Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The House: Watcher

by aisenhein - Jam Entry

You need to exit the house, being careful with the "enemy", but why you're there? you are human ?.

The RESPAWN is part of the moral/narrative, is not normal "respawn".When die, you dont lose progress.




Move player ---- > A W S D



Programming: Matheus Rosa de Souza
Art: Matheus P Martimbianco

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#259Audio(Jam)3.31
#267Mood(Jam)3.38
#616Humor(Jam)2.36
#695Graphics(Jam)2.84
#708Innovation(Jam)2.73
#893Overall(Jam)2.70
#950Fun(Jam)2.28
#955Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

What I liked: The horror setting, sound and fixed camera position for atmosphere. What I didn't like: Kept restarting without an indication why. Also, putting a kind of tv screen as a frame isn't really trying to fit with the theme imo. Still, great going. Keep it up. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45am

Creepy as hell. Good job on that. I did, however, experience a game breaking bug. I was sent back the the starting room, but was placed on top of the dresser-thing. This caused me to be too high up to fit through the door again.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46am

Pretty unique idea. Feels like you are watching yourself move through a security camera. The character turned a bit slow for me which I found frustrating, but overall good!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

Ambience was good for me! gameplay was kinda weird though as no controls were provided, had no clue wether i could interact with things or not. Still it's a good effort, the tv frame made me feel as if i was watching a horror movie whilst playing it!

iMer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:51am

The turning was a bit awkward like ondrejbalas already said.
Very nice creepy mood to it :)

t4u says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:52am

Likes: audio, gaming area(it's seems so big)
Dislikes: That floating Tv. Couldn't you keep it in fixed position?

playvue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53am

I couldn't really get a handle of the controls very easily. It was very difficult to see everything that was around the character. But, it looked like it could have been cool!

aisenhein says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55am

the ideia it's be confused, have a big moral hidden that will be narrate on the next Ludum Dare :D :D

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:56am

+ Game had really nice idea and horror theme was nice.
- Controls were hard to understand at first. After that jumped nonlogical place in next room or so.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57am

The sound is kind of creepy. But the camera angle is not very comfortable. And I lose my way quickly..

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50am

Not a fan of the controls, but I would have given that a good 4-5 in mood had it been there. Nice soundtrack!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:13am

Very creepy, but I also saw the same bug where I was hovering off a floor. I didn't rate it for that reason since I could not really play further.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:17am

The player was hard to control, but the setting fits the game. Good job, I do like the 3D look. :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37pm

wow, you really went big on the mood part of the game :)

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05pm

It was hard to know where I could interact but the game looks nice. I like to see I'm not the only one with an horror game :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Creepy as damn, the theme was catched, the audio was very good, the graphics was good enough.
Good job!

Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

Anti says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Relly good game. The horror setting was amazing. But it was confusing when it kept restarting.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:30pm

The player glided like with ice skates through the level. Looked a bit weird. I had no idea were I was going because everything looked kind of the same. The ending leads me to forgive you the sometimes bad camera angles :D

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The respawns gave no indication as to what had just happened. I wasn't sure if it was a bug or if I had just been killed or something. This left me feeling a little lost. That being said, I liked the atmosphere, and seeing a suspenseful game like this in a game jam is pretty cool.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice horror atmosphere and cool restartting feachure!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice atmosphere. Reminds me of Alone in the Dark with much better lighting. I even got a good jump scare in that one room. Good job!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Good mood but lack of instructions really made this game hard for me.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I loved the idea, sound, graphic but the controls was difficult still loved ^^

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Graphics are awesome, it Takes me back to Alone in the dark or Ecstatica times... On the other hand the player movement is frustrating, specially when he turns

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Great atmosphere. I would have loved some sound effects on top of the chilling music ! Controls are a bit slow, and remember WASD is a pain in some countries that don't use QWERTY keyboards... :P

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

great mood with the music and the lightingt. the controls are extremely cumbersome though. and getting restarted all the way back to the beginning is a bit disheartening. The art could do with a bit more work, but that's understandable given the time limit. overall a solid effort. good stuff!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:42am

F**k!!!!!! that's creepy hahahahaha xD nice job, I love the whole feeling of the environment + music well done

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:30am

love the atmosphere, but the controls were rather awkward

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Wish the controls were more responsive/quick. Nice game overall! Keep polishing it and it'll be even better.

ynots says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:29pm

nice..

pht59x says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Creepy sound atmosphere. I found it difficult to move around the room.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]