Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Riveroboros

by doitle - Compo Entry

Riveroboros: A Frogger-em-up-like game where you see everything on one screen. There are no random logs or stones. Anything that goes off the bottom of the screen will wrap back onto the top of the screen.

How to Play:
For the Windows distribution, just run LD31.exe.

For the other distributions, run LD31.py to start the game. Requires Pygame and Python 2.7ish.

Controls:
Escape quits the game. Space or Enter advances the Title, Splash, Gameover, and Victory screens. WASD or Arrow Keys move the player.

Try to avoid the water and get to the other side. Once you walk off the right edge of the screen, the level is over.

Due to what is probably a bug, it's advisable not to try to move as your character wraps around the screen. It often registers a death when there shouldn't be one in that case. Just stay still until you are back on the top of the screen and you'll be fine.

Tech:
Riveroboros runs at 800x480, with 16x16 sprites upscaled by 2x making it equivalent resolution to the NES, if the NES ran at 16:9 ratio. It also uses the original NES palette. Music was created using a Famicom soundfont. It was created using Python 2.7.3 and Pygame. All art assets were created using PyxelEdit. Sound effects were made with sfxr.

Note: I've converted all the audio to .ogg from .wav, so the download size has been dramatically increased. This was suggested by several of the reviewers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#447Audio2.89
#464Humor2.61
#877Theme3.33
#882Mood2.55
#922Fun2.65
#1001Overall2.72
#1022Graphics2.34
#1034Innovation2.34

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Holy hell that's difficult to play! The staggered scrolling screw you up lots! Pretty fun, but I didn't possess the the will power to attempt level 2. aha :D

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

That is mind bending to try to read the maze when it's moving and wrapping around. Especially level 2. Pretty cool! Nice music.

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01am

This is a fun little game. Level 2 is really hard on my eyes though, haha. Still managed to beat it though. Nice work.

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Man that jerky movement really hurts my eyes. If you are really careful, you won't die, but it is interesting how the warps and movement really disorientate you.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07am

I don't think you're supposed to to claim the source code as 'OSX' or 'Linux' version tho...

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

Well it was James Over for me pretty quick each try, tough game! Excellent sound.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

I just pushed a quick update to LD31.py to add a Shebang at the top so you should be able to just pull down the repo local, and run LD31.py on Linux or OSX.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

I took me a while to understand how it all worked, but I managed to complete the first level. Level 2 is out of my reach though. Nice concept here !

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35am

The scrolling is quite annoying, but without it the game wouldn't be difficult.

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

Hardcore game! I like it!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06am

Haaaa! This is the hardest game ever made. Why does the player scroll with the river? I will never get to the other side. Never.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31am

This game almost gave me a seizure. It was really difficult! I know a lot of people that would actually really enjoy this game, but I don't think it's for me. :)

cmayhem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

It was more difficult than I though it would be, the scrolling really messes you up. Very cool idea!

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Really fun to play. I was proud of myself after I beat the game :p

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Frogger on steroids! Way too difficult for us, humans ^^

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Excellent audio! It works really well with the setting. I got to the end without much trouble. It's a maze on a river with water instead of walls.

P.S.: I had to remove the "import pygame._view" line to get it to run on linux.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I just pushed a new version with that line removed. It was added to make freezing the Windows executable work, but is not needed to run the game normally.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

That was really tough! Even though it was a bit dizzying to look at with the way the level scrolls, I kind of liked tapping up to "catch up" to the pattern of the flowing river, it really felt like I was running haha! I couldn't beat it though, the timing is really precise. Nice use of the theme and the music was really catchy, well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Wow.. took me long to grasp, that i did not have to make it over to the other side without reaching the bottom of the screen :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05am

Once I understood the mechanic (the bug messed me up and I thought I couldn't go off the bottom), it actually wasn't that difficult. Not a bad entry, but there's not a lot to it once you understand the mechanic.

The graphics were pretty limited, but I see what you were going for with the NES limitations. I'm not sure how well the smooth edges work with that though, I think you would been better off going with zoomed in pixel art to really seal that NES aesthetic. Also, smooth scrolling would have been so much easier on the eyes.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

A bit intimidating, but if you keep your cool it's not that hard to get through. Nice work!

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

level 2 goes so fast, my eyes can't catch up with it.

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

+1 for the audio and graphics NES style ;) Level 1 ok, level 2 dont understand why died at the bottom. Overall realisation is consistent.

Jacic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

It gets difficult quick!

"Your James Over"

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cool game, I like it

bobombe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting maze game, the movement is perturbing which is challenging in the first level, but too fast in the second.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Quite challenging indeed.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:05am

Love the retro / frogger-like aspect! It's hard!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:47am

I found it pretty hard. interesting frogger-esq twist - maybe with smoother scrolling it'd be more playable.

jovoc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:29am

haha! At first I was like, scrolling! but then I was like, I get it.. nice job. Fun and challenging.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:45pm

cute and challenging game, but 120MB?! that's a big file size for such a simple game. Anyways, well done

doitle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I've just uploaded an updated version using .ogg instead of .wav for the audio. The file size has decreased a ton. Hopefully that helps anyone who wants to play this in the future.

tomhunt says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:12am

the scrolling of the land felt weird to me. when i see a frogger-type game, my expectation is that the land is stable while the water scrolls.

seraphki says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Whew! That's difficult. Well done =3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]