Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Flummi

by Scam - Compo Entry

Can you survive through 20+ levels and unveil the story of princess Flummi? Levels are procedurally generated and you are your own enemy!

The game is hard! Write in your comment post how many levels you got through.

Edit: The story ends to level 21 but you can still continue as long as you don't get killed...

Edit 2: Postcompo version is not as hard as the original, because you can continue from the same level after being killed. If the original is too hard and you want to know how the story ends, play this version.

Edit 3: (April 2016) Due the lack of disk space I removed the original entry. Both links point now to the Enchanted Edition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#352Audio3.04
#491Fun3.15
#620Mood2.87
#685Overall3.08
#780Humor2.17
#866Innovation2.67
#1015Graphics2.35
#1167Theme2.44

Comments

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:18am

Enjoyable, yet was on 20 screens, not one..

Scam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Technically speaking you are playing on the same screen the whole time. Only the placement of tiles change from level to level. :)

SojaBird says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

The controls feel very heavy and the challenge isn't just there yet though I see where you wanted to go with this.

I like the music!
A very good attempt :)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

My best was level 8 (4 attempts).

I like that you can bounce off the walls, it's a nice gamble: You give up some control in favor of speed.

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I actually love the 'heavy' inertia here, v interesting to plan your route. Very enjoyable.
And no, I can't complete 20 levels at all ;) (would be nice to 'cheat' and continue my game?).

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

First of all, lovely music! Bouncing off walls was fun, and overall it was enjoyable enough for me to retry it a few times.

I don't really feel it fitted the theme though, and making the player return to the title screen every time they get hit was annoying. I only got to level 12, and would have liked to see the harder levels, but having to replay the early levels each time made me quit dissapointed.

Also, the movement of the enemies was a little weird. I was expecting them to follow me, but a few times they decided to turn away right before they would have hit me.

All in all, I enjoyed this game quite a bit, despite my issues. A good showing!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice game. Feels very smooth.

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

If your game makes me want to complete it then you are definatly on the right track.
Nice music, absolutly love the motion of the ball and the trailing graphic, a littletoo easy, maybe a timer? but with the story line included a very solid entry well done!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The gameplay is a bit lacking, but the music and mood was sweet, nice job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice... I got to level 8 in the first attempt. Controlling the ball was a bit difficult, but the bouncing was nice :)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

THis game is perfect, its simple (almost stupid) and yet, you hooked me in with the story and I spent like 15 minutes playing it. I both love you for making this game, and hate you because I will never know the end of the story (its seriously fucking hard after the 10 first levels). I'm going to rate this high !

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Ah how teasing to have a story, but if you touch a red square you die and have to start all over :D Nice controls and graphics. I like the calm music.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57pm

wow soon hard and yet i keep playing. i must know the story!! but i never will. i got to level 11.

Namide says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Interesting gameplay. A timer will be cool :-)

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Really liked the way the BGM build up over the levels, sometimes the procedurally generated maps placed you very close to the exit though! Great job :)

marvalgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Solid polished fun. Gameplay is good. Not a big fan of the controls but understand that making them too tight would hurt not help. Maybe a balance where the controls are tighter around the goal block?? regardless one of the best I played

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37am

Best I could manage was screen 9 after two tries. Really cool procedural design; my 2nd play was radically different from the first. Felt like it missed out on the theme, even if it all really happens on one "screen" we needed to see it change I feel.

Is there a negative to hitting the walls? The sound and blinking scared me away from them.

Seppel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23am

I completed 36 levels and lost to some dubious hit detection. It was fun, though!

http://i59.tinypic.com/wswjzt.png

Scam says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice one Seppel! You are now currently the best Super Flummi player in the world! :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I got 12 done. I like the concept, but I've seen it before (Though in a collaborative way in Cursor*10).

Overall pretty cool. I do wonder where the story was going. I might come back later to find out!

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice motion mechanics, but the flickering when you touch a wall is kinda annoying...

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:18am

i felt that the controls were just a tad too heavy. just tone it down a bit so that when you hold down a direction you eventually go that way. i just felt i couldn't turn unless i was crawling. also the procedurally generated levels let to some very easy levels with the exit right next to me, leaving a lot of the screen as space i never travel to. sounds like you used Otomata for the music, am I wrong? It sounds well done.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34am

Hi there. Like the look and sounds, but not the feel. Found it hard to control without moving very slowly, then not engaged.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:28am

Game did not progress after "they had a daughter flummi"

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:55am

I liked the story element. The movement physics made for fun and challenging gameplay.

Zi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice! Easy to pick up and enjoy. I wish it didn't end the whole game when I died though. :(

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:20am

I got to level 13. You and your damn story! I wish to know how it ends, but I hate to replay all the levels. The gameplay is simple and challenging. Sweet music. Great job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Damn that ball is hard to control but I do like how the levels are procedurally generated.

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Had a good time playing this, but the pure random placement of player and goal created some levels that were way too easy.

Some kind of simple smart entity placement, enemy variety and tighter controls would definitely make this a serious time sinker. :)

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice game, although not completly fiting the theme IMHO.
I like the way the controls work.
Procedural generation for levels is a good idea :-)
Graphics are OK but I would suggest using more color to give the game a funnier look.
Well done overall!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice start of something interesting :)
Original gameplay, feels like a bit of level design it could do a cool whole game :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:05am

Very interesting gameplay, you should think about porting it to mobile.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

The music was wonderful in this game! I liked the idea and the story was interesting enough for me. I didn't like starting all over again when losing, and sometimes the slow controls of the ball felt a little frustrating. Very nice mood for such a simple game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]