Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Man on the Field

by Double Zero One Zero - Jam Entry

Also known as "M.A.S.H. - The (unofficial) Game".

Man on the Field is a field surgeon (and stress) management game where you will be tasked with:
- Having a steady hand.
- Pushing randomized buttons.
- Keep a look out on peoples lives.
- Telling people to shut up.

Enjoy!

*KNOWN ISSUES*
- It might be a bit hard in the beginning for new players.
- In certain browsers/systems, the cursor that's used over the wound is pretty small. It's because your browser/system doesn't want to upscale the cursor. They game is still completely playable though.

By Double Zero One Zero:

Pontus Lundén
- Art, Music, Design

Kristian Brodal
- Programming

If you like the game and want to see more stuff, follow us on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/0010_games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#19Overall(Jam)4.11
#23Audio(Jam)4.09
#27Graphics(Jam)4.55
#75Mood(Jam)3.80
#81Innovation(Jam)3.87
#119Fun(Jam)3.66
#230Humor(Jam)3.18
#249Theme(Jam)3.84

Comments

vlamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53pm

This is really awesome. Somewhat reminds "Papers, Please", really nice graphics also. Good luck on if you are going to work on this project after the jam ;)

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Wow. This is a pretty tough one. Looking fantastic. The topic is great too. The music is good - but I´m not sure if it fits to the pretty heavy topic. Still a really good thing!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14pm

One of the best games I have played so far! Reminds me of "Papers, please" and "Cook, serve, delicious".

The feeling when the intake of soldiers slows down, and you know perfectly fine that it's because they are all dead... because of you... Wow... Anyway, absolutely awesome. Hope to see this developed further into a retail product.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Wow there is so much to focus on. It's hectic, but also delivers a bunch of meaningful choices to be made. Although it might be a little too much at some points. Could also be me sucking at it... :p

cardanai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The best clone of Papers Please so far!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Top entry. Music is great, interesting idea. A lot of hard decisions to make.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Awesome game! Graphics is beautiful, especially the colours, and the music complement overall atmosphere excellently. Regarding the gameplay, it's very good concept but the pace is little bit too fast for me. I'd enjoy the game more if the days were longer and the patients endured little more.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

This entry looks and sounds great, reminds med of Papers Please, but I really didn't think the music matched the atmosphere very much which was a bit disappointing.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Yep, that's pretty much totally brilliant. Hints of Papers Please with more eye-hand coordination juiciness (which thing do I look at?—the wound or the buttons?! But it's a good confusion). Love it.

Dew says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great aesthetics! Keep it up!

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Really challenging gameplay! And like all your other projects the visuals are spot on, such a cool pixel style to all your work. Great job yet again!

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

One of the best games i have played in this LD ;)

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56pm

You (it's jam entry, so probably it's a team) have to keep working on this after Ludum Dare. This game is amazing, it's could be something like Papers, Please but with much more depth and things to do.

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Great graphics and sounds, coherent mood and I had a lot of fun. Good job !

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Great! But hard!

Well actually I don't know, I had real problems because of being an azerty user I think. The ZXCV keys might not be the best ones.

But I managed to go to the day 5 and had fun!
Reminds a lot of Paper please, which is still good.
Music was supercool, I dunno if it's adapted to the theme of your game but it's super nice :)
graphics are nice, too.
I dunno about the shut up mechanic, doesnt seems meaningful enough to me, so I barely used it, prefer heal the soldier than losing time look at his health

Theme of the jam was respected but nothing more really I think.

Oh and, the message that says to put the cursor over the wound when the player doesnt understand is not appearing long enough, it took me time to success reading it (I'm not english so It takes me a couple of seconds to concentrate on the words)

It was fun anyway! Congratulation for doing this!

arg-games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Like the graphics and colors a lot! Nice game!!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

As said, this remembers me of Papers Please.

Loved specially the art, it's amazing how good it is with the time we had.

Congratulations!

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very nice, i like it very much, especially the level design and music !

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19pm

This is a awesome game, so far my favourite jam game. Great music and graphics with a fun and hard gameplay.

