Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Joke's on you

by arlefreak - Jam Entry

A stand up comedy puzzle game made in PhaserJS

Art by:
@arlefreak and @abovethec

Code by:
@arlefreak

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Audio(Jam)3.67
#148Humor(Jam)3.41
#172Graphics(Jam)3.98
#246Mood(Jam)3.41
#416Innovation(Jam)3.17
#589Overall(Jam)3.11
#669Theme(Jam)3.37
#831Fun(Jam)2.60
#2296Coolness10%

Comments

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I'm a bit confused about how this game works. Some directions or a tutorial would be nice.
Other than that, great presentation and I'm sure if I can figure out the gameplay I'll enjoy it. 3.5 stars.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:39pm

THe graphics is neat but I lost several times in the game,add more directions!

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Some directions would be good (Like "Select the correct next direction"). I think you can change this after compo, it is a game breaking thing! You have nice mood, nice music!

voidqk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

good mood, but confusing game... it seems you only have to memorize the first direction arrow that comes across, then click on that..?

arlefreak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:28am

We fixed the instructions and navigations, and added a couple of new characters, the next step would be add more puzzles, and we are working on that, thanks for the feedback :)

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14am

I like how you put animations on the characters when you click them... That was a nice touch...
The way the blue box bounced was somewhat annoying...
Nice selection of characters...

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39am

Love the graphics and animations. The idea with following the patterns is good and could be developed further. Good stuff!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Love the spitting bear. More complex patterns would be nice. Great graphics.

radmars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33am

Somewhat confusing... but pretty.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nice graphics and audio. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be much to the gameplay other than simple pattern recognition, unless I'm missing something. Still, well done.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:27am

Visuals and music were pretty good. I couldn't really understand my objective completely. The "boo" sound effect takes some of the charm away.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wow, really cool graphics, and the idea is kinda innovative, I just wish there was an increase in difficulty, and maybe some other mechanic. If you polish it, it could become quite a game! Nice job!

zillix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:30am

The music really helped solidify the mood. Great work!

tcarter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:21am

Weird that not matching the symbols got me 100 points, while doing them perfectly gave me 0. Liked the music and graphics!

seraphki says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57am

Really like the graphics =D

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:07am

Characters are quite cool and the feedback on good or bad choices is definitely unique! Good job!...am a bit confused on the scoring system though

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:47am

There is potential in it. You could add harder rows of symbols and you could insert real jokes for the player to laugh if the right symbol is hidden. nice little game.

cmayhem says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52am

Quite unique! Awesome graphics and sounds. Needs more challenge.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The pattern recognition as a metaphor for comedy is a great idea! you should develop it further. Sadly in this game you only really had 2 patterns so once you figured out how to play the game became too easy. That is probably the biggest issue. But the graphics were great, and you had a consistent mood throughout the game that really made it feel like a comedy routine. Good job!

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

haha very funny, I don't think a lot of people will get it... Very Subversive :)

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Nice one! pretty easy :| but awesome job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

nice, cute graphics and interesting concept, well done

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Not sure I understood how to play the game. Anyway, the graphics and the audio are super cool, and I love the jazzy feeling !

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice graphics and sound, make the missing tile random (it can at the beginning or in the middle or in the last)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice nice ... i got it very quick ... intelligent idea ... i would do some more complex combinations or even use numbers like 1,1,2,3,5 = 8 (fibonacci)
cool, rated high in innovation

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:21pm

hahah, crazy,,,

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Awesome art, concept, and audio! I kept waiting for the patterns to increase in complexity, but then they didn't. Also, despite making everyone laugh every time, my score was zero?

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The graphics are charming; the character selection is especially appealing.

The gameplay is too basic... needs more complex patterns. Written jokes might be nice as well; lots of opportunities for amusing "failed" punchlines here.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39am

Origianl concept. Too much limited but with less signs and more possibilities you could make a good puzzle/rythm game or something near.

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32am

Really cool little concept, but really easy to master (at least I think). Great start to something that could be really cool. Good job!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:46am

This was a nice idea. good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:03am

Hi there. Like the pixel art and menus, animations. Gameplay itself was lacking something. Love the music. Good job!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Very nice presentation ++ points for Phaser.js :D

Kind of confused as to how to play tho!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]