Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ARENA++

by madhoe - Compo Entry

ARENA++ is a fast-paced top-down arena-styled arcade action shooter.

Defeat all the enemies before the timer runs out and expand the arena. Otherwise, the arena compresses -- If it gets to small it'll crush you!

Made with: Unity (w/ VS) + Aseprite + FL Studio + Bfxr

PS: Thanks for all the feedback <3 I'll start work on a post-compo version when I'm free :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#130Theme4.05
#308Innovation3.49
#356Graphics3.40
#408Audio2.95
#429Mood3.07
#500Overall3.25
#606Humor2.42
#633Fun3.02

Comments

Raxsus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Pretty fun, but it would be nice if you had more time to fight the enemies.

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:49pm

The concept is great but I felt quite restricted not being able to shoot the enemies dead whilst the arena changes size. Either everything should be frozen whilst it gets smaller or everything remain in motion.

Also noticed that there's actually more time waiting for the levels to change than there is for time to shoot enemies. Should definitely be the other way around (more time in the arena with more enemies to give justification for the longer time period and less time transitioning).

Also, as a personal preference, I prefer keyboard based shooting (up down left right) so if you could add that in as an extra option (so I wouldn't need to fumble the trackpad) that would be great.

Love the fat bullets, but think it could do with different weapon variations, especially as the enemies grow in number.

Love the look of the main character - reminds me of Flash Gordon.

With a bit of tweaking and refining, I think this could be super awesome.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice idea, but I do agree that the transitions took too long. They did look really nice though. Unfortunately, on later levels, it seemed almost impossible to dodge all the enemy bullets, and the timer would run out in under a second. Still, nice graphics, and really