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

This was hard but, I am really bad at these kind of games. I really love the art and the music is amazing. I like that game it was fun and enjoyable.

Lavendark says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

A good game, if a little confusing at first but that was probably mostly me...mostly. Loved the art style and the music was fun too. Well done.

dook says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23pm

This is really impressive! Great work on the graphics and audio. The theme and gameplay is really original. Gets super tense real fast. The complaining speech bubbles covering the UI is a great idea! :)

Gread72 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Didn't really like the audio... but the graphics and gameplay made the game. Good work...

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Really creative idea for a game, nice work! It gets really challenging and I like how the complaining covers UI. Only thing that's bit off a miss is that the music doesn't quite fit the game's atmosphere, but that's minor.

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice graphics, and well designed. Splitting attention between commands and targeting is a fun challenge!

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Beautiful and fun. Impressive work ... !!

Bensonance says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

Awesome game! Loved the mechanics of it - the camera moving around the wound was a cool challenge. I think the music didn't really match up to the dark theme of the game's art, though - think something darker would have been better!

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04am

Fantasic. This would win the 48 hour no contest.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

A very good game, really addictiv héhé

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Time management game without cutesies is always welcome. I approve!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Wow. That was great experience. And it fits theme perfectly. Awesome game!

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Amazing game! Very much like "Papers, Please".

Had lots of fun playing this.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Really great! Got to day 11 on my first try. I really don't have anything bad to say about this game. Nice graphics, great music, easy to understand. Thumbs up!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Good job on this!
The graphics are amazing, the game is quite fun and it's also quite innovative. However, as some other people said, the music should have been different. Anyways, good job!

Devark says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Loved this - great game!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Well, thankfully I'm not a doctor lol great game.

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

The graphics are great, so is the music, but it clashes with the game's theme.
This isn't a big thing, but in parts of Central Europe "Z" and "Y" have swapped places on the keyboard, and games using zxc... controls can get very annoying

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52pm

5 Stars really good game :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Wow! this is the best one I've played. Very face-paced! Loved the graphics and music...I wish I could make a game of this quality in 72 hours!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Started the game and immediately thougth "I know this style", and then remembered playing "The Westport Independent" for LD29.

Såg ut som ni är svenskar på namnen också? Stiligt jobbat grabbar!

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

brillant realisation
Just the control arrowes will be some much simple !!
Anyway I have fun to play with !!

dallonf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06am

VERY reminiscent of Papers Please. It has the same sort of frantic quality where you're forced to make terrible decisions every second. It's very challenging, too! I think you could easily sell this on Steam if you added some more gameplay and tweaked the UI a bit (right now the most important numbers, like men on the field and men waiting for treatment, are deemphasized and hard to see)

theomg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Awesome game! Great art and polish. Really interesting gameplay and humor.

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

WOAH! Such a catchy tune!~

The game is pretty fun too! I really love that browny ambient and all the gameplay elements. Even the little details like the moving wounded arms.

One of my top entries. GL, you have chances to win IMO ;D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54am

Soundtrack is nice, although I'm not sure it gave off the right mood. What mood WERE you going for?

Shame about dialogue - your eyes are too busy to read it.

Telling patients to shut up is pretty damn hard. - Maybe if patients were fidgety, telling them to hold still would reduce how quickly the wound moves around.

Difficulty doesn't seem to rise at all. Found it too easy after a while.

Really like core gameplay elements - zxcv and aiming stitching.

Nice feedback on correct/incorrect moves.

Really fun!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15am

Really cool.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Great entry!
everything is neat and enjoyable

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49am

Brutally challenging. Visuals are excellent, as well as the audio. I'm not sure what telling the soldiers to shut up did for me, but the mechanic was loads of fun. Definitely impressive all round, nice job.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32am

This is just purely amazing, nothing more could be added or fixed or taken away. BRAVO!!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58am

A great game. Very impressive and a simple yet interesting input/mechanic.
However I felt that the music was very ill-fitting. Don't get me wrong it was great but I thought it didn't fit the overall tone(?) of the game.

