Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Television Hero

by rallebauz - Compo Entry

Shoot bad guys and squash evil carrots.

Take the spaceship and the guerilla carrot fighter to victory. Nothing can stop this dangerous duo! Unless you screw up of course... Well hey, don't worry, it'll most likely be fine. Probably.

Also, they are linked with the power of magic shimmyshams and CRT televisions; if one dies, both die. And that would be what we in the business call... bad. Like, ba-a-ad.

-------------------------------------------------------


WASD - Move
SPACE - Attack
M - Mute sounds
ESC - Quit


(There is no restart button)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#83Theme4.16
#191Innovation3.69
#655Audio2.54
#666Fun2.97
#704Overall3.06
#759Graphics2.76

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Pretty fun game!!!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice concept, really good use of the theme! The graphics are adding to the mood as well.

The gameplay is a bit too basic.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Lovely game x) you can also check my project :) (Felling like a Television hero XD)

zulubo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39pm

very nice! I like the idea that things were still happening on the other channel even when you weren't there.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I... think I like this!! Well, the concept. Honestly it's all very charming, but I think I stepped on two pixels on the carrot thing and instantly died? What's the point of "life" if it all goes away in one hit?

But I love the idea and the presentation is actually not bad. Needs more love on the design parts :)

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I really like the animations! well done!

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice idea having multiple channels and the tv as the interface.

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

It was alright to play I guess

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I loved the concept of the game within a TV that you can interact with. 5 stars for the theme! The game itself was a bit repetitive and I would have loved to see some explosions lol. Good entry overall!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I wish there was a quick way to restart. Interesting idea and a cool take on the theme! I went looking for new channels and died due to not finding my way back, which was interesting although a bit frustrating. Great job!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Super clever use of the theme!

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

yeah, that is the whole game on one tv screen :)

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice graphics !

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice concept.

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Cool concept, I like the idea of switching channel !
Didn't got it the first time, but it's great !

magnontobi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Wow, cool game! +1 for Linux export. Found it pretty difficult, but still, I like your take on the theme.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Funny idea :)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

thought it was pretty cool idea, but the controls started acting goofy for me. at first none of the keyboard buttons worked and i had to refresh the page. then when playing i couldn't turn back to the carrot scene

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Pretty cute animations.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:17am

Hi there. Clever idea two games on TV. Start carrot attack, no carrots to see, suddenly said Game Over/alternating noise screen. No way out of that, not power button or channel buttons.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I couldn't kill that yellow helicopter. Nice concept

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Ok!This is just great!Concept with other channel still playing is really cool!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I like the idea.
I found the yellow helicopter-which-never-die a bit too hard to manage, while "zap" through channel to kill carrot and go back to this b*st*rd.

Nice take on the theme otherwise

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]