Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Need To Rush

by SnoutUp - Compo Entry

A circular snowman-based endless runner with a couple of snowman-ish mechanics (some of them even working!). Character can jump, "duck", throw his head (not much use of it), roll and stay alive after losing body parts.

Parts take separate damage and some obstacles only damage certain parts (it's a mess).


Controls: arrows, WASD or IJKL.

Sounds and music: none

UI font: Brady Bunch remastered

---

WARNING: may cause dizziness. Might be something with fast moving background, but I had no idea how to solve it without removing graphics.

---

Follow me or game in GameJolt if you'd like to see the post-jam version!
https://twitter.com/SnoutUp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#101Graphics3.97
#106Humor3.44
#282Overall3.48
#325Fun3.34
#411Mood3.09
#416Theme3.70
#637Innovation3.03

Comments

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59am

Cute and funny! ...wow I'm going to get sick :D

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06am

Damn, I'm so sorry and frustrated about the sickness thing. If anyone could give advice what should I fix in art and/or movement for post-jam version, so it wouldn't cause dizziness - let me know.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice polish, good effects, and fun to play. Good job

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:23am

I'm too tired to play this without falling asleep XD
...
(-- )zzzz
Nice game, got 757.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

Hooray for snowman!! Definitely not so easy on those with vertigo. Definitely liked having to multitask with rebuilding the snowman and dodging everything.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

I'm not sure why but this game blew me away lol
After playing for over a few seconds the game starts to freak my eyes out so either I've just become sleep deprived from ludum dare you you did a really great job with the game design :) Love it, keep up the good work

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

Btw, I think part of the reason some people may be getting sick is because the snowman looks like he's running forward but is stationary, the world is spinning clockwise, and the clouds are slightly spinning clockwise as well. I think its just a little too much spinning lol but otherwise great game :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

I have a vertigo)) Great job mate! It reminds me "tie skipping" minigame in Little Big Planet. I like the "destruction" process of snowman :)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52am

I got 584. Funny watching the snowman get discombobulated. Nice job!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49am

Haha. You weren't kidding. I'm spinning!

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01am

Great game! Some very imaginative mechanics and animation.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

There is Snow doubt this is a neat game, great work for less than 48 hours =) could make a neat multiplayer game on a tablet if you had another snowman moving the other way :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

Great work as always! Although I had to reduce my browser view to fit the game in the screen.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Yet again another solid game from SnotUp, I'm giving you bonus points for the lack of pigs in this game. It's exceptionally fun and it utilises a very simple mechanic that provides hours of entertainment. Bravo sir, good work!

Threef says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

That's nice, but too easy for me. I don't feel challenge.

And about sickness some people feel, maybe try to parallax some elements?

Rulrite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great game! I really like the concept and the graphics are really well polished (the snowman's animations are especially awesome).

I'm not sure what you could change to fix the dizziness issue... I would suggest hiding the bottom half of the 'planet', but I've really no idea if that would help.

Walnoot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Looks very nice and polished, and is fun to play too! I like the feature that when you stop playing the whole world is spinning :p

AndreasL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Great looking game! And it plays pretty well too!
I think if you zoomed in the game a bit it would reduce the dizziness. If you could only see the top half of the globe it would be a lot better, I feel.
Or place the obstacles closer together and slow down the spinning.

I think it would make for a great mobile game too. Good job

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

OMG - this is like using the Oculus Rift... it makes me sick to play it, but I can't stop!

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Interesting concept and nice graphics.
very hypnotical after 10 seconds :-D

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I am really dizzy, good guy game prevents you from getting addicted!

jovoc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice! I like the idea a lot. It's a lot of fun (though I did get dizzy after a bit). Was fun and lighthearted, I liked the little touches like the snowman shrinking and growing, and rolling into a ball. The little snow feet made me laugh.

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I sucked badly at this game, but it's pretty fantastic. Not entirely sure I understood what was going on, but fun nonetheless :p

exoddinary says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

You did a neat work!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I like it. Simple and easy to play. Nice graphics too.

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Very addictive gameplay, simple to play and the graphics are very well designed. Good job!

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Wow... I've never said this to somebody before, but your game makes me want to puke. Good job!

NoorStudios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Great job! Simple and creative gameplay. Also lots of fun and very difficult. Snow dead :(

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really nice graphics, simple idea which works really well :D

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

Well done! ☃
Good use of the theme and it's pretty funny how the snowman loses his parts!
Also, it has very nice graphics. 900 is my best, so far.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

This was great. Really consistent with the rest of your portfolio. I'm really impressed this was a 48 hour game. Get some audio in there, it'll be extra great!

As far as the sickness problem, I'm wondering if the key is the background. Try changing which direction it's moving, or have it move at the same rate as the ground, or have it not move at all. I think one of those will be helpful.

CScribes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

Great game as always :) you did a nice job with the theme. I was a little confused at first but, figured it out pretty quickly!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16am

Loved this! Very polished and fun to play! Throwing the snowball's head somehow feels so rewarding lol.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

Fun little game - I would probably make the earth less circular to reduce dizziness. If the plane were flatter (but still an arc) it would help. Your eyes have to constantly roll around the front of the screen to meet your player when a new obstacle approaches. I think that's why anyway.

