Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Bit

by A.W. Apps - Compo Entry

Tiny Bit is a tiny platformer/rage game that fits all into one screen. Try to complete all 16 tiny levels with the least amount of deaths. You can even do speed runs of this game if you want to.
~~~~CONTROLS~~~~
-Use the arrow keys to move your player.

-Different colored blocks give you different abilities

-Red blocks kill you
-Orange blocks speed you up
-Green blocks make you jump higher
-You can grab the sides purple blocks and wall jump

Please leave a comment and tell me what you think about the game. I'm thinking about working on it some more and publishing it to the iOS app store.

This game was made using
-(Engine) GameSalad
-(Art) Pixen

-I spent a total of 23 hours 12 minutes developing this game.

P.S.(I know the title screen looks bad, but I had very little time to work on it. I also didn't have enough time to add in sound or music. I wanted to get mechanics and levels done first.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#265Fun3.42
#281Theme3.83
#355Overall3.40
#592Graphics3.03
#800Innovation2.77
#840Humor2.00

Comments

merrak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

I was enjoying it, but then I ran into a bug. It seems that if you hit the red X block, you cannot jump until you've fallen. Since there are no drops in the second room, if you die there then you have to restart the game.

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

My jump key kept getting stuck. Cool idea though.

MrWindy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Thank you merrak for telling me about the bug. I just played it, but I did not find the bug. Everything works ok when I try it.

MrWindy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

I just found the bug. I will be fixing it now.

MrWindy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

I squashed the "no jumping" bug. Now the game is 100% beatable.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

Very nice entry. You got a lot done! Some sound would really take it to the next level, but obviously there's only so much you can do in 48 hours. The world is impressively large, and I liked the color coded worlds. I'm stuck on the green world, the second room from the right. With the two red blocks before the flag, with no room to jump. Any hints?

MrWindy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

stephenhaney, there is room to jump above the orange box in that level.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

I really love the pixel aesthetic, and the way you mixed up the gameplay as it went! Really smooth game.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Some collision bugs and the players hitbox is a bit wonky, but a cool idea none the lest.

Really suffers from not having sound or any visual indication that I am being effected by any of the blocks.

EndingChaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

Fantastic! Great idea!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

This is a great game. It's well polished (though it is a bit annoying how easy it is to hit a X block), with great graphics.
It's also a great take on the theme!
Well done!

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00am

Cool game! I really like the idea of the different blocks have a different power.

eforen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04am

The level design was solid in presenting the mechanics progressively, but left the player with no agency (only one path to complete the level, no decisions between which path is best). Also, I felt like the zooming would not have broken the theme if there were no teleporting between the stages. If the wall-jump was introduced at the end of the first level as a mechanic to get to the second level, that would have been better.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04am

Great! good level design and it fits with the theme! love the sunglasses

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

The game looks great! Unfortunately there are some seriously frustrating mechanics in there: some of the levels are near impossible for no reason, and the hitboxes are extremely confusing. Otherwise, congrats on finishing a game!

InToGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I enjoyed this one, although I agree that the different blocks basically instruct you how to complete each little level. Perhaps with bigger individual areas there would have been space for less obvious solutions.

+ Like the little dude design and the blocks are simple but clear. You implemented wall-jumping better than some commercial games :)

- Some of the collision detection is a little off and not being able to see yourself for that top set of jumps on the last section is a no-no... but I played to the end and would definitely like to see the concept built on. Nice one!

Zeypher says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Fun little platformer, I had no issues with it except for that the controls felt a bit loose.

Nakate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

I think the second area with the speed-up blocks was a little rough, but it was super fun!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Nicely done. I only died once from being off screen, but I think the death was justified ;) 4 stars

Rnd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29am

cool... keep good job man, you can improve and porting it to mobile

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Cool game! I like the idea of having different blocks with different powers and combine them together to get across the level.

My only complain is the pixel perfect corner collisions. It made me rage quit in the second part of the blue section :D.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Very funny platformer. Nice graphics and great gameplay. I'd like to see this game on my phone!!!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23pm

good platformer and nicely done.

Grenac says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Very nice game, one of the only ones I played all the way through. Very good difficulty curve.

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:26pm

It played flawlessly here, and I REALLY liked it! Great work! Took me 26 kills to beat it, but it was totally worth it.

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:57am

awesome! Cool idea and zooming effect. I really like the different blocks and their mechanics, and you exploited them well in the level design.

I feel like the platforming controls could use work. They are very tightly tuned it seems to the level (which is good, maybe a little tough though at times), but the feel is very "stiff"

overall great work though!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:14am

Hi there. Nice idea, like the zooming out. Found it impossible to make jump after first orange block, would be nice if a bit more generous with platform landings or tolerant of 1 pixel overlaps with red blocks (well, it felt like 1 pixel). Shame no sounds.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Good interpretation of the theme. I liked the combinations of jumping puzzles you came up with.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]