Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dolly

by Jessica Hayley - Jam Entry

Your very serious and atmospheric game has been interrupted by a rogue camera - don't fall off the screen!

Controls: WASD/Arrow Keys to move, Space to advance text and (and double jump).

Made by Stacia Lowery (@Slaysha), Jessica Hayley (@imjayhay), Matt Barr (@PeculiarMotion), and Brendon Steele (@BrendonSteeleIU).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#160Graphics(Jam)4.01
#215Mood(Jam)3.46
#266Overall(Jam)3.49
#283Innovation(Jam)3.42
#379Fun(Jam)3.22
#449Audio(Jam)2.85
#567Humor(Jam)2.46
#776Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

Nice tribute, a little buggy but still good and the "ragdol" effect is funny.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

Nice tribute, a little buggy but still good and the "ragdoll" effect is funny.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

love the limbo vibe! nice work!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11am

Nice graphics, remember me Limbo. Nice gameplay in the begining, but when you die too many times it get very slow. (maybe too many polygones?)
I liked the textbox too.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Requires some polishing in the physics. The art style when the lights are turned down is very pretty. Nice idea though.

Olive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

Love the story idea of everything off camera dies and seeing behind the scenes of the set in the cardboard world. I am a very biased player when it comes to crafty style games. They get me every time. I love the style and physics of the character. I like the simple ambiance of the audio but maybe a little bit more background music or sound effects would be nice. Fix the glitches and you have a great game!

eerongal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

I really like the graphics. As others have said, reminds me of limbo!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Nice idea and really cool animations. The controls and physics could be tightened up a bit. Nice work.

Arovoid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Fun take on a very known horror game!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

This was rather novel. I enjoyed how the camera changed from atmospheric to cardboard-y. I also like how the player kinda just fell apart when they went off screen. Nice work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very nice graphics style , animations, and mood but I'm just having trouble seeing where it fits in with the LD theme.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

@SpartanIceCream, we took the "screen" to be the actual camera view. If you fall off the "screen" then you die. Hence the taking place all on one screen. A bit of a stretch I know, but we wanted to do something different :P

@Everyone else: thank you so much! The physics are a bit wonky we know, we wanted to make it less sticky but couldn't get it in the time frame. If it makes you feel better, though, you can pretend it's a shoddily-implemented wall-grab mechanic.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

Can't say it personally hit home on the theme. But, given the controversy on the theme, I'm guessing everyone's pretty split on the idea of the theme, and you should just interpret it any way you like, so that's not the biggest issue!

I liked that it changed from the "Limbo-esque" style to something colorized, and with quite some neat art-design. One flaw is the extremely unforgiving checkpoint, haha!

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55am

Great game, my favorite so far :D

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Very nice mood. I like the graphics.

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

URGH! THAT CHECKPOINT!!! complaining aside, this was a neat little game. Definitely unforgiving though, but that's a matter of opinion I guess. Graphics pretty cool, controls nice and that death animation was pretty silly(in a good way). I could see this being a fun time killer at work.

ItyBity8Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

I really like the art style both the LIMBO and the cardboard box. You may want to choose either “try not to die” or “die to get past an obstacle” and stick with it in your game design.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really cool graphics. Simple but fun enough mechanic. Hey, at least you tried to do something interesting with the theme. Must people just limited themselves to do games in one screen without using the theme to make their games more interesting.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

When I use the wall mechanic there is no pretending. I use it to control my descent in the final sections of the game.

@Everyone: Thanks for all of the awesome feedback guys!

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:14am

SOLID GAME! i loved all of it until i lagged out D: super awesome vibe to it though!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39am

The take on the theme was really creative and I loved the cardboard style to go along with it. I got a little stuck on some of the walls but I had fun playing nonetheless!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

i like it :D

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28am

Great jam entry. The idea is very interesting. I had problem with the physics. The music is kind of repetitive, and could be more stressful during the stay on one screen phase. Here is my playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TIzW4zjd3M&feature=youtu.be

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34am

You kill me mate. This game is really have my type of graphics.. i love style and innovation!
if you have some time also check my project mate x)

Lissaring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

I love the direction you took the theme in! Though I kept stumbling over and getting stuck on body parts, haha.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very interesting gameplay, it's cool when you see your own corpses, but uncool when you begin to stuck in them, and level becomes too difflicult because of your previous mistakes.
And in my opinion that's not a gameplay element. You should have thought about it.

Threstle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice game ! The animations are pretty neat. ;) but could have used some sound effects, and I'm not getting how this is related to the theme. :/

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Quite an interesting concept! Love the animation and art!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great art style ! Loved the mood of the game, reminds me of And Yet it Moves :-)

The idea is nice too. Maybe you could've played a little more with the camera movements, to surprise the player.

Awesome ! Would love to play more.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice concept. I like the mood.
I had to stop though, because the FPS went really low.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Nice stylish game. Love the concept. Checkpoint is kind of far away for such a relentless camera. The exploding ragdoll is epic. Not sure how it's related to the theme though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

A bit difficult, but good idea!
Various time I got stuck in a dead-body-pile in a difficult spot :O

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice game! Reminds me of Limbo :p

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25pm

For those who are confused about how it relates to the theme "Entire Game on One Screen," It's because your character has to stay on the screen in order to live.

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59pm

great surprise with the camera :)

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice concept ;).
Seeing from the serious atmosphere into cardboard, feel like seeing a behind the scene of the few color atmosphere ;).

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:20pm

LOVE THIS GAME! reminds me of limbo a lot. Great fun to play!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:26pm

That's interesting. Good atmosphere. Horror =)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I love the cardboard level! Very funny! Great idea. It's a bit brutal though. Are there any checkpoints?

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

A very interesting game, love the idea of the camera going rouge. Also the idea with the cartboards was great :D Nice game overall.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@ben_pxlplz: There are 2 checkpoints.

@everone: Loving the feedback guys, and the honesty.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

It was pretty fun, and I like the art-style. I also like the bouncy animations when moving. It's pretty hard, but I like the challenge.

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

The graphical effect of the light is awesome, it was stunning when I discovered it was not a game with black and grey colors, great mechanic, I love it!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Great execution of a cool idea. It could use more forgiving checkpoints, and it would be nice to be able to perform a full jump while wall-clinging. Nice work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46am

Awesome feel. Super challenging. Really glad you added checkpoints haha

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The audio and art really work well together, plus original take on the theme... not seen any others do that yet!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:50am

really like this idea - controls got stuck a few time - adding to my play again list - thanks

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:10pm

There is much innovation on art style and gameplay. Nice work!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:13pm

5 Star Theme and Innovation, awesome job! One of the best games I've played so far. Just needs Music :)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:35am

I'm looking forward to this game, but the Mac download seems to be corrupted -- none of my unzipping programs like it. Is it meant to be 14,394,916 bytes or perhaps more?

apiotrw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:27am

Nice artstyle

Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Really neat idea and use of theme, and nice visuals. Well done. :)

ilokimo says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Overall very good entry. Lovely art and beautiful mood.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Fantastic theme interpritation
Visuals are also awesome!
Limbo-style meets Non-Limbo-style

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I got stuck into a wall. Twice.

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:31am

Awesome game!I enjoyed playing!!!

Vaclav says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

The girl has borken into pieces!! Nooooo!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]