Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Resizer

by foolmoron - Compo Entry

Play the game by resizing your browser!

PLEASE ALLOW POPUPS! The game only runs in the popup!!

Works only on desktop browsers, Chrome preferably (Firefox works too).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#13Innovation4.42
#65Theme4.24
#389Humor2.74
#409Overall3.33
#585Audio2.65
#637Graphics2.96
#772Mood2.68
#834Fun2.79

Comments

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Awesome!

fachexot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:34am

I'm not sure if it worked on Firefox. It was pretty easy to just resize the windows to one of the boxe's size. Maybe the second boxes and the black wholes did not work? I don't know, but I am more rating the idea behind and the potential. So: very nice :)

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37am

That's less than one screen! ;) Really neat idea.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

This looks like fun! My tiling window manager controls window positioning, so I'll have to try this on a stacking wm. Nice logo too :)

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15am

Woah.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15am

It's the most creative submission I've seen so far in this LD.
But how to beat lv2? My pop up resizes itself so fast I can't even touch it.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

When the popup resizes, let go of the mouse and let it do its thing! It will stop animating at a certain size and then you can keep playing.

Lawls says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

My browser can't shrink small enough!

Vtor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Wow! Great Idea.
On Safari it does not work because the square is a little larger than the minimum window size, on Firefox it was a little choppy.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Gah, I was afraid some browsers wouldn't let you go shrink enough. Oh well, try Chrome if possible :)

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22am

Interesting idea, which plays with the theme in a clever way :). Needs more game, but hey, it's Ludum Dare.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

This is pretty novel. I've never seen a game based on your actual browser window before. Also perfectly fits the theme. The game IS the one screen.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

That was something totally new! Great idea and execution!

eforen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Took a little while (and some comment reading) to figure out, but decently fun after that. I'm not sure I got it, though... just sort of felt like doing the same thing over and over for no good reason. Tutorial, maybe would help, or objective.

jthistle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36am

Great idea, not compatible with safari however :P

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I never thought will be fun to play resizing the window! In safari the left resize doesnt work...

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I just pushed a fix that should make the game work with Safari's window size limitations. Let me know if there are more problems! Chrome is still the best to use though :P

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Innovative - it IS! I'm not sure if it fits the theme of one screen, because there are lot of screens showing up, but... the theme is strange and can be interpreted in many ways :P

It is fun at the begin, but there is no challenge. It would be awesome if you could put some puzzles here.
But the idea is fantastic, kudos for this :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

very original use of the theme, 5 stars for innovation

uvwar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08am

A cool 'outside the box' interpretation! I did have my cubes completely dissapear on me though mid re-size and I couldn't find them again (causing me to lose). This was on Firefox.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Very Cool Game, Hard to control and should implement key input to make resizing more fun. Also The Audio was blastin in my speakers and it hurt me.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07am

That's Crazy very very great concept.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

The concept is absolutely BONKERS in the best way possible. I was laughing my ass off trying to play this on Chrome for Mac, because level 3 makes the window go nuts and resize itself all over the screen (maybe because the scrolling text in the title bar?) Firefox worked beautifully on Mac, though. I got a high score of 15. Brilliant execution of the theme; I've never seen anything remotely like this game before. OH and I love the particles on the edge of the screen!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22am

Awesome idea! totally unique. not much gameplay. definitely worth developing further.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

I tried it in Safari first and I couldn't make the window narrow enough, but like you said Chrome worked fine. Very cool game, I couldn't get past the second level, and wasn't sure exactly what was expected of me... but interesting idea, and a unique take on the theme. Good work!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23pm

It's really an example of thinking outside the box, and it's the second submission I see using browser windows in this LD. Gamewise I'm not entirely sure I understood what to do, I just sat resizing my window for a while, which was ridiculously funny considering the circumstance. Interesting!

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:48pm

This was a super cool interpretation of the theme. Really innovative and cool. I had a really hard time figuring out how to play the game (for those reading through the comments trying to figure it out - you need to resize the window to touch the edges of the square), and even after figuring out how to play, I wasn't too sure what the ultimate objective was. Nice job!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04am

@johnbrynte What's the other browser game? I knew other people must have used the browser windows but I haven't found any.

@Wertle You just keep going until you run out of "resize energy" (yellow border around screen). Thanks for playing!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:40am

5/5 for innovation. Good job!

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:52am

Very interesting! Definitely a concept I haven't seen before. Well done!

thristhart says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:15pm

A cool idea for the theme! Unfortunately as it stands it's almost more of a tech demo than a game. Would be cool to see the resize mechanic used for more!

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good idea but need more things to be fun. Did you what Managore made last LD (hop slide)?
I like what you made with the window's title!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:50pm

@dunin Yes I've seen Hop Slide and I love everything Managore does and he's amazing and I hope I can be 1/10th as awesome as him one day .__.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:03pm

The innovation on this one is up the wazoo! A fascinating experiment, but a bit tedious as well.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Interesting game, I don't really get the goal of it, but you can have fun with constant resizing of the browser window. :D

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Found it a bit of a nightmare for clicking outside the window while selecting - but my mouse is crappy... Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Really clever take on the theme and well executed.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]