Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Phantom Tower: Classics

by pandamicro - Compo Entry

This is a fun Retro game for memorizing great games in our childhood.
I created five levels, each for one classic game, you must know them, let's use the classic tricks to break down the phantom tower.

To play it, you can use all desktop browsers, I personally tested Chrome, Safari, but with cocos2d-js, it should work also on Firefox, IE 10+, etc. I will port it to mobile browsers and mobile native platforms later.


How to:

Rule 1. Use arrow keys to move around, and tap space to use an item (if you have one)

Rule 2. Be noticed, all items can be used for only one time.

Rule 3. There are phantoms (obviously, in a phantom tower) around, don't let them touch you !

Rule 4. The goal is NOT to kill all phantoms, the goal is to find the way to break the level down, using the classic tricks.


Environment and tools:

Engine: Cocos2d-JS
Editor: Brackets
Audio: none
Art work: Photoshop, Texture Packer
Hosted on github

Oh, b.t.w, there are randomly two ending, ;-D

Hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#254Graphics3.58
#294Humor2.92
#846Mood2.59
#913Innovation2.57
#967Overall2.77
#979Fun2.56
#1046Theme3.03

Comments

pandamicro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36am

Use arrow keys to go around, space key to use items

2193q says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

Good!

Aisland says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

Impressing art, mixed mario, Pac-Man and other classical game. Good Job!

Kirito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

I'm not really understand...

pandamicro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28am

@Kirito Which level have you achieved?

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22am

Plays smoothly, adding pacman is an awesome idea! Definitely needs at least some sounds, background music would make the mood better too.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

@dekart Thanks, got no time T_T

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

No diagonal movement is a bit frustrating. Beautifully drawn. Nice game.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice game! Very cool graphics!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Mushroom idea is fun!! Nice game!

xerohuang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice game!

Kirito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

I don't know how to get to next level.

Kirito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

You have added a how to....I'll try again

Kirito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Or I want to say is that I don't know the goal is to the next level until I see the how to

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45am

Really nice scene transitions. Gameplay is a bit odd and controls are buggy, but I enjoyed it.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53am

@Kirito haha, now you finished the game or not ? This is indeed a little bit confusing

Kirito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I can't. I got no ideas how to enter the next level

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I got stuck on so many things. Also pressing more than one arrow key at a time would stop the character, when generally it should make the character move in the direction of the SECOND press (because sometimes I would go to change direction and I wouldn't release the first button quick enough)

pandamicro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

@madameberry Sorry about the control, I should have polish it better

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53pm

hi pandamicro :) you made a great art work for this game, too bad you didn't have time to add some music..
I liked your concept, it's a great tribute to all of these retro games ;)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:46am

I like the different powerups that come up. Movement is frustrating thought, wish there was diagonal movement and higher speed since it feels quite slow and powerups disappear before I can get to them. Also it's not really clear what you have to do in each level at first.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice graphics! The concept is a good one. I wish there were sfx, to let me know when I'd gotten a powerup vs. it disappearing right before I get it.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:27am

Nice game! Diagonal movement would help this play a little more smoothly, and the player's collision with blocks seems a bit restrictive. This is a cool homage to some classics, well done!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:25am

I really like the art style, especially the ghost sprites! Qutie nifty!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I got to the last level, though I don't really understand how I beat the pac man one (maybe some visual clues would help?). Primarily I felt overwhelmed with phantoms, because the weapons seemed to spawn slower than them, so I was mostly just running away from big groups the whole time! Nice graphics!

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Nice art and fun game play!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hi there. The shooting direction seemed a bit confused sometimes, just after turning would have changed player sprite but not bullet direction. Shame no sounds. Like the look, great art.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]