Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Snowgirl Dash

by Seraphina - Compo Entry

I present my LD31 game: Super Snowgirl Dash!

You play as a snowgirl trying to retrieve Santa's presents from some alien things. Arrows move, C jumps, Enter pauses, M toggles the music.

I wasn't able to make as many levels as I had wanted to. There's only four, however they are pretty difficult. Your first play through will probably take 5-10 minutes, or longer, depending on how often you die. I also didn't have time to update the art, so most of it is unanimated and very generic. It was meant to be place holder art, but I just ran out of time. I finished the game none-the-less, and I'm happy about that.

I had hoped to be able to put up an HTML5 version of the game, but for some reason my falling icicles don't work when exporting to HTML5. They work fine on the Windows version though, so I will just have to stick with that until I can find out what the hell is going on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#193Fun3.52
#272Mood3.27
#278Audio3.17
#436Overall3.30
#667Theme3.52
#721Graphics2.81
#965Innovation2.48
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

pretty good ^^

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15am

I had fun. I like how when you die some of the obstacles have disappeared from the level (like the icicles in level 2) which makes it easier the more times you die.

I think the hitboxes are off a little though. I was stabbed by the first horizontal spike below me when I was still standing on the platform.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Fun game, no complaints.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37am

Fun game. :)

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

interesting platformer, but it seems very unfair hitboxes)
but great job! ;]

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice job. Keep it up.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I love how everyone was like "Let's just make one about snowmen." So anyway, the game is fun, and a little hard. It seems unintentional that the level doesn't reset when you die (ceiling spikes don't respawn, etc), but I like it, because it becomes more forgiving the more you die.

Seraphina says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:30am

@JayCee23 That was actually intentional. Some of the levels can be completed faster if you do die once or twice lol.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:16am

Wow, super difficult platformer game, but very fun and funny! Reminded me of I Want To Be The Guy.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Funny thing, I found the difficulty to be hard at times, unfair at others. But because it was hard, your 4 levels lasted a good 10 minutes. If it was easier I probably would have voted this game down for being very short!

Fun game regardless!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]