Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Constraint

by Loon Of Nature - Jam Entry

Hold the W key or Left Mouse to Propel yourself

Towards your ultimate destination

This game is a metaphorical expression of my frustrations with this year's theme

Made for Ludum Dare 31 Jam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#330Humor(Jam)2.93
#495Audio(Jam)2.71
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#754Theme(Jam)3.24
#830Graphics(Jam)2.53
#970Overall(Jam)2.47
#974Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04am

I don't know what just happened but my brains are broken now. Nice game.

fuzzalicious says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

So I win? Im dizzy now....

bitserum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:40am

I broke the screen, or some such? Well, for a metaphor it does what it's supposed to, I guess.

shotty456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

Uhhh wut O.o this is probably the weirdest LD game i have played so far.... well it was good

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

I think your gameplay has potential if you work on it (for now this is a little bit buggy :) )
I laugh about the "metaphorical expression of my frustrations with this year's theme" x)

slarrimer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:49am

Great job channeling that frustration into something interesting. I like the the spinning character model, I was glad I got to see it a little more up close at the end.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:40am

Not very sure what I should do.... LoL but it looks funny!

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:54am

Kind of trippy, in a sort of harsh circus ballerina type way. I wouldn't say I "enjoyed" the experience, but I'm glad I had it and can appreciate that games can facilitate all kinds of experiences..

As a metaphorical expression, it works, if in a sort of dissonant, unsophisticated way. I was initially confused and then frustrated, and then finally satisfied/relieved at the ending.

Another note, the thumbnail strangely drew me in. It's the reason I tried this game.

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

Wow, a game where the only possible action is to propel yourself into a black hole, that's wonderfully bleak, hehe. :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45am

I concur with your frustrations.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:45am

Looks funky. No real game play. Not entirely sure what you wanted to accomplish with this "frustration" metaphor, but it is a frustrating game for sure.

StrayCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:53am

I find your frustrations frustrating. But your ballerina can dance to youtube bgm, so I guess it got a point...

bobombe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:35pm

What did I just do ???

Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:29pm

cool sound)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]