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:37am

WOW, very hard game, had some fun playing it :)

Fnkee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Haha, amazing game. A very unique sense of gameplay, with great humor involved. Is the game finishable, or is it more about scoring high? I got really addicted to this, and managed till day 8. Music and sounds are also really well done. Once again, amazing job on this.

tedling says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

superb soundtrack! Good old mechanics, well executed. I would have liked support for QWERTZ keyboards though.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Great game ! Good Job !

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Awesome game overall. 5 stars :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Really neat game idea, and well executed. Great job. :)

Aske says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

DIggin' it big!

anissen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Really awesome game! I especially love the setting and feel of the game. The graphics and audio are excellent. I didn't find the core mechanic that appealing - maybe because there is so much going on that it is difficult to focus on positioning the mouse and pressing the correct keys.

Anyway, good game and a great presentation and execution. Well done!

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

One of my best game so far! awesome!

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice looking game, it's also very polished.
I enjoyed playing it, great job! :D

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I love how all these different game elements came together to make a really convincing whole. My favorite was figuring out that the reason for telling people to be quiet was to be able to see their health bar, that made me smile. It was pretty tricky to pay attention to everything at once, but you had a lot of great feedback to let me know exactly what happened when I did something wrong. I had a little trouble keeping track of the overall meta progression because I was so focused on the short term goals. Nice job!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54pm

This is incredible! Especially for a game jam entry...Fun, funny, fits the theme, pretty (well...if you would use that word for a game with blood, death, and war), and jammin music. Excellent job!!!

YourNerdyJoe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:45am

Very well done. Love the music and art

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45am

Real nice. Took me a bit to figure out how to treat the soldiers but it ended up very addicting once I got the hang of it. Graphics are sweet too and the music is catchy.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18am

Great entry! I really love the idea. Reminds me papers please :)

Tonasz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Okay, there was many fun game on this ludum dare, but I dare to say, that this one has the best gameplay mechanics. This innovative mix of few simple mechanics gave me so much fun... And that polish! Mhm <3 Great pixelish art, nice soundtrack, excellent mood... Every detail of this game is perfected! I'm now sharing it to everyone. :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Fantastic music and graphics. Interesting gameplay as well although it's pretty tough.

Frump says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Great game. Feels very complete. Good Music, Art, and fun gameplay.

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I liked the idea and art. Don't know much games, where you have to play as doctor and decide fate of soldiers)

Valandre says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:01pm

solid entry! great mood!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Great entry!

Headmade says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Great visuals, great concept, great entry!
The music is great too, but doesn't really fit the theme of the game.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This looks, sounds, and feels like a very stable game! I liked it!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Beautiful art and nice sound track. Focusing on the wound and looking at the required key in periphery seemed to work the best for me. I didn't really get the strategy for sending units back early, on day 7 I started noticing the men on field dwindling and figured I should start sending some of the half healthy homes back out. Dunno if that made any difference!

laluis1 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15am

great game

pegigante says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19am

Fantastic. very very good art style.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:20am

Awesome graphics and gameplay! Very well polished for a jam entry good job

Hempuli says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:59am

Really cool! I like the art, the music, and the gameplay. Clicking away the screams of pain felt kind of useless since my mouse was on the wound all the time; also the game was so hectic that I didn't really have a clue of when or why to send people away untreated.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:38am

reminds me of Papers, Please
but it is not a bad thing though
really nice concept
sometimes the speech balloons stay in front of the soldier's life, it's really frustrating

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16am

This is great! :) It feels VERY "complete". Like it's a finished product at this point, and we're being linked to an online marketplace somewhere instead of a weekend project for LD!

It's surprisingly more challenging the farther you go, and you really need to utilize your peripheral vision in order to dually press buttons and keep your cursor on the wound.

I'm not sure what else I could suggest in terms of adding to it and making it better, aside from perhaps a story mode or different levels or challenges or, as someone suggested, making the wounds different (visually, or via varying "types" of wounds, injuries and infections). Maybe certain power ups? Use of medications, suturing, bandaging, etc?

This is really solid, just as it is. :) It really feels polished! The art is also fantastic! Great color palette!

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16am

Awesome game. very solid

madcapacity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:02am

Well done! The music feels a bit off with the theme of the game but the mechanics were wonderful.

Great job! I wish I had made it! XD

runvs says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:40am

Nice game, i like the music and the idea. Its great how you force the player into making decicions.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22pm

This is amazing. Graphics and gameplay were top notch!.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Interesting game!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Really awesome game! Will definitely be one of the winners

Trite Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great atmosphere and good approach to the theme. It would be nice to include the Y button as Z alternative. The visuals are nice and the music is catchy :)

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Cool mood audio and graphics! Games a bit hard after some days, but it's damn fun! Awesome entry! =)

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:31pm

"Papers, please" meets cooking mama-esque gameplay. Please work on this game postLD, and keep me updated, haha!

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:44pm

A solid entry. Not a lot of content, but provides fun and long gameplay. It's really pleasant to play.

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hey, you have a very good game idea here, I'd love to see it expanded into a larger game :)

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Kind of bright happy music for what is going on =p

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:38pm

AWESOME game! Very original! Awesome graphics, and music as well. Great job guys!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very classy, loved the art, music and all the small details.
The "day ending" transition felt a little abrupt, interrupting gameplay and all.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Pretty cool game. The pixel art is really sweet. It was double hard on a german keyboard, so I had to switch my layout to english. Then it was a quite enjoyable game :-)

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:11pm

good game, I liked it, survived 5 days. its unclear who is dying or how many left; thats what I didnt like

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:05am

I liked the graphics and music, though the gameplay was somewhat uninspired. Very reminiscent of tapper. I'm not sure why you have to silence the soldiers complaining, though it was funny, I'm not really sure why.

The piano music was perhaps the best part.

monika says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:21am

I saw the screenshots and thought "That looks like that great newspaper game from two jams ago."

Lots of fun and even better than that great newspaper game from two jams ago. I'm going to need to come back and try again with a better mouse later.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Oh lord. I'm losing so many patients. Great game. Well polished. Pretty hard.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:56pm

very stressful but fun! survived until day 6. was confusing at first but i figured it out pretty quickly. love the feeling of multitasking. if only i had more eyes!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice ambiant music and graphics, efficient gameplay with average difficulty, good job and well done. :)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:55am

Great game. was tough to play on laptop trackpad, but overall a very impressive piece of work

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:25am

I really don't feel like pressing random buttons while hovering over a moving wound is a really great mechanical interpretation of a field surgeon's job. That said, it is pretty tough to invent brand new mechanics over such a brief development cycle, so I'll give you a pass on this one.
The presentation was super polished, with wonderful pixel art, superb music, and a bit of dark humor that I really appreciated.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:47am

This is exactly the kind of gritty game I love to see. Absolutely brilliant.

Kitch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:28am

This game is really awkward for someone cursed with left-handedness like myself... but 72 hours doesn't leave a lot for accessibility.. and I totally understand :)
Really nice entry. The overall look, feel and sounds worked really well. Little cart-lifey feel with a lot less "annoying", with a really great and appropriate soundtrack and very polished presentation. Good job! Thanks!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:48am

The minigame is a little unfair because I cannot focus on the correct button to press and position the cursor at the same time. The other portion game, where you have to silence the other soldiers works well, though.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Great game, fantastic art and game mechanics. Although I don't think you should have to hover over the wound while pressing the keys. Maybe just click to enter the heal mode, and click to shut up soldiers. That's a small nitpick though, great work!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Terrific game, very clever!

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:12pm

That sure was something else!

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:23pm

nice packaged game. But too hard for me...

Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Psst - You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9hwBJ5KKDM

hbocao says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Amazingly beautiful! The music is also very good but I don't think it fits the game theme. I like how it's like a "rhythm" game, but it isn't one. I felt the controls a little bit "weird", but maybe it's me and I should give it a few more tries (and I will). Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: using cached page]