Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Build A Turret

by MechanicalLife - Jam Entry

This is a game about programing a turret with logic-blocks!
it's a bit thrown together at the last moment :p

if the game has a black screen on start try to re run :/
i didn't find the reason behind this in time xD

Controls:
LMB to move a node or add a gate.
RMB to remove stuff in general.

Instructions!
The goal of the game is to clear all 4 rounds!

at the bottom right are all logic block click to add to you grid!

logic block:
logic blocks have inputs on the bottom and outputs on the top
click and hold a node to connect it to another.

Sensor blocks :
to set the sensor grab the red node in the center and drag!
you get more sensors for each round!

functions:
spin turret with right() and left() blocks
when the turret spins it loses accuracy so try to stabilize it :)
fire the gun with fire() only fires one per input!

Rounds:
each round is harder and the targets take more hit to kill!

good luck! be clever and prevail!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Innovation(Jam)4.22
#386Overall(Jam)3.34
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#478Theme(Jam)3.58
#693Graphics(Jam)2.85
#711Mood(Jam)2.74
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Interesting concept, but difficult to understand without proper instructions.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Cool idea, but I struggled to figure-out what I was doing.

klave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Very original concept. There's just one bug (except the black screen: sometimes, i see the rays passing through the enemies, but it doesn't inflict damage. Otherwise, great job!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I liked this concept.... you must insert instructions to help us! Congrats.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Game won't install says it's missing a dll file

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I will not cast a vote yet. I think you should make a small text tutorial to guide ppl trying your game. I am completely lost :/
I normally don`t download games, but yours got my attention, I will bookmark your page and come back later.

What I was able to do is make a small circuit in loop (right, fire, fire, <repeat>) but from there i can't go on, so please add some instructions :)

callum.thepro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Good concept but it's too hard to play.

DoubleS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22pm

The game looks great and very interesting. I got a bug though, where I couldn't actually add any sensors, which is a bit limiting.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Love the idea of this, but as others have said, needs some sort of tutorial levels.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Updating. I figured out how it works. :D
Start with a clock piece and then things happens :D
I liked a lot the concept but it is very difficult, for me, to solve the best way to beat levels :)
But indeed, worth the downloading :D
Gratz :)

pk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Good concept, but anything that boils down to circuit design needs some more handholding.

The hitboxes seem to be much smaller than the actual targets too and the sensors seem to have some accuracy problems; A constantly spinning turret with a sensor linked to fire in round 1 will hit less targets than a constantly spinning turret that fire as fast as it can. A sensor offset determined by trial and error can alleviate this somewhat.

Also the input and output ends up overlapping.if you place logic blocks directly above and below eachother.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Thanks for all the feedback i added a bit of text tying to explain the mechanics a bit xD

and for the shoots going through targets it probably because your on round 1-3 where they take more hits. it's just poorly explained visually :/

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Interesting! Once I figured out clock + fire, round one was a breeze, but subsequent rounds ended up a bit more difficult and I couldn't quite figure out how to get the sensor working in a way to, say, spin the turret until the sensor sees an enemy, then stop + fire, then spin the other way. I wanted to get fancy! Being able to preview the results when paused and a bit more hand-holding would be nice.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I get dll error, so unfortunately I can't test your game. Let me know if you get a fix on that.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

did you move the exe away from from it original folder? i am not sure which dll i might be missing :/ there are suppose to be 7 dll with the game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Interesting idea.
It's really a lot of fun to build and try out your constructions.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:34pm

It complains that msvcr110.dll is missing

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Got it working by installing 32bit vcredist, great game! Loved designing the robot logic. Reminded me a bit of SpaceChem!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

As others mentioned, it's a pretty cool idea, but really hard to understand what to do. Maybe explain more in detail what each of these blocks does. Right, fire and clock were the only ones I was able to figure out and use, not sure what to do with the rest...

thecord says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

One of my favourite LD-games so far, very addictive gameplay, i love programming as gameplay :-)

NPException says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I realy like the idea, but I found it really hard to design a good turret program without any chance to try it out first, or at least restarting the current level without loosing my program.

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I managed to get some things working but it was not easy. A step by step tutorial would have help to do the game justice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]