Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Doodles

by BUNN1E5 - Jam Entry

You play as a Doodle snowman trying to get to the Portal.

This is the first Ludum Dare that i actually had time to dedicate working on the game(though i did waste a lot of it)! Sound was a big problem for me. Can i add that later or is that against the rules?

I found out that i often never get to finish the level so i have a total of 7 levels for you to enjoy!

I am server issues so if you can't play it just keep refreshing until it loads.

Yeah i know the Jumping is bugged i just never got to fixing it ;P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#653Audio(Jam)2.00
#669Humor(Jam)2.26
#676Graphics(Jam)2.89
#838Mood(Jam)2.52
#846Fun(Jam)2.56
#862Innovation(Jam)2.40
#924Theme(Jam)2.81
#940Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

YAY!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice art intention :)

I think there are bugs on controls: once you jumped, if you keep moving you have to release inputs before to be able to jump again.
I mean you can't run and jump while holding right arrow.

Still a nice game!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Nice game. The wobbling got on my nerves after a while. But very clean.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00am

Nice

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

Nice entry - liking the style.
Seems to be a bit of an issue with spacebar detection, doesn't always jump when pressed :(

jimmymcmillan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really liked the graphics. But there is a delay between landing and being able to jump again, which was annoying. I also got stuck in the ceiling!

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

I like the art direction, but the mechanics could use some tightening up.

Zarkith says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:01am

It's not against the rules to keep working on your entry, as long as you add the updated version as a separate link and don't overwrite the version you originally submitted. Most people call it the Post-Compo version.

I really liked the art style, especially how cute the snowman is.
The whole waiting in the portal thing is a good idea, but it felt a bit too long for some of the levels.
Jumping while moving was kinda janky, especially after respawning. At least I didn't have any issues judging hitboxes though, which pleasantly surprised me given how everything is a shakey doodle.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:30pm

service unavailable

stipple says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice game. I like the art style.

blay09 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice art style with the animated sketches.

uvwar says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:17am

Love the hand-drawn graphics! I stood underneath the first up and down moving platform and it pushed me through the floor and bugged out the game!

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:33am

controls are not good which affects the gameplay......

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:03am

Loved the art style and idea. ☃ Forever. ☃

Jump button was super sticky, which was mega frustrating.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:04am

Well... I'm just fell like a runing and jumping showman inside the paper shit relity ;)

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:08am

Jumping often didn't work.

monika says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Your host appears to be down today. I'll have to check back later.

headchant says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

hosting seems to be down

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]