. I gave it some good tries and I did over all enjoy it a lot :D

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Liked the timing part, too bad there isn't graphical feedback on when it's the correct timing, but it's fun.

tweedle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

I, in fact, do not have the stuff. Challenging!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

Hm, looks like a nice game but I couldn't play :(. For some reason, I cannot hear any sound, though obviously others can. I can hear sound on other games so I'm not sure the issue. ps. The account Grindstorm is shared by my team so the above is a teammate, not me ;)

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice game ! Simon game with a twist "Timing". Good work !

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

This is a bit too difficult for me... I love rythm games when there is a cue for timing. It's almost like I have to be a musician to succeed lvl 2. T_T

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

This game is pretty hard for me who has no skill in music, but the game is still fun to play.
Nice work :D

Aisland says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39am

Wonderful, i'm glad to here the voice of the bell. Good idea, good game!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Arrrrrg. Timing is my weakness. Good job on the game, though.

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I like the idea of a tone matching game where you have to rely on timing, because you don't see that often. However, syncopated rhythm on the second round?? That's quite a difficulty ramp-up! :P Nice work.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:27am

I felt the game was a bit too exacting on the timing. It was expecting me to match the tempo, not just the relative time between notes. But lovely game :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Very nice loved <3

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very challenging!Cool!

otaviogood says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:15am

The timing makes it so much harder than just remembering what is played. Maybe if the metronome had high notes and low notes, I'd be able to remember the timing better. Fun idea though.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I think you should make the timing easier, not suggesting completely. I could not pass level 3 all due to bad timing, and It sounds exactly the same to me :(
If it wasnt so hard I couldv played it to the end I guess.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:59am

Ha! As someone who has taken many years of music lessons, your timing was more strict than any teacher I had ever had! Nice job. Great idea and execution was good. The difficulty ramped up a little fast but still nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]