Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Demons Trial

by guimonpa - Jam Entry

Welcome to Demons Trial, a mythological battle where the great warriors of hell test their strength. Are you one of them?

Download the desktop version to play in glorious fullscreen!!

GLOBAL HIGHSCORES: http://demonstrial-guimonpa.rhcloud.com/

UPDATE:

We've added a post jam version of the game with:
- 2 player coop mode
- Online global highscores (type a name on the end screen and start a new round to submit the score)
- Controller support (only tested with an Xbox 360 controller, but should work fine with many more)

Controller controls:

Right trigger or left trigger: Shoot
Left bumper: Dash move
Right bumper: Change weapon
Left stick: Move
Right stick: Aim

NOTE: Be sure to try it out, but if you want to rate the game please play the jam version first!


—————


Controls:

Left-mouse: Shoot
Right-mouse: Dash move (temporary invincibility)
WASD or Arrow keys: Move
Spacebar or Q: Change weapon. (only when you have one)
M: Mute sounds and music


Art and game design by @MarcosMufinD
Code and game design by @guimonpa

Music by BBandRage and rangerxt12345 (OpenGameArt.org), sounds made with as3sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Fun(Jam)4.00
#94Overall(Jam)3.82
#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#146Audio(Jam)3.56
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#344Graphics(Jam)3.61
#572Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

Awesome! Nice graphics, menus integrated into the level, solid gameplay, great gfx, neat audio!

Budaniel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

Very nice. I like that there are multiple songs to listen to, and the gameplay is frantic and makes good use of the theme.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

Great polished game. I love the weapons and the meele atack

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

Very polished.
Camera earthquake effect gives a lot...

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Excellent game! My kind of game really loved it!

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I like it! Nice and smashy. Lovely art. =3

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Love this game! Very polished and the music is awesome. Great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice! But it's hard as nails :P

jachepe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Very nice game :D

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Hotline Miami meets Ray fish!!
Love the velocity and the changing scenary!
Good work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Well done, guys. The multiple weapons and shifting terrain prevented the experience from getting monotonous. The different soundtracks were a pleasant surprise, too!

Elendow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Awesome game, congratulations!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Awesome game :) love it

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16pm

it was great to survive a few seconds :)
or maybe this game is to hard for me
but anyway, if you completed this game you are the great!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Very good game, excellent job

dook says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

This is great! A really solid little game. I love the music and sound effects, and the level generating as you play was awesome. Good job!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Nice game. Well polished and fun.
I'm not used to that kind of game (i'm bad at it :)) but i feel that this one can be fun and challenging.
I like the way feedbacks of dangers arrival are made and allow you to escape from.

Maybe it's too much punitive to let the player gets instant kill by enemis because early game can be full of dangers.

I don't get what are the green smoke look alike that appears and kill me.

Troilk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Excellent game - everything looks nice and polished! :)

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Love the diversity of the game, like the changing lava spots and the two different soundtracks. Really adds up to the replay value as every run feels different!
Also liked the design of the blobs, which don't appear very dangerous at first, but will crowd the screen in no time and obstruct your bullets' reach.
Very nifty

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:21am

Fantastic gameplay, it's very well designed. And the art is very nice too. I love this game, congratulations!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:08am

Que el ataque cuerpo a cuerpo te desplace da pie a situaciones un poco injustas.

La paleta de colores es muy apropiada, aunque los enemigos verdes no parecen tan mortales como resultan ser.

En general el juego tiene un buen ritmo, y la respuesta es buena (en cuanto a saber cuándo te han dado, la reacción al disparar y atacar, etc.).

¡Buen trabajo!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Un gran juego y muy difícil, del minuto y medio no paso :)

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Polished graphics, nice sounds, and really, really addicting
I love the everchanging levelmap and the arsenal you can use
I would we awesome if the score also tracked the amount of enemies you killed on each game ^^
losts of stars for you :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Very addictive, I like the way the map changes every time. Is very dinamic and frenetic. Congratulations, a great entry!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice game but pretty difficult right away. Would great to implement some levels of hardness) But I'm not the most expirienced player though))

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07am

very nice entertaining music and game as well

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nicely made, very intuitive. Didn't need any text to explain what was happening or what to do.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Very tight controls and impressive level of polish, awesome work!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Awesome. One of my favorites so far.

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Awesome! Very polished and playable. Had a lot of fun.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

Very good experience!Controls are tigh and weapons just feel awesome!Cool!

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Wow, fantastic game! Nothing to fault - though, I knew there was an option to swap weapons but never was able to do it, or thought it would be a good idea: I think that's an unnecessary feature that could be dropped to make the game more "pure".

The ground spawning/changing feature is brilliant - really added a lot to the game and made each change exciting. Tune was awesome too - fantastic effort for 48 hours!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:27pm

The movements seemed to be a bit glitchy and the character slided a bit. Other than that a pretty great game!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Cool game, very fast-paced. The only thing I did not like is the killer walls that appear form nowhere.

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:54pm

A very polished entry! Awesome graphics and sound. The gameplay was smooth. Congratz!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Very nice entry. ;) I love the art, how levels change and how polished this game is.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Really intense action you have there. But it gets really tough really quickly. I liked how there were nice indicators for everything and nothing instantly killed me upon spawning. (Unlike in other games of this type I've played.)

Best was 1:22

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Really nice little game. Great music and gameplay + well stylized.

Would love to see global high scores :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Solid entry, nice flow and super difficult! I wished the transformation of the ground is announced a little bit earlier :D

guimonpa says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Thanks for all the comments guys!!

We've just updated the game with global highscores (yeah!!), two player coop and controller support, check it out!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great game. It controls well, and it feels quite polished. I really like the changing environment too. I made a similar game called Enter the Murderdome: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=13891.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Fantastic. I can see myself getting lost in this for ages. Really hope to see you take this further - it's awesome!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:19pm

awesome, very well polished game. controls are good and it has a nice style to it

Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:45am

Muy buen juego si señor. Yo creo que es culpa de la horchata que se hagan tan buenos juegos.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Pretty awesome game! Simple, hard, fun and doesn't feel repetitive at all.

Insality says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:31pm

wow, i love this musics and gameplay itself
nice job

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I played this one quite a bit. I also played the 2-player coop version as well (very nice). I really like how the board changes dynamically right under your feet. It adds a nice challenge. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]