Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Turtles vs Chainsaws

by pixelpig - Compo Entry

Turtles vs Chainsaws is a quirky game. You play a turtle set loose on a bouncy castle. With a chainsaw. It's clearly not going to end well, is it?

Use arrows to rotate the turtle and UP to jump. How long can you last against the chainsaw?

My PB is currently 9.0. It's quite difficult.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Humor3.59
#379Fun3.27
#600Mood2.89
#607Graphics3.00
#718Innovation2.91
#877Theme3.33
#899Overall2.86
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

ming_tea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43am

Fun and addictive and I think the best music I've heard so far.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Haha, brilliant!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

funny game and very nice music.. congrats

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great job. Love the name and the creativity. I also like how you didn't show the turtle getting cut in half. Very classy.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Haha. I like the setting:D A bit too random gameplay for me to manage to hold my attention for too long, but I like the music and 'completeness'-feeling of it!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57pm

The music and physics make this game pretty hilarious, and quite fun! Can't believe you got 9.0!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Brilliant idea, well executed! On par with QWOP in terms of difficulty. With a different control scheme I could see this work quite well as a mobile game as well.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39pm

10.6 is my best score. I'm not sure I can do better. :D
A little, simple, still good game, you get a good rate for this.
Well done. ;)

pixelpig says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Thanks for all the great feedback! :D @LeReveur wow that's impressive!

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:29am

the advertisement before the game loads is REALLY annoying, and apparently gamejolt didnt like that i use adblock so it wouldnt let me play.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:08am

I don't know if it's me or what, but the controls were not very responsive. I couldn't survive at all and it was bit frustrating.

Nicely done physics and I must admit that I think I've never seen a game about chainsaws against real turtles.

pixelpig says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:42am

@Raptor85 sadly I don't have any power over the ads that gamejolt use, you could disable Adblock on the website though.

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Funny game, I like the premise, and it was fun to play and attempt to last as long as possible. I think my best was around 4-5 seconds. I can see people getting into this and strategising the same way they did with Flappy Bird!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Hi there. Fun idea, very hard though, 7 seconds. A bit more horizontal control ? Liked the pixelart and chiptunes. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]