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58am

Great job, nice concept and nice graphics

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:55am

Cute art! I like the spinning world, made everything look a bit strange after I stopped playing though, like everything was still spinning!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51pm

SO CUTE! Nice game! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

Xanjos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

The game does indeed make you a bit dizzy but it's a very solid entry and really addictive to play plus I love how you've implemented the multi-part nature of the snowman to humourous effect.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Oh my god it's spinning and spinning and spinning... I reached 877 and at some point I started thinking my snowman might jump into orbit :P

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

The game is really good, it's simple but it has a lot of little mechanics that make it more than a simple runner.
Well done! :D

I'm sad there is no pigs in this game :(

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Sweet game! Haha the snowman is really funny. I got up to 1046! I wish there were some kind of like achievement goals to hit with the score? Also I couldn't figure out why to throw the snowman's head. Really fun overall!

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very "pun-y " but overall a simple and effective little game

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very enjoyable - you could cut back the controls a bit, and make an excellent mobile game here.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I never knew there were so many ways a snowman could meet his maker. The graphics are extremely cute and make the game.

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of your game: http://youtu.be/1F4aMPeGQEU

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

This is VERY cool top notch stuff :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42am

I like your game, but after a while it feels like my brain is twisting like the ground in your game. But it makes a lot of fun and i think i'm going to play another round yet.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

Quick, cute and satisfying! Nice entry.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Wow, I have dizzyness after just a few minutes. Loads of fun tho. I also made a snowman game

bladderbloat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:29pm

818! Easy controls, challenging and snowman! I rarely get sick by games, but this made it for me :( Must be the clouds moving in the background aswell I think?

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

LOVE IT! Got a little dizzy, too, tho. It's just really hard on your eyes. I'm not sure if it would help when its circling the other way. Or with a bigger circle. Not sure. BUT I STILL LOVE IT!

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I watched your gif of this game for about 10 minutes straight on Saturday. It provided a much needed morale boost!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Looks really polished and its addicting
i felt a bit dizzy at the end, but still love it ^^

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Wow I underestimated how dizzying that would be when I saw it on twitter. Fun though, and looks great! Maybe if you made the planet a bit bigger so the curvature on the screen is nicer, that would help with the sickness, haha.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Interesting take on the endless runner formula, I love it! The way he's always falling apart is pretty funny, great artwork too.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Haha :D Good challenging gameplay! Adorable graphics as always. Runner with a nice twist. Great job!

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:39pm

My living room won't stop spinning now. Sort of fun :)

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:02am

Really well put togther, and quite fun! I love the art too, your games have that distinctive style, and they always look nice and polished. Good onya!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:18am

Loved this! It's great!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:20am

Also, it's a minute later and I'm...dizzy...huh.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:05am

Cool!Some audio would make it more alive though!Keep up!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Psssst! You're on today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oT_X55pxfvc

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Polished, simple and fun. Snowman running with his arms on is head : +1 !

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Very cool snowman animation.
Yeah, got sick after awhile. :-)
Well made!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Ah, I made it a little over 700. Cool game, but I was starting to get really dizzy after a while.

Maybe if the game was more zoomed in and the radius of the circle was larger it would cause less motion sickness?

And I don't care if it wasn't good for anything - I loved being able to throw my head!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:08am

great game; I wish they there were sounds though, got dizzy pretty fast, for the sake of my mental health I should stop playing.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:04am

Simple good fun! The graphics were really nice, although it could have used a bit of sound. Still, good work!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:19am

Hi there. Like the idea. Agree it makes me feel a bit nauseous... even after playing - like those optical illusions where other things you look at rotate after you stare at picture for long enough. Managed a couple of revolutions. Shame no sound.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice game, well done !

-C

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:42pm

It's a pitty there is no goal to it...

Also, are you the guy who made this? http://i.imgur.com/uyYLRZb.gif

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Thank you all for comments and feedback! I'm trying to fix the "spinny" issue in the post-jam version and already moved to landscape, increased the size of the ground and lowered the background contrast. It helps. A bit :)

Also, experimenting with different snowman "characters": http://i.imgur.com/ui60qtJ.gif


@PapyPilgrim , I am! And it looks more like this now: http://i.imgur.com/NTM1LA4.gif (game is called Iron Snout).

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:34am

very funny and creative game, the rotating platform fits great with the theme, well done

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:01am

That optical illusion when you look away from the game is hilarious and intense. Can't play or too long but I do get a good laugh out of throwing the snowman head into a fire. :) Very nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:46am

nice job as always - nice graphics - great gameplay - sound would have added a nice touch - great job

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:08pm

*hurl*

Don't worry about the dizziness - it's quite the experience xD

Go for audio next time too!

reveriejake says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Awesome game! The dizziness is a bit of a nightmare in the jam version but the fix in the post-jam seemed to worked at least for a longer period of time ;)

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

One of those games you have to read nothing about to start playing. Good job!

rojo says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

Clever name! Overall I liked the use of the theme. The graphics were great as well. I think some music and sound effects would go a long way to complete the experience. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]