Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ricochet Heroes

by spotco - Jam Entry

A game like no other, Ricochet Heroes is a pinball RPG! Fling your mighty heroes into the wild unknown to fight monsters and save damsels in distress.

The "one screen" is that the game is all in the world map (screen). A little abstract but bear with us here :)


Controls:
Click and hold to aim your hero and release to shoot.
WASD or arrow keys to "tilt" the game, bumping your hero in the desired direction.

Wrote a postmortem here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/16/ricochet-heroes-postmortem/

Like the game? Follow us at:
https://twitter.com/spotco
or
http://www.spotcos.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#5Fun(Jam)4.17
#12Innovation(Jam)4.30
#16Audio(Jam)4.17
#16Overall(Jam)4.16
#90Humor(Jam)3.64
#96Mood(Jam)3.75
#164Graphics(Jam)4.00
#984Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06am

This is great. I clearly made the right choice when I chose to play this instead of study for my final tomorrow :).

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

What a great game. very fun to play. cute graphics nice music. Well done. Thank you for that game.

Wolve says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

wowowow, spotco, this is amazing!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:41am

Not bad. But cant find connection with theme. Seriously.
Anyway game has interesting game mechanic. Like the hybrid of RPG(?) and pinball.

spotco says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41am

@SaintHeiser the idea was to have the "one screen" the world map in a rpg. a little abstract, but still happy you liked it :)

CosyCave says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:37am

I loved the pinball/rpg mechanics on this one, had a lot of fun playing it :D.

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:17pm

That was excellent. One of the best games I've played so far. Extremely clever genre mashup and I love both genres. I didn't see any indication of how many balls I had left, that would have been nice. Otherwise, very solid. Great Work.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:05am

I might have missed something, but how do you pass the second village? When I get that 1st fork on the road, my "throws" are not strong enough to pinball around and reach the other side.
Also, when a hero gets stuck between trees, it currently dies. Consider changing that mechanic to just making it come back to the village you were in.
The game seems fun, but I can't get pass the beginning, so I will not rate it for now.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15am

Pinball RPG! Sounds grteat!
I like this entry!

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:17am

Wow! Very good effort here! Music, sound, graphics, all great! The tilt mechanic could use a bit of polish but overall a great experience. I could see this being on the appstore. Great work!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29am

The concept of a pinball RPG is really cool. The tilt mechanic is perhaps not clear enough but I had a good time.

Died in the second screen after the gate, it's pretty hard to go up with the mountains and the bumpers. Good job anyway !

Agram says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

It is the funniest game i played so far !!!
I play game twice to the end !
Great music too !

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:43am

TiagoJDFerreira: you need to tilt (there's some text telling you to press arrow keys or wasd)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

Wonderful much wow such brave ahaha! I love this game! Very well made :) Great entry

Nokifict says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Wooow such wooow !!!
Really good idea of gameplay RPG/Pinball well realise !
Good work !

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Great ping pong RPG! I love it!

csanyk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:57am

Holy cow what a good game.

It doesn't fit the theme, but excellent marks in all other categories.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:09am

The Kirby-like music brought tears of nostalgia t my eyes :')

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:10am

I've played it through. It's got a super innovative game mechanics! You can feel many things are happening if you are familiar with RPG games. Though sometimes it becomes kind of hard to keep track of everything.
The game is very polished, too. The audio is good. But the most impressive of all is the unique game mechanics.

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very cute, polished, and a unique concept! I have no idea how to work the "tilt" though. :(

Ossi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:46am

Great game! Unique, innovative with nice graphics and cute sounds! Not sure exactly how this fits in with the theme, but it's extremely polished either way! Well done!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:47am

What a brilliant idea! So much fun, and really well executed. Excellent art, music, the whole shebang's quite dandy! Only criticism I have is that I wish the camera were a little smoother; not sure if that's possible considering the multiple objects + distance you're tracking, perhaps just zooming out slightly more would help?

Anyway, fanastic work. Unique!

Dans17 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:51am

Innovative concept and well polished, nice job!

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:37am

RPG pinball? Excellent! So much fun!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:11am

This is pretty awesome :) I like all the sound effects! Great job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30am

You made an awesome game. Wow. Cute graphics and music, great idea, and it's really fun to play. Well done, Sir! :)

Scam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:31am

I had to play this through. This was fun! Loved the audio and the humor.

raxter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:41am

OMG this is one of my favorites so far! Such a great idea and so well executed! Really well well done on this!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:11am

Clever mix of genres and liked the way you have the different players as your different balls, fun entry.

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Awesome! Great music, great homage to Final Fantasy, and a surprising mixture of RPG and pinball.. that works! It even perfectly represents the typical RPG story structure. Impressive and funny :D

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hahahahahanother castle! Thanks for this funny game.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:02pm

This was fantastic! My only gripe might be that once a hero engages with an enemy, even by tilting you can't seem to escape. I lost heroes to bears every single time, and no single hero seemed able to kill one.

That said, you've combined two genres so, so well here, your visuals and audio were both excellent, and I had a lot of fun with this!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Cool FF-like title screen, and a very funny gameplay mechanic, pinball RPG, nice :D The controls to "tilt" are a bit random I feel and your game didn't fit the theme. But it is a great game. Good job :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:20am

Very cool mechanics, and excellent graphics. Fun game!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:35am

This is amazing. Seriously, if this were a full game with more polishing and content, I'd pay some serious bucks for it. It kinda reminds me of Half Minute Hero. I loved this. Great job!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:42am

Fantastic game! Absolutely loved the concept, and the graphics were cute. Personally, I wish there'd been less reliance on tilting, because I am bad at it. :p

Murchurl says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:20am

This is a game I really enjoyed! quite an interesting concept, Awesome entry!

codeapparat says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:06am

Overall very cool entry. Art, Music, Humor and Idea are great. I don't see any connection with the theme, though.

lemmily says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Reminds me of half minute heroes with a twist!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:49pm

This game is really really cool. I love the FF touch !

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Totally genius. Pinball meets RPG. Wow. Just wow.

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Great remake on ff!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Great Game!
Nice mechanicals!
But I didn't saw the use of the theme

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:33pm

OMG THIS IS AN EXCELLENT GAME! *****

My only drawback is that there isn't a lose condition. Hopefully, if you'd add this, I'd definetly buy this on the Play Store!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Bloody genius. I've seen slightly RPG-ey takes on pinball before but nothing quite like this. Love it. Fun to play, and nice presentation too. Only problem is it doesn't really follow the theme, but otherwise excellent!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:10pm

A RPG-Bumper, classic.
Wait, what ?! O_o
Incredible idea, and good realisation, well done. :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:19am

Brilliant idea, although a bit hard to link to the theme. The visuals and music are perfect, too, a wonderful tribute to FF games.

I could see this concept made into a bigger game. Great work!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:46am

I love this game. I was pretty frustrated at first, but I should have read the directions more clearly. I didn't get the tilt until unable to make it to village 3 for 3 minutes. Great visuals, great mechanic, great music, great controls. The theme is a bit of a stretch. I see where you're coming from though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:54am

i think this is my most favorite game of the jam

Wayward says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Omg, this game is so great!

sikosis says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:10am

Crazy fun game with cute graphics and music to boot. Great work on this.

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Lacking in theme, but really great game! Super fun. Great music and art too!

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Great entry, i love the game mechanics!

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:21pm

cute and cool game.
Remind me of "squids".
I love the "extraball" feature...

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Definitely one of the best games I've played! Well Done indeed!!

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:26am

I would buy this so fast for mobile or even just on my laptop!!!!!

This is BEYOND amazing and fun. I found the tilt mechanic a little weird and unpredictable but it was still cool.

Two things I'd love to see:

1) A combo meter that keeps building like pinball

2) RPG elements like different stats for party members and shop or towns to upgrade stuff!

All together, this is EASILY in my top 5 games! Please, please, please make a post-jam version!!!!

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Wow, really neat idea to combine final fantasy, pinball, zelda and mario. You executed it well too - it was paced well, the music was great, the physics weren't too frustrating, and there was a neat graphical style. As far as improvements go, I'd say adding some more variety in mechanics would be nice - the inns and guild houses were cool, but a larger variety could keep the game going longer.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice, I played it to the end :) but I can't give 5 stars because it's not respecting the theme.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:52am

So much for the theme, but thqt entry is awesome (wow, such fun. Very idea. Wow)

The control could use some work though.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

My favorite entry! This game is really awesome. I really hope you made a full game with this idea. Congratulation !

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Fantastic idea, really pretty with nice sound and good mechanics, great job!

ehtd says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

A gameplay I haven't seen before, that was really refreshing. My only comment is about the bouncing, it feels a bit weird. You should consider making it a full game, I am sure that if you add a story it will sell.

Sestren says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

This game was a lot of fun! I loved everything about it!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Very fun but a bit confusing come times. Love a lot the music and the graphics. Very nice game!

ketzer says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Lovely tune, weird and confusing gameplay but still really fun.. 4/5

logon13 says ...
Feb 18, 2015 @ 12:59am

Wow simply amazing.One of the most innovative games I have played.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]