Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Jamception

by Crocanti de Pollo - Jam Entry

Jamception is a game about making a jam game about making a jam game set entirely in one screen inside of a screen in the game of the game for a game jam.

Story: this game is about you! It's the last day of your favourite game jam and you haven't finished. What do you do? You code like a maniac that's what.

Instructions:

Bless that yummy coffee... You have to type, or click, fast. You can drink coffee to get a boost, but watch out for your motivation levels. Maybe your friends on the Internet can help with that :D

You can click on the coffee cup to refill it.
To check your messages click on the phone. You can drag or scroll up and down to see more.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#6Theme(Jam)4.53
#24Innovation(Jam)4.14
#24Humor(Jam)4.09
#34Overall(Jam)4.03
#75Mood(Jam)3.80
#88Fun(Jam)3.75
#265Graphics(Jam)3.75
#311Audio(Jam)3.19

Comments

miguelmurca says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:24pm

One of the best entries I've seen so far! Original concept, really funny. Phew, my arms hurt from mashing the keyboard!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Thank you miguelmurca, you are too kind!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I admit... Bugs finally broke me. Felt too helpless and frustrating. Just like in real life! Well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Thank you Snout, yeah, sometimes it can get overwhelmingly *realistic* :P

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24am

Oh god, this is hilarious. Bravo. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27am

Simple and really fun! This is pretty much exactly how my entire jam went (except I never take that long to make a coffee)

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Really funny! I really laughed playing this game

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Love the art. Good Job

MrSun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Awesome, unique game! I think I have carpal tunnel syndrome now though :(

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Quite accurately replicated the experience of being in a jam (although usually it's the IRC client and a hot chocolate rather than coffee and social media). It was a lot of fun to play, as well, and very smooth. Good job!

Mak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Good idea, great executing, it make me feel really tense, like if I hadn´t completed my game in time.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

That damn phone...
Anyways, this was quite fun (and lifelike), nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Very nice concept! I wish there is more when I win the game!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

hahaha, hilarious entry. I liked it, though it was a bit too button-mashy for me.

I didn't know I could scroll down to check more messages on the phone, some players might miss it, which could be fixed with a quick tip.

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

A really great representation on how our first jam felt to us! And your desk design is so similar to ours! EVEN THE SNOWMAN!

Simple and fun.

PS: GO SPANISH JAMMERS!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34am

Really silly fun game.

I'm better at actually making games than I'm at play making them, though.

The phone vibrated too much, I seemed to end up smashing the keys without order, the coffee mug was always empty and I didn't feel like I'd drunk it... yup, this is a pretty realistic game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:52am

Thanks everyone! I'm glad you are having fun with it. And I'm sorry for the injuries that may have caused :P

@Ludipe, thanks for the hint! I just edited the description to add a little more info on that.

@Rodaja, seems Ludipe was right and it was not clear enough in the instructions. You can click on the coffee and phone (and scroll & click in it) to get some boost. It was a bit of an oversight for my part not making that clear enough. Sorry :/

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Unique concept! Nice gameplay well done!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Damn, that's exactly how I felt 3 hours before the deadline! Nice game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

FRED CAN GO FRICK HIMSELF NO ONE CARES ABOUT HIS LAME PARTY ANYWAYS

gana0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very nice and very meta concept. It turns out that I am not very good at not checking my phone.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Haha, awesome. This is pretty much exactly what the last day of the jam was like for me.

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Amazing take on the theme. So good

bazld says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Great use of theme, very enjoyable. Really like the art style.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This was exceptional! Great use of the theme, and wonderful meta. Nice graphical style, too. I love it to death.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Ooo fantastic idea and execution, take my 5 in innovation for sure. I'm still playing it trying to figure combination to win. Would be amazing if you introduced day/night cycle and sleep or not sleep drama.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

@LTyrosine I totally wanted to include day/night cycle, sleep and even food! But alas, not enough time :P I even had in mind being able to post updates of the game that'd help get more motivational replies, and on the other end, more spammy messages with pictures of cats.
Eventually I had to settle on something simpler to be able to finish it.

I'm actually a little surprised with all the positive reception. It's nice to see you are having fun!

Thank you people!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very cool! Are the errors completely random or is there some strategy here? I felt like I was getting more when I mashed the keyboard too quickly...or maybe if I pressed the same keys too many times?

I'm probably overthinking it. :P

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53am

@Virtually Competent: there is some kind of strategy, although chance and mashing like crazy can get you over it easily. Bugs have a chance to appear each time you make progress, but there are some limits. For instance, the first half of the progress is easier, if you reach the bug limit, there won't appear more until you fix those and then it'll give you some motivation and breathing room for that.
Coffee will make you progress faster, but that implies bugs will appear quicker. Also, using coffee too quickly many times will generate tolerance to it reducing it's boost. (you can know if you are having too much coffee if the screen starts to tremble :P)

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Holy shit! More work! Noooooo! <.< But.. really amazing. Seriously.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:01pm

^^

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:31pm

This is what programming must look like for non-programmers :D
I had lots of fun with this, I wish it was so easy in reality ^-^

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:58pm

oh man, i was sweating by the end. great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]