Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

VludumdaRe - Blobby Volley VR or something like that.

by Slin - Jam Entry

Before the theme announcement I decided to do something with the Oculus Rift and Razor Hydra, so with that set in stone I got inspired by the picture showing Pong that was tweeted along with the theme announcement. Problem is that 2D pong in VR is hardly working and fun, so I decided for a Tennis like VR experience.
There are no rules and the opponent always gets the ball and tries to play it back to you. One controller is used to throw the ball and the other one to move the racket.

The players position as well as the racket an ball positions are absolute real world positions as provided by the oculus rifts position tracking and the hydra. The hydras positioning unfortunately has quite some distortion in it due to the way it works, which causes the hand positions to still be quite a bit off from the real positions, but it still works pretty good. The coordinate systems between the rift and the hydra are synchronized by moving one of the controllers to your right ear and pressing its start button.

Shadows can be turned on by initializing everything by pressing s instead of spacebar, but unfortunately they cause some performance issues on OSX Yosemite.

This is mostly just a prototype for my own entertainment, but I may port it to Windows if I get the Rift working there.

I got lots of help with the models which where created during the jam by Simon (@lo__xl )!

Requirements:
- Razor Hydra
- Oculus Rift DK2 (might kinda work with DK1)
- Windows or OSX 10.9+

Technology:
- Rayne (selfmade 3D game engine)
- Oculus SDK
- Sixense SDK
- Bullet Physics
- OpenGL 4.1

We made this a #NoStressLDJAM, so the project is rather small :).

If you don´t own the required hard- and software check out the videos linked next to the download!


Edit: I added windows support! For some reason the introduction and setup texts made it crash, so for now they are disabled. Setup is a bit easier than on OSX anyways:
Just make sure your rift and your hydra are connected, set your rift to extended mode and start the game. The hydra controllers should be placed onto the base and the bases cables should point away from you.
Shadows are always enabled on windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation(Jam)4.46
#122Overall(Jam)3.75
#303Mood(Jam)3.32
#346Fun(Jam)3.26
#411Graphics(Jam)3.46
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#742Theme(Jam)3.26
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

oculus! wow

coderitual says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

I will try it tomorrow :)

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34am

wow! looks prety cool! well done. I would wanna try it but need the razor hydra..

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35pm

That's pretty cool a game for the oculus rift.

eforen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I have 1 out of 3 of the requirements so can not play I only have the oculus

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Oculus! That's looks interesting

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Wow, seem pretty impressive. Can't play it as I Don't have Oculus for now (but soon I guess).
Althrough, not sure this fit the theme really..

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I love seeing VR games coming to LD

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:44pm

If I just had an oculus :( Looks cool though!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:59pm

cool.. oculus rift!!!

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Damn I wish I was able to play this. It looks fun!

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:51pm

In the videos looks great.

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Like the blobby volley mash up!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:50am

This game is a great prototype. Its difficult to rate this as a "game", but I did my best :)

Awesome job doing Oculus support!

tomhunt says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:02am

I have a DK1 and a Leap controller, but no Hydra. :(

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:56pm

This is a great game! Not really connected with theme, but this is future of gemedev.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:43pm

looks like it controls pretty well for a VR game. any plans on making work with different input devices?

Slin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Thank you all for the positive feedback :)
I just wish more people could actually play it.
I have been thinking about alternative for the input, but all I can think of using gamepad or mouse/keyboard is either too much work (changing the game quite a bit) or not fun at all.
Also I have been thinking about leap motion support, but I am not sure how well that would work due to its restricted fov.

About not being connected to the theme: I wanted to do something with VR, so that already complicated things. At least the player is stationary and most of the game is usually in the players field of view. Also inspiration came from pong and blobby volley which are both games in one screen. But in the end just vote whatever you think of my interpretation of the theme. In my opinion I am not totally off, but there surely are much better interpretations.

nuqu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

Very cool, I am really looking forward for the VR experience in the future, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]