Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

No way!

by Jadernak - Compo Entry

You, a young actor Simon Brimley, were given a chance to perform in 'No way!; improv show at local Kasprzak theater. Can you bring enough passion and emotions to stir up the crowd? Local critic C.B. is rumored to also be attending. Show'em what you've got!

Controls:
WASD/arrows + Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#100Humor3.47
#152Innovation3.78
#231Mood3.32
#237Audio3.24
#271Theme3.84
#445Overall3.29
#521Fun3.11
#645Graphics2.95

Comments

BluMist says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34am

This was a very interesting concept. I got a real old school adventure feel at first then did a few actions and was shocked to see them summed up in a short news story at the end of the level. Trying to imagine how that was achieved blew my mind, well done sir!

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

Very interesting concept. Definitely fits the theme very well. I like how it all is summed up in the end. Love it!

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

@BluMist Thanks mate, that was indeed the main concept I was exploring. It would be probably more interesting if I had time for more scenes and more comments by the critic.

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

@efux Thanks :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

Really nice fun little point-n-click, found the scenarios pretty funny.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Nice game! I haven't grasp what all those icons are for, but i managed to kick everybody out succesfully xD

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:23pm

@Gamepopper Awesome.
@dix Some of the icons are just emotions which does not do anything by itself but in conjunction with your actions they affect the final review by C.B.

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I really like it ! The concept is really cool, and the end screen really add a lot to it. Good job !

Minor issue :
I didnt see the actor the first time and pressed right so he left the scene immediatly and got stuck on end screen.

Wuschli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58pm

The icons are a bit confusing and I didn't really know what was happening to me and what I was doing, but the concept is really great.

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

@sprawl Thanks. Good point I could have blocked any movement apart from left in the beginning.

@Wuschli I was worried about that, since my drawing skill are terrible. And as to what was happening to you, you were cheated on :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

lol, I'm having a lot of fun reading the reviews, love it, great concept and nice music

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

@pjimmy That's very nice to hear.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really enjoyed my reviews! For my first(first try) act i decided to ignore everything and fall asleep he he It did well with the critics!

Jadernak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35pm

@Vidsneeze The C.B. is really picky, one wrong emotion and it goes from amazing to horrible.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Good concept, but gameplay was a bit dull. Couldn't really figure out what to do as well, perhaps some player feedback after clicking on a button would be nice. I like the part where the newspapers showed up, gives you a sense of accomplishment :D

Budi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Very nice and funny concept, the stories are great, but a little bit of hint what I can do would be also nice. :)

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

That was a interesting game. Some scenarios was quite funny.

chakitp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09am

Amazing idea.. But it should me more interactive!!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Great concept! Perhaps it could use better instructions, I didn't really understand what was going on on my 1st play.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Pretty neat concept!

galman says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Wow! That's a really cool concept! Maybe some more hints and options could make it perfect

playvue says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:30pm

So, there's just one scene, right? We never get to see how Sasha does? =)

Jadernak says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:52pm

@playvue :) Unfortunately I spent too much time coding and not enough time making the content.

tjxx says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Concept was good and fun. I liked how you approached the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Hi there. Interesting idea casting player as director/playwright. Didn't get very far, I think I missed how to change characters. The offstage guy came in, talked, professed love, but nothing much else happened. Didn't get to any scene end. Liked the music.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

nice game

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Fits the theme and sets me in a musical mood. Nice idea aswell, Goodjob!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]