Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Globo

by punkto - Jam Entry

Push the balloon to the red cross. Try not to touch the blue spikes!

Use the mouse to push the balloon.

This game has been coded for the Ludum Dare 31 using LibGDX. All assets have been performed in the LD31 weekend

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Innovation(Jam)3.29
#745Mood(Jam)2.69
#754Fun(Jam)2.71
#755Graphics(Jam)2.71
#888Overall(Jam)2.71
#913Theme(Jam)2.86
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

sharpie656 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Pretty original game idea, the art was nice but would of been better with more colour. Overall really very cool game

v01pe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Neat concept! I have to say the controls are a bit frustrating, they feel very imprecise, especially if the balloon moves fast, what is difficult to avoid. It should not be necessary to click for moving the balloon IMO. I'd like to play more levels :)

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Took me a few tries to 'get' it, but the mechanic to move the balloon is very well done, and satisfying to play. Really nice game!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

I understand we had no much time for that, so I rated you Graphics to 3* because I like so much the idea and I don't want to down the whole rate only for this. Good work and keep going this way :)

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:20am

Decent entry, though I didnt notice any audio. Gameplay didnt keep me around for more than a couple rounds.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

Really cool concept, specially for a smartphone game! Keep it up!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:25am

Dragging with the mouse felt a bit weird. I imagine it might feel better on a mobile phone. Also, the levels wrapped around, but that might have been intentional.

rockford says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice. But the gameplay is not obvious, I tried several minutes before being able to push the balloon (I needed to keep the mouse button down). Regarding the theme, from my POV, you did not stick with it. There is several levels, so the game is not "entire" on the screen.

Havi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Cool game :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Neat game. The controls were ok, but it might be better to make the drag hitbox largeron the balloon.

Shimone says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It took me some time to get used to the controls, but nice game and idea.

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Good and original,,, congratulations

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:30am

Original idea. Physic of the ballon is really hard to control. I was frustrate so i couldn't enjoy the concept. I don't know how to improve this kind of movements. With a lot of test maybe. I suppose it's hard to set it well.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Very simple and short, but fun. I wish there were more levels than just the three, but I could see this game being developed further to find its way to the mobile market (the controls are pretty intuitive with touch devices). Good job!

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:19pm

nice game, good graphics for the blocks. easy to control :D
I finished the game twice

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:20pm

love it, very simple yet funny game, well done

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Really like those bright yellow tiles, the overall aesthetic is really nice. I think the 'swiping' controls could be made to feel a little nicer. To fight the momentum already built up on the balloon, I had to drag it many times rapidly to get it to go where I wanted, when really I wanted to just be able to throw it around with a bit more force. Cool game though, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]