Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Harmonic Umbra

by hd_ - Compo Entry

Start the game by opening 'Run.bat'.

Summary:
Infinite runner on a shadow projection screen. The world is moving -- the player has to keep up or get pushed off the screen !

Made with Urho3D.

Controls:
1 - Shift out of red phase
2 - Shift out of green phase
3 - Shift out of blue phase
Space - Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#299Innovation3.50
#578Overall3.18
#663Graphics2.93
#689Mood2.79
#799Fun2.83
#1148Theme2.61

Comments

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Holy shit this is hard. Really good idea though.

If you choose to keep working on it, consider toning down the panning on the shift effect. I lost myself many times when phasing out colors.

Also consider just doing RBY because its really hard to remember that red gets rid of a color that ISNT red.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00am

Christ this game is hard. It doesn't really fit the theme, but I do like the game's concept and slick visual style. I stopped playing immediately after I got caught in a little niche and had to start over from the tutorial though.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:34am

Pretty fun game!!!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I don't think it actually fits the theme but the game is very cool and the RGB idea is pretty great! Good work!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Those colors are an awesome mechanic! It's a hard game though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25am

It's a cool idea, pretty hard and very nice visually. I'd rather not have to do the tutorial every time though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

I really liked this, although the obstacles were placed a bit too close together for me to properly discern their colour and react accordingly. Good idea though!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

The running guy could be a little bit bigger was hard to see since i tested it on a small monitor

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Could get very complex at times if you have to hold down two at the same time to get reverse effects. But fun.

VDZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37am

My computer doesn't support pressing '1', '2' and '3' at the same time so I am unable to play your game.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Really cool and really hard. Actually don't have much more to say - it's a lot of fun when you get a grip on the mechanics and it's definitely one of the most innovative games I've played this LD, even though I don't think it fits the theme all that well. Saying that the world is moving instead of the player is fair enough, but I feel like something in the game should indicate that this is actually the case. Nevertheless, great game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I'm not voting as I can't start the game. Exe file says that the batch file needs to contains "start()".

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Awesome idea, the shifting effect was really well executed. Not sure how it fit into the theme though?

hd_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:42am

@VDC: I didn't consider that, thanks for pointing that out. If you did want to try changing the keys, the relevant script is in Resources/Scripts/ProjectorController.as : "ShiftColors(!input.keyDown['1'], !input.keyDown['2'], !input.keyDown['3']);"

@oskardevelopment: You need to run 'Run.bat', which feeds the correct script to Urho3DPlayer.exe.

I won't argue that this game might not seem to fit the theme, but if anyone is super duper interested to see how it does in some small way, you can open the scene file in the Urho3D scene editor and press play. The shadows of the player and world is projected onto a screen, and it's through the shifting of three lights on the screen that the phase effect works.

Thanks for playing all !

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:49am

THE MAIN CHARACTER IS SOOO TINY...

slarrimer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:06am

Very interesting concept, although a lot of it's not really coming across in the game's current state. I'd like to see more done with the concept outside of a game jam.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:56am

Really innovative take on an infinite runner, and really challenging.

Adding some checkpoints to this would be good idea if you choose to keep working on this - at the very least, making it so you don't have to repeat the tutorial if you die after you've finished it.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:40am

Interesting twist your brought to the runner gender. It was hard to set my brain for those color operations but I managed my way more or less! Maybe if the pace was a bit higher it would be less frustrating to restart all over again (just a suggestion). Nice work anyway :)

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Original clever concept ! Well done.

hard to remember which are the good color to phase out to get rid of another color, but I'm sure that with some training, it can be overcome.

Nice game !

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]