Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cyclic Clash

by indigofiz - Compo Entry

It's rock paper scissor meets elements. Basically feels like Pokemon but there's just no time to think. Are you quick enough to read your enemy before it's too late?

Play by yourself against an AI (with several types of attack pattern, try to read) or with your friends. Controls are as following:

P1:
- W: Rock
- D: Scissors
- A : Paper

P2:
- Up: Rock
- Right: Scissors
- Left: Papers

Elements are randomized at the beginning of the battle and has the following strength affinity:

Flame (Red) -> Nature (Green) -> Thunder (Yellow) -> Aqua (Blue) -> Flame (Red)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#271Graphics3.55
#646Innovation3.02
#690Theme3.50
#750Audio2.35
#781Overall2.98
#914Mood2.51
#1005Fun2.50

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35am

The visual style and implementation was really interesting! I liked it a lot!

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

If i have a friend for play :c .. So i'm alone and it's good too !

cmcoto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

Loved the idea! How did you think about it? I almost did something like it, but using the Chinese Five Elements, but I didn´t manage to implement it, besides a paper prototype... great Idea and great implementation!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

Hey, I won a match!

It took a couple tries to get what was going on and how my choices mattered. But afterwards it was fun.

I think the only reason I won was because two of my elements were the same and beat two of his elements that were the same. So I just picked those over and over.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58am

Loved the style!

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01am

It seems like you have the right idea here. At least, you're on the right track. I had a hard time figuring out what each of the symbols meant -- it didn't seem like there was a theme going on. However, I liked the art overall and you clearly have a knack for aesthetic.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27am

Nice visual style. Neat take on rock paper scissors. Did take a little while to figure out what the symbols/controls were.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice visual style. Neat take on rock paper scissors. Did take a little while to figure out what the symbols/controls were.

Thanks for bringing up the issue with ratings on my game. Think I fixed it (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=31759)

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30am

This! I love this!
Too bad I think it's really more fun if you played it with two people then I maybe would have enjoyed more! >~<

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40am

Pretty nice visuals for this simple dame! I like it! Good job!

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30am

@all
Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. And yes, it does take some time to figure out the tempo and what's what of the game. Definitely something I'll address in the future.

@minibobbo
If you pay attention you'll start to see a pattern in the AI. There's several different patterns that will come up, selected randomly :D.

@cmcoto
Basically by just pondering about how turn based system is basically rock paper scissors hahaha

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

Very nice, Played a few rounds against my son, he also had a great time playing. Well done.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Liked the clean design and the challenge of having to think quickly, even if I wasn't very good at it. Eventually did get the hang of it though.

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Liked the look and it's an interesting take on rock paper scissors.

Lars Faust says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice, smooth aesthetics and snappy, fast gameplay.
Good entry!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I had a hard time understanding it. Instructions in the game itself might help a bit, with visuals. (I do know about the main screen having the cycle, but it's hard to remember.)

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

Controls didnt work, used AWD im a doing something wrong? Add some music please!!!

indigofiz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

@Halleflux
Yeah, was thinking of a tutorial the first time the game started, but didn't have time to implement it. Thank you for pointing that out.

@Jupitron
REally? It worked fine for me and everybody else. On the main menu you click the mode instead of using ADW though.

I didn't have the skill to compose music, maybe I'll find someone to create it for the postmortem version :3

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53pm

very direct! :)

Good job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very confusing at first, but then I eventually got the gist of it, nice original concept

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hi there. Looks good, sounds good. Could do with a bit more feedback about what selection you've made, is not clear which player is you and my control inputs (WDA or Arrows) never seemed to make any difference. Chrome/W8.1

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]