Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

T.E.G.O.O.S.

by Tosic - Compo Entry

Hello, I am Tosic, and although I'm only eleven, this is my 3rd LD (third time's a charm :D)!
Anyway - "The Entire Game On One Screen" is the code - what does it mean? Find out in the game!
T.E.G.O.O.S is a spy - like action - comedy game with drama essence! On top left screen there is an objective - do it!
Commands:
- W, A, S, D - Move;
- SPACE - Jump;
- Mouse Button 1 - Shoot(when you have a gun);
- Q - Quit;
- To rescue farmers on one of the missions - collide with them!



Also, there is an easter egg - can you find it?

P.S. The red balls that push you in a certain direction, is not a bug - these are tramboline balls ! ! !
Hey, you can buy my android game: http://www.turbosquid.com/FullPreview/Index.cfm/ID/881715

Enjoy!

// I remain,
// Tosic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#376Humor2.76
#784Fun2.85
#903Audio1.80
#964Mood2.42
#1079Graphics2.19
#1080Overall2.58
#1093Innovation2.20
#1202Theme1.92
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I'm not really sure if the human models are made by you in only 48h... You're 11 after all

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

So yeah, you should've put it in the jam category and opt-out the graphics category, since those models are not made by you: just compare them with the trees and ultra-low-poly level design. It's a weird, interesting game...

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

Uh... models are made in MakeHuman - people never said that's not OK - please rate the graphics if you haven't because I made the models.
And please, tell me the fact you thought human models aren't mine have not affected your ratings on other categories.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02am

Good job.
Weird game, but interesting.
Next time, you should let the player restart at the level where he died, not at the complete beginning. (Not sure if you did at later leves, did not progress past the the running sequence.) The intro gets a little old after the fifth time.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11am

I don't think this constitutes as entire screen. Glad to see some 11 year olds are doing something productive with their youth. Keep it up man!

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02am

Thx guys!
:D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

First of all, let me say I'm impressed that you made a game like this at only eleven! Making a 48 hour game is a challenge for anyone! That said, I can't really say the end result was particularly good...

Just using the letters of the theme seems a bit like cheating, and some stuff like the footstep sound were kinda painful. The models are pretty basic, but I think in future you could experiment with using this to your advantage. For example, some of the textures on the ground and the trees were really unpleasant to look at, but if you swapped this for a virtual theme I think it could look a lot better with very little extra work. There were a few bugs I noticed, like immediately getting a game over if you ran out of bullets (even when the last bullet is on screen), and the count for the number of cores destroyed not resetting on game over (so after destroying three cores and running out of bullets, I only needed to destroy one on my next try).

Despite my issues with the game, I have to say the strange combination of different models, and some bizare whispered sound effects made the game feel really sureal, and I definitely rated the innovation and mood higher because of it!

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25am

Enjoyed.
Weird and trashy adventure.
Thumbs up

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Good start.

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Damn that game was weird but it was nice.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Your game making skills are definitely improving. Keep going!

flouiz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

The first place reminded me LA NOIRE, the corridor reminded me of Call of Duty, collecting farmers reminded me of MMORPG, the last room looks like Quake and all visual ambience is under acid haha.
Side of the sound,it's not stupid to use voice synthesizers, however for footsteps it's better to have nothing more than a heavy thing (unless it is wanted).

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:05pm

The game is fun, especially sequence with a cop chasing me, few times I flew a hudred meters awaay. Didn't finish though

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:45am

Haha I loved the story at the beginning, I don't know why you teleport somewhere else after that though. I wish when restarting you would just restart from the level. Another thing which might be nice to add is an indicator of how close they are to chasing you, it doesn't really make sense to look behind yourself. Awesome job in getting this done in such a short time!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:08pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]