Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

murder of Zafu

by Franklin's Ghost - Compo Entry

@FranklinsGhost

Third Ludum Dare attempt and really fell apart at the end. Didn't get as much time as I wanted to work on it this weekend and wasted to much time on animation.

Wanted to interpret the theme a bit differently this time and decided upon the idea of the player observing a room through a peephole. You know a murder is going to occur and all you can do to stop it is turn off the light as the killer attempts to shoot. (Like the old Space Ace games where it was all about timing)

Game doesn't make much sense but you click as the game plays and it goes black as the lights are turned off which you have to time with the killers attempt to throw him off.

Restart button at the top left of screen.

Wanted to have different things occur depending when you pressed the button and more killer attempts but ran out of time.

Happy with the idea and the graphics but that's about it this time, feels really unfinished.

UPDATE: Plan is to keep working on this and posting updates on my Twitter. Have plenty of ideas to work with. Eg one hard level is a scene at a Halloween party where lots of people have fake weapons. Also want to limit light off switch in the expanded game.

UPDATE 12/12/2014: Started working on the Post LD version.
-Have removed annoying clicking. (Don't really know what I was thinking with it but guess that's what lack of sleep does)
-Removed restart button so you just need to click the screen at the end to restart
-Added gun flare

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Graphics4.53
#106Theme4.10
#123Mood3.54
#392Innovation3.35
#472Audio2.86
#731Humor2.25
#789Overall2.97
#1078Fun2.37

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59am

I love the art style but the game is pretty short((

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

The animations are so good, too bad that you didn't have time to add much to the gameplay though.

OFF says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Nice idea it reminds me the game based on the movie The Shining where you have to close your eyes before seeing the twins ghost.

With more levels, an increasing difficulty and a punishement when you close the light too soon, it could be a real good mini-game.

We can imagine level with false alarm, and even several killers for the same target.

Simple but efficient.

More levels please! :)

StabAlarash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

pretyy short but interesting concept

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Amazing graphics and animation. but the gameplay is clicking a button and a specific point in a sequence which take almost no time and you get the same sequence every time so no real replay value. iIt is an interesting concept/use of theme though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Thanks everyone. Yep it's way too short and not enough gameplay. Ran out of time and didn't get to spend as much as I wanted adding the levels. Had ideas for other scenarios which I didn't get time to do but hoping to expand upon the concept later.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Really good animation. Did you film reference and trace? Couldn't beat it though?

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:42pm

The art style is really great and the animations are fantastic. But the gameplay falls short.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very original, I like the overall mood and the graphics are fantastic.
It might have been more challenging if you could only flip the light switch once.

Akurn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Wow were the characters rotoscoped? They look amazing. I wish this was longer!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:49pm

It's a pity that this one is so short, but for a quick prototype I think you achieved a great result!

Loved the characters animations (don't know the name of the technique - if it has one - which reminds me of rotoscoping) more than the environment.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Great art! The gameplay is really short though (art is not easy indeed), would be great if it the story "continues" after flipping the switch!

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

You just fell short of time, your game would have been really nice if it was longer. I love the art and the simple but surprising game mechanics.

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I am digging the squigglevision. Shame that it's so short!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Wow, the animation is really smooth! I like this concept, maybe you can add more kind of story branching into your game. Nice work!

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Like the others have said, really well done on the animation mate. :) It looks so cool. Also, the middle person creeps me out, can't stop imagine that he/she knows I'm here and would wink at me any minute now. x)

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really nice animations !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

Thanks everyone glad people are liking the animations and concept, know it's not much of a game at the moment but working on expanding it. Have lots of ideas to work with so excited for that. Will update on my Twitter as I work on it.

miotatsu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

The graphics are stunning, this is sick. Wish it was longer but that is understandable considering the time constraints

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41am

Amazing style! If this were turned into a full game it would be something really special.

Davision says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very cool style but the gameplay obviously lacks. It also has that problem of having to watch a cutscene over and over again after failing at a boss encounter.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:43am

Nice art and animation, however I have a issue with the sound. I get a continuous click all the way through the game.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:44am

The game is very short, but 48 hours are short and it still presents an interesting idea.
I like the nimating and sounds you made, like in your previous LD entry you have a very strange and original atmosphere. The idea is very creative also

I'm curious to see what you will make from it!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Nice game, a bit short, loved the style!!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Awesome art. Would love to play more.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Lack of quality gameplay due to a lack of time but everything else is just great ! Congratulation !

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The art style is interesting. I also like the basic game idea. However it would be cool if I as a player could have more influence (e. g. distract the murderer by throwing down a vase, etc.) The clicking sound is also a bit annoying, but the fake angry voices were quite fun and fit the mood well.

bitserum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:36pm

This is really great for what little there is. The animations, from the opening to the characters are really well done. The premise is great and would be cool to see a fuller story/game here.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Veeery annoying ticking going on throughout the game, but other than that, really nice! Happy to see you finished it (I'm Prinsessa from TIGS)! Very short, of course, but I can definitely see this being extended to something cool.

rabbit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Strange ticking noise the entire game.

I wish it was longer. It has really great art, and animation. Though the sounds are a little too bassy.

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Hi sw your game on tigsource. This is pretty cool, I didn't get it at first until I read the description (I had no idea that was turning the lights off and on) but the concept is interesting and the visuals are nice. Hopfully there is more gameplay in the future.

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow.. that was really pretty. I didn't actually win (thought I tried about 20 times), but the overall experience was still pretty great. Good work! Thanks!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:25am

This has great potential. The animations are perfect. I like the "talking" sounds.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:17am

Very strange, but I absolutely love the visual style. Is that motion capture!?

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:17am

I really like the style of graphics, and the animations were great! I would have liked to see a few other scenarios perhaps, as it was very short.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:20am

Great idea, great art, and fun game mechanics. I think the main thing that this game would need is variance in each play through so you don't always know who the killer is (and when they'll strike), and some additional levels.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:10am

Hi there. Love the animations. Nice background art style also. The mangled voices also great. Very short game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:02pm

The visuals are stunning and look pretty fresh. Like them a lot. In the game itself, there is sadly not much to do.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:11am

Animations are so great, it's a pity that there only one button click for a whole gameplay

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:20am

I didn't manage to stop the killer but it's very well animated...

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice to see people are liking the visuals and yep the complaint about it being too short is definitely noted. Working on extending this now so hopefully I'll be able to fix the biggest complaint. Also have removed the tick in the post LD version (don't know what I was thinking with that, think it was the lack of sleep). The animation is rotoscoped, something I've always played with so thought I would try for this LD.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:11pm

The art style is impressive!

drludos says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Excellent idea, i like it! The animation set for an excellent mood :) A great concept that definitively need to be extended in a longer game!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:13am

It's a shame this was woefully short as I was actually expecting more (although it actually took me about 5 tries to win) but I like the concept a lot and I loved the squiggly art style.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:45am

A few people have already said this, but now it's my turn hehehe...
Although is short, the graphics are awesome and it has potential to be a great game if it is longer. Perhaps you didn't have enough time, but you communicated the concept in a good way. Nice work ^^

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice art! I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

The art style in this game was super nice! I really loved the feel of it. The game was a little simplistic, seeing the murder once and finding out exactly when to flip the switch. But I could see this being expanded upon very nicely!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]