Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Territorial

by zed0 - Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to expand your territory in that direction.

Try to hang on to your territory as long as possible and wipe out your opponents!

Players who occupy a smaller area can push into the territory of those who control more.

The entire game (globally) is the same instance.

There are some bots in the game to play against in case no one's online, but it's more interesting against real people.

TIP: Start moving immediately or you will get swallowed fairly quickly!

Tested in Chrome 25.0.1364.172, but works in at least some versions of Firefox too.


Instructions for running from source:
The server and bots require node, I used node-v0.10.33.
To run the server:
cd territorial/server
npm install websocket clone html-escape
node server.js

To run a bot:
cd territorial-source/bot
npm install websocket
node bot.js

To run the client:
Open territorial-source/client/index.html in a browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Innovation3.92
#385Theme3.73
#685Overall3.08
#890Fun2.71
#1029Graphics2.32
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

celeron55 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Server appears to be down.

zed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Restarted, sorry about that.

rogberth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very unfair, I was about to win and suddently 2 bots came out of nowhere =( Really tense game, reminds me of liquid war! Good job

Crumpet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

While there is certainly fun to be had swatting insects, I can imagine this a lot more fun when facing humans.
That said, the idea is good, the polish does feel lacking. I feel this game could be a lot more engaging with more sound and flashing lights. The foundations are definitely very solid, you just need to build something more on top of them :)

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23pm

about the same concept as I had ;-)
mine is just with more clicking :p

Ossi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:41am

Nice concept. I've never played a game like this before. It works really well with the theme and it feels quite innovative to me. I like the constant struggle to expand although it was tough once I got about half the screen, since it sometimes felt like I couldn't hold back the smaller bots. Very neat!

Johnro says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:43am

Fun game! I don't know what happened, but it was fun nonetheless!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:46am

Cool take on the theme! I love simulations like this where different strategies will result in emergent patterns; feels like bacteria colonies fighting over a petri dish :)
Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Seemed to be a sort of deadlock vs. the bots. Shame no sounds. Like the abstract nature of it. Good job!

Jaenis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Great game, feels easy, bit isn't so. Surprisingly interesting! Great work!

Jaenis says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:07am

Oops, forgot to rate last night just commented. Here's the rating too

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very innovative. Not really fun to play but nevertheless addictive... :) I could get alsmot 75% of the screen but could not get rid of the others colo totally. I think the core mechanic deserve a more strategic version, maybe turn by turn with some way to use left right up and down moves as ressources.
I would have love to see a timelapse of my game ( like in populous )

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

It was a bit hard to understand what the rules were about taking over territory, and I'm not sure I actually ever really understood, but on my second try I got to 4600 points and wiped out 1/3 bots. :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Interesting game. Probably more fun with humans.

uvwar says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Very cool, I felt like a dynasty crushing various rebel factions, but before too long I could just hold a single direction and have so much momentum that I was unstoppable.

Shivur says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Interesting concept!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Definitely add a built-in replay/timelapse feature! That would be awesome :)

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

Neat idea. I think the concept is really innovative.

Although I feel like it might benefit from some additional mechanics?
Maybe a combo system/ or powerups/ or something else might add to the gameplay?

d3garcia says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

I was winning but I got tired really quick jajajaja. very good idea

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

I like colors! But mechanics is pretty innovative. To innovative for me.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I think I would like this if it was round-based and everyone made a move at once. As it is, kinda feels like a buttonmasher without really satisfying feedback that what you did has any effect (if you really spam a direction you can see your territory go that way).

Cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]