Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Battle - Multiplayer

by vortex - Compo Entry

NOTE:
if there is an ERROR and it says PEER CREATED, you have to close and reopen the tab... I was unable to find the source of the bug

no one online challenges:P
-shoot in a cool orbit around the asteroid
-fly in a cool orbit around the asteroid

Controls:

tab - switch weapon
lShift - jetpack upwards
w - jetpack forwards / walk
s - jetpack backwards / walk
a & d - rotate
left mouse button - fire weapon
space - jump

Pro Tips:
-to fly, using shift to fly up, and changing the direction is easier than using w and s
-collect boxes to get weapon power-ups and health
-block the missiles with bullets

Software used:

Unity3d for programming
Photon for Networking
paint.net for art

(if any of the links aren't working, i'm really sorry and new to this)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#500Fun3.14
#673Overall3.09
#735Innovation2.89
#816Graphics2.69
#816Theme3.39

Comments

thristhart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Played this with my friend. Surprisingly fun! I only wish bullets had more recoil, so you could zoom around by shooting. We enjoyed ourselves quite a bit screwing around in the lowgrav and dying by standing on bullets.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice idea, but it's hard to control(or i'm just dumb...)

mpath says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Froze and crashed in my browser but hey nice job

mutuware says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Multiplayer in 48 hr! :o

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00pm

love game that include multiplayer. Good job !

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Multiplayer is an awesome feature for this game!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Man this game was awesome! Seriously, really fun! You should expand this game with more weapons and maps after the Compo, really a great idea! ^^

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Suprisingly fun! but hard to control at first (not a bad thing)

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Oops, I did not read about the boxes and spent some seconds shooting them :D Nice work, I like the gravity, reminds me of my last game here on LD30.

Mmm I'd prefer the jetpack to impulse the player up, not forward, but it's original and useful to orbit. Nice work.

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Fun! It reminds me Space Wars on Vectrex !

the31 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice, don't see multiplayer often! Was lucky enough to encounter a few other players and battled it out for a few minutes. Fun game! It seemed like missiles weren't very useful because everyone just spammed bullets all the time, but it's very cool that you were able to implement all this in the compo.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Aw man, I really wish there were other people to play with. The in-flight controls felt really nice. I liked the randomly spawning crates with upgrades in them - feels like playing Worms again :)

For some feedback on the controls, I would suggest that when the player hits the planet, they sort of snap to it and don't have to rely on the rotate keys to make them stand upright. It felt a little weird to me.

Other than that minor gripe, I liked the game! I'm going to keep checking back to see if more players are on so that I can actually give it a rating.

memilian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Seems cool ! So bad that I can't get that damn unity plugin to work on linux, I'm missing a lots of games :(

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:34pm

nice idea to have the shots orbiting the planet.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Hi there. Looks nice. Found controlling the movement very tricky.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

This looks like it was a lot of work, and it is challenging to play so for that it deserves kudos. Would have loved to hear some sounds and have some interactions that felt like I was progressing or failing throughout the different phases. Great start!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]