Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Runny Square

by NeithR - Jam Entry

Gain points while going around the track without colliding with the wall. Also, the square will keep getting fast from time to time.

How to play:
- Press space or click to change direction
- Don’t crash the wall
- The square’s speed while keep increasing from time to time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Fun(Jam)3.60
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#379Theme(Jam)3.68
#390Innovation(Jam)3.21
#548Audio(Jam)2.55
#644Mood(Jam)2.85
#707Humor(Jam)2.19
#708Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

KawiTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Damn develop it right now on mobile!! dat so kewl! ;) congrats!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Love it! Super addictive

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice entry! Very addictive! 8 is my best score... Good work!!!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Fantastic game. Love the minimalistic graphics a bit hard, but amazing.

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Even though this is a simple game, I think it is very polished and good for what it is. I like the retro style, seems like it should be on an Atari.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Simple but neat concept! Well done!

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Quite nice, but waayy, too hard for me :(. Good job on clean-looking game!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:34pm

So simple, yet so addictive. I appreciate that the difficulty ramps up very quickly, since you have to start back at the beginning whenever you fail. The color palette and audio suit the game nicely.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I'm so bad at this game.
It would make a great mobile game though!

jthistle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Make it mobile and it could be the next flappy bird... great job :)

sumguy67 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Really fun game. Would love to play on mobile. Gets pretty difficult fast but it's really fun.

aare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Better than flappy bird - so simple yet so brilliant :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice and polished, and it's a cool arcade-y/phonegame-y idea.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I enjoyed that. Simple but fun. My top score was 14.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Like others said, this would make a great mobile game. I like the simple graphics.

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

You have to sell it, on phone maybe ?
It's a really good and addictive game !

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Great game ! Can't get past 12 :p

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Makes me think of Flappy Bird in that it's very simple yet well-designed, and I could see a thousand variants on this game getting released on mobile. I like the sound effects, actually-- you slowly have to increase your speed, and the rhythm of the keypresses is fantastic.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice one-button game, simple yet fun. Would've loved to see some more courses, power-ups, and other runners. Really fun though

Ryusui says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:12am

A one-click racing game, brilliantly executed. My one - ONE - gripe is the abrasive SFX, but this game could give Flappy Bird a run for its money with some expansion. Maybe make the scenery change every few points, maybe add some music...

goro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56am

Simple, cool and really very addictive!

DavidLv says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:07am

A very simple game, but very fun.

jrap says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:28am

I am hesitant to say how long I played this for.
You'll find me in the highscores as Jraap.
One day I will miss my kids' soccer game because i will be playing this game.

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09am

excellent execution of a simple (but very clever!) idea :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:22am

This is my type of game. Simple, Addictive and Bloody "flappy bird" level frustrating ahaha ! I want this on my phone now! Awesome entry keep it up!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:30am

Really addictive! The leaderboards really motivated me and I loved the rhythm based gameplay.

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:14am

Great. I think it is a screen rather than a track though, no? ;)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:55am

Haha reminds me of an old Atari game.

NeithR says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:30am

Thank you very much for the feedbacks, All! :)
As for your suggestion, I will port it on mobile. I have ported it into mobile and it worked very well (It was easy to port it thanks to Haxeflixel and Haxe).
The only I have to take care now is the account for the submission xD.

Also, sorry for the difficulty, but I made it like that because it might be a bit boring if the speed is constant :D.

@JoshuaBurr: Wow, my score was 14 too xD.

@jrap: I checked your score in leaderboard, your score defeated mine :D.

@jpmit: I don't know what is called actually, but since it is looping and you have to go around it, I called it track instead xD.

Insality says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:41pm

nice one!^)
Orange LD31 trend everywhere ;]
gj

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Great simple idea! good job

Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Loved it. So far 18 is my highest.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Reminded me a lot of Atari games. Amazing how much fun it was!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:00pm

So simple, so frustrating, so... Wait, what ?! I spent so long time on this game !?
Well done :D

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:21am

You can't get simpler and at the same time more addictive than this. Great! :D

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:22pm

There wasn't really much to this - it's a jam game, but it felt like it could have been made in the compo. There aren't many interesting game mechanics, and it's quite frustrating to play. It does feel like it could make it on mobile, though, with the short attention span of that audience. Maybe it just isn't my sort of thing.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:56am

Too bad there isn't much more to it... cool concept, but it is lacking some variation

NeithR says ...
Jan 11, 2015 @ 2:47am

@all:
thanks for playing and also thanks for the feedbacks and the critiques :D.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]