Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ATSS - A Typical Space Shooter

by Groydis - Compo Entry

ATSS - A Typical Space Shooter

The game is in the name, Play as a stranded spaceship and fight off enemies.
---------------------
Controls
Movement - Left and Right
Shoot - SpaceBar
---------------------
What I Used
Engine - Unity3d 4.6
Sound bfxr.com
Graphics Blender, Pixen, Photoshop
---------------------
Additional Notes
This is my first Ludum Dare entry and my 2nd ever completed game. I had a huge amount of fun making this game and participating in the comp. I appreciate all feedback and criticism. Thank you for playing and rating. Have an awesome day!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#626Theme3.55
#629Graphics2.97
#661Audio2.53
#749Overall3.00
#772Mood2.68
#811Fun2.82
#838Humor2.02
#1073Innovation2.26

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

Great looking game. I crashed a bit too soon, But I like it.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

A fun game, though the controls were a little uncomfortable and the music started to grate on me. Nice flow, though!

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nostalgia... Oh sweet friend...

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

fun little game, but it seams unfair how easy you did, and how hard it is to kill.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

The controls are a little frustrating, but great job nonetheless!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

All the bullets! =p

Nice game! Could have used more enemies to shoot with all the bullets though. pew pew!

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

The game is difficult(not a bad thing in this case), I found my self constantly hitting enter to play again to get more than I did on the last round. Turning is a bit slow and bullets don't continue once they leave the screen unlike the ships.

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

Need a shield or something, I died within a couple of seconds each time I played. Once, an enemy literally spawned directly in front of me and was unavoidable.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Decent game. A good take on the Simon concept. Wouldn't it be better if the pattern stayed the same between rounds, just getting longer and longer?

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

Decent game. Nice graphics but the game play was a bit off. It's hard to control the ship and sometimes just dumb luck would result in getting me killed really early in the game.

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Fun, but I agree that the controls didn't feel good.

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15am

The bullets don't work for me like 90% of the time? I can't kill anyone

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

Interesting game :D love it

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

Would have liked to have been able to tighten up the turn radius sometimes.

But I actually like the idea of having a game where you run circles around the enemies. Very dog-fight like.

Like what you did with mixing in of a 3D background.

Music was a bit repetitive.

Overall a nice little game!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Nice graphics, I would prefer the spaceship velocity more slow or the turn more fast.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07am

Very difficult to control. Hard to hit the enemies. This is partially just part of the game, though, so it's not that big a criticism, but it does seem to be a bit difficult.
Nice graphics, though.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

Nice models and particles! The controls are unfair though! The enemies turn faster than you!!1! :P

lansed says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49am

Addictive. Hard. But very moreish. Ill have to show u how to drag the music out so its not so repetitive ;)

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53am

So difficult. But funny

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:12am

Need a better ship mobility, control, I do circles an fire.
GG to finish your first ld game.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36am

Dificult for me, but nice.

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03am

The graphic is rather simple, but very fitting. I like it. But the sound is quite annoying after a while ;)

It's hard to kill the enemies and unfortunately way to easy to get killed.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26am

Given it's insta-death if you collide with an enemy i think the controls need to be MUCH tighter. Same issue as other in that it seems my bullets didn't do much. Awesome for your second game, but i think more time should have been spent on play testing the controls.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43am

Nice entry! But I think it would be better if ship'd have more maneuverability. Bullets seem useless also.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback, it is all very constructive and much appreciated;

-regarding the controls. My original idea was to have the game feeling like a dog fight in space, this got lost a little bit along the way. I never play tested it with anyone else so the handling was something I got really use to. Whilst the handling is what I want, that doesn't make it right. First and foremost a game thats controls are accessible to players is what I want (and some would argue, what is right).

-regarding quick deaths. Yep, I fucked up enemy spawns. If you fly over an enemy when it spawns, your ships collide and well thats that.

I will do a Post Mortem on the game in the next few days, I learned a lot making it and the feedback has taught me a lot more.

I should of probably mentioned some where that pressing return on the game over screen will restart the game. Oh and the little white icon in the bottom left corner does mute audio.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I found this a little frustrating:
1) I've died many times just entering the battle zone and instantly bumping into spawning enemy ship. It seems that a ship is on the center right every time I enter.
2) Needs better maneuverability. 100% of my deaths are jump bumping into enemies, not from bullets.
3) Bullets are dumb as well. I'd suggest lowering the fire rate but raising damage significantly. I can't feel if I'm damaging enemies, so some feedback would be good.

Otherwise it's a good start, good luck with the future projects!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:43pm

It's a little hard to kill the enemies, but otherwise it's a solid game.

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this: http://youtu.be/-__rTAMlHag

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice style, i think it need more torque to maneuver, maybe add a gas-brake.
The start remind me to star force!

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice game! Its shooting system reminds me of Rogue Squadron, with a Tie on your back trying to avoid the shots but also turning to shoot at it :D

Second time I tried, I crashed at the first enemy, hahaha.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Fun game, it fits the theme well :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

A bit hard and not that smooth, but can be a lot of fun if u have the grit to learn it! :D

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

It's too unforgiving in my opinion. Could we have a few lives?

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

One Hit Collision kills and slow rotation make this game very chalenging, other than that, i like it

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Good game!
The start confused me: Because the mother ship moves to the left, it looks like the screen is moving right, and then suddenly I "jump" out of the right side of the screen.
Also, I kept on dying outside the screen, because there were enemies there - so at first I thought the border of the screen kills me.

But it's fun and plays well - which is the most important part!

elkiwydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

It doesn't start on web...

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Enemies hit you like magnets sometimes which is quite annoying but it's quite fun all the same. Good work!

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01am

It IS a typical space shooter, a bit more cool I would say. It is fun overall, may be a tad too hard, and unforgiving, but still it is cool. Goodjob!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice. Space ships moves to fast thoough. Could be slower or at least have a slow down button or something.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice music and fluid movement. I didn't like the big turning angle, I would like to be able to make sharper turns.

I like the fact that you can't control your speed, it makes it a lot more tense, and keeps the controls super-simple.

Good job! :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20am

beautiful game, love the mixture of retro with modern styles, but takes a lot of shots to kill a spaceship. Well done

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

good game.

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice game but way to difficult to control :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Good idea, a little too hard to control and really needs a health / life system.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:41am

Hi there. Looks and sounds nice. Collision detection shots to enemies does not seem to be working (Chrome/W8.1)

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Gameplay needs some adjustments. Sometime you die with random enemy spawning right in front of your face. Also, the ship turns too slow to make any ability that player have useful. I liked the graphics style.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Solid game

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:42am

Good old shmup fun.

jmborden says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:07pm

"Typical" doesn't really fit this original take on space battle. What is nice about this game is that you also incorporated a gravitational interaction between ships. You ranked high in Innovation from me.. nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]