Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TV Top

by MintArcade - Compo Entry

Web version is not recommended - no microphone support, no post render effects, no controller support. Download version for you operating system, adjust microphone and speakers and have a blast.

This is 1-2 player game where you score by... you will figure it out. Play against AI (Robot :D ) or against friend. Use Arrow keys for player 1 and WASD for player 2. Or use thumb-sticks on controller or controllers.

Important notice to Chrome users.
No other browser do this, but Google Chrome Browser for Windows falsely marks this game as malicious and blocks it. This is completely false. Click [Show all downloads] -> Recover malicious file. This is security Chrome feature and it marks many other files like this.

Tools used to create this game:
Brain: Ah d'oh.
Game Engine: ShiVa3D (Because it is that awesome)
Modelling: Wings3D, Blender3D, SketchUp
Graphics: Gimp, Inkscape, Texture Maker
Sky and terrain: Bryce 5.5
Audio: Audacity, bfxr, Launchpad (iPad)

Big tanks (in alphabetical orger) to: mikegamer131, nimthora, oobienation, rotru_gamedev and skusku for watching entire development precess on Twitch. Thank you for the following, chatting and believing, that I can finish this game.

Follow me on Twitch/Twitter to see how I did it (in past broadcasts), look how post-compo version may be developed, or to find out about and play more of my games. (On behalf of Shameless Self Promotion Group;))

Links:

Timelapse: http://youtu.be/O5k26Xxl1E8
Twitch: http://www.twitch.tv/mintarcade
Twitter: @MintArcade
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MintArcade

Small bug fix:
- Correct material applied to robot arms. Black
- Fixed use of [Q] key. Now it triggers bloom too.
- Wallpaper and floor material accepting shadows.
- Camera now focuses on the table doing gameplay if not controlled by the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Audio3.95
#43Graphics4.20
#164Overall3.66
#220Mood3.33
#283Fun3.39
#325Humor2.85
#365Innovation3.39
#498Theme3.64

Comments

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This is lovely. Great graphics. Took me a while to figure out how to win. IN YOUR FACE AI! :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Amazing! Really cool perspective to play a table top game from. The physics in this is game is great. 5/5

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Yep, took me a few plays to figure out the goal, but in the end...yeah, it's fun! And I love that the game itself is explicitly not limited to a screen (you can move the view), but it *is* "on a single screen." I've always wanted one of those arcade cocktail machines for my house.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great graphics. Controller is fun.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Looks cool, but I could not play. Too laggy and constrolls not working.
I'll download the windows version to check if it have the same problema to me.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Yes, as I write in description web version can be played with keyboard - no support for controller. Downloaded version is not only looks 1000000 times better, but have controller support, microphone support to make game looks better. You can use [Q] key to toggle render if you experience render lag/FPS drop.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Nice but confusing at first

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

quite fun after i figured it out. the view should start looking at the table because i didn't realize i could look around. like the environment.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very nice and smooth physics, looks great!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Uh! my head is spining!
I specially love the music in this game.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

great graphics, keep it up!

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

The game looks and sounds fantastic! What's better than playing Tron air hockey on a tube TV?! Very well done!

juaxix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01am

I left my comment in gamejolt ;)

Esjaji says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Quite a fun game! Took a small while to work out what to do, but once I did, it was really enjoyable. I like how you rather cleverly made it so the puck wouldn't get stuck in the corners, certainly goes a long way to preventing cheating. The game looks good too, so good work!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really good graphics and sound! I didnt understand gameplay though, is it just hit the disk as much times as you can?

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

The graphics are awesome, music is great, and the concept is a nice take on the theme.

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

really good game! despite its being a simple mechanic, it is well executed and polished. One really minor complaint: once the game starts, the camera should zoom to the table.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Confusing at first but I understood quickly. The graphics and the music are great and it is very fun to play with others :D

Crefossus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59am

Excellent work, especially on the graphics and interesting microphone as score multiplier. Fitting to the theme and a moody room (all in a compo game... you're crazy good!).

Gameplay could use a little work, but the environment and energy make up for it. A human opponent might tip the scales too but unfortunately I'm alone.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Hahahaha, really fun game!
Very challenging. It has many features if you consider the time put in this. Pretty polished, theme perfectly implemented.
The fact that you need to find out how to win makes it more fun.
Great work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Lots of frenetic fun! Interesting mechanics; I like how you worked the microphone input, lots of people experiment with that but few use it effectively. Awesome Job!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Cool graphics and sound, took me a while but a the it was very funny to play.

Thanks for streaming our game, was very funny to watch :-)

alvarop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I like how this game feels "fun". From the graphics to the gameplay, everything contributes to that "feel good" feeling. Good job.

Zi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01am

Simple and fun! =) I like the microphone mechanic.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Impressive! Best compo game I've seen so far. Looks very polished, gameplay is interesting, and the music is great. One minor complaint would be that it's hard to perceive depth sometimes, but all the rest more than makes up for it.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Really nice! =D

Cool graphics and music, simple but yet really fun! Good job! =)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Still not entirely sure how I'm scoring! Is it a simple game of keepy-uppy? Great audio and graphics!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:36pm

keepy-uppy - Exactly :)

sirival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice music, cool graphics, pleasant atmosphere, gameplay could be more interesting. Overall nice job

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:42pm

wow, visually stunning for 48 hours, one of the best I've seen so far. Well done

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:47pm

That's rather frantic and fun. Great job.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:34pm

After I figured out what to do the game was quite fun I liked playing from that first person and I could see that guy playing against me fun game. I actually enjoyed beating the AI for some reason...

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Hi there. Interesting take on theme. Found the control for single player tricky would prefer WASD also work for single plr. Maybe more feedback in the main part of screen when score points would be nice. Like the sounds and visuals. Good job!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I enjoyed this game very much! I Included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/09kdLS-s81I

theCoder15 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Awesome game love the mic idea and graphics.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

Enjoyable and Simple. Controls felt unwieldy with the mic on.

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

really cool! Would love to see what a flow-based version of this game turns out to be <3.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Blue player was controlled with the right stick of it's controller, which was odd.

We tried to use our microphone, but it didn't seem to do anything other than add visual noise (pun intended).

Game itself was fine, it's impressive you got an AI working that isn't extremely smart.

Using the mouse to look around feels like only a way to make sure the player knows the game is entirely in a screen as in on top of a TV screen and not in a game screen, which is a bold thing to do. Though I must say I'm confused as to that use of the theme.

Graphics are stunning for a compo entry, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]