Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball

by TMKCodes - Compo Entry

The game idea derivates on the duck hunt game. Though I was not very happy with the Theme so I did not invest much time on the game.

The game requires SFML2 and Go bindings for the library.

To play the game just unpack the archive and run SnowballGame.exe in Windows. In Linux please install the SFML shared libraries in Debian based distributions with the command "sudo apt-get install libcsmfl-* libsfml-*" then unpack the archive and run SnoballGame executable.

Sorry OS X users, but I can not compile for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#669Humor2.34
#851Audio2.05
#934Fun2.63
#1000Theme3.14
#1017Mood2.31
#1104Innovation2.17
#1120Graphics2.07
#1125Overall2.48

Comments

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I seem to be missing a csflm-audio-2.dll on my computer, which makes it crash :\ I'm running Windows 7

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Could you include the required libraries, or at least provide a download link? I don't feel like sifting through the internet for them.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I'll fix those SFLM library issues for the windows build.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Now the libraries are included in the Windows version game folder. I'm still not 100% sure if it's playable.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Lonely Mac :(

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

LexGear I'm sorry but I will never own a Mac.

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Windows version wouldn't run, missing libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll. Using Win8.1.

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:40pm

jup, I need the libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll, too >_<

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I'll see to the libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll problem, but I just broke my desktop computer.. Dangerous to run testing version of any GNU/Linux distribution. So currently I can not boot into Windows systems either as I am virtualizing them.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Good! I got the system back up. Will test now on Windows 8.1 with the libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll to see if it is actually missing something else.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59pm

The Windows download has been updated. Please tell me if you have any other problems.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Okey now it runs even on clean install of Windows 10.

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Simple to take in hand. But why the total score doesn't appear ?
And so, I think score are a little random...

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

The total score is displayed after you fall. The scoring kind of sucks. It gives 500-1000 scores per snowman and snowman gets 500-1000 scores for hitting you. Though the game ends when snowman gets more than 5500 points, because then the game becomes basically unplayable.

Boberro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56pm

IMHO sound these effects require 70's graphics

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Not bad, but graphics are a bit ugly. But it doesn't matter, because no one plays games for graphics, right?

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I'm a programmer. So the audio and graphics may suck. :D

BKGH says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Pretty interesting game!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Doesn't run.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Trisquare more info?

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

missing the sfml shared libraries in the download so can't test

ghostonline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21am

I like it how you thought about having a few different audio clips for throwing. Prevents repetition.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

could scale a bit the difficulty. Reading all comments, I did not encountered any problems playing it. :)

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

rzfmzn yes scaling the difficilty would be good idea to make the game play little longer. I was planning to add more levels, but focused on other things than game programming. You probably did not encounter any problems as I tried to fix most of them after first releasing the game and hearing that some dependancies are missing. :P

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:35am

Simple and enjoyable. The difficulty progression was sudden and well done.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Funny idea and it did turn out rather hilarious. That snowman sprite, ha! And man, those snowballs coming closer until they hit you are actually kind of frightening.
One question though - why on earth would you pick "bright yellow" as your preferred color for the sky? :D And just one idea for improvement, let the snowmen appear gradually instead of just being there all of a sudden. Like let them rise from the ground, or fade in, just to give the player a visual cue of how much time he has before they attack.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I don't know why I selected "bright yellow" as the sky color. Light blue would have been probably better. I was thinking about making the snowmen come up and down slowly, but like I said I did not invest much time on the game. I actually even submitted the entry much before the Compo timeout, because I had quite a hangover and felt like the game would not be good enough. If you guys like this game I suggest you to checkout Snowmans Revenge. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=16065

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:19am

For the record I tried this game because I thought the thumbnail looked interesting. But I'm a programmer too so sometimes I don't trust my own perception when it comes to this sort of thing, haha.

Also, I liked the ground art, it felt hand-painted.

As for the game, I didn't understand if there was a system to the scoring or if it was just random. Throwing snowballs was oddly satisfying. There was a moment when hitting snowmen fast enough, that the beats of the sfx became a sort of emergent music which was neat.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:37am

I feel like this needed some interface elements and a bit more structure to make it feel more fun and gamelike. If it had numbered levels and a limited number of snowmen or snowballs per level like Duck Hunt, or if your health were displayed and you were fighting for your life. As it is, it's a fun distraction for a minute or two, but there's little urgency and the scoring is too random to make playing fun.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:27pm

This game has great potential, keep working on it.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:48am

EthanWebster thanks. I don't have the time to continue developement of the game. Game development is just a hobby for me and Ludum Dare offers me good time to do some game development. So to say I don't do game development outside of Ludum Dare and I am not planning to do it outside of Ludum Dare.

Though anyone is free to take the source and continue development of the game. The game source is under MIT license in github.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Looks simple. But I like difficulty progression. The game to train reaction time. The same expirience as while playing sniper in TeamFortress2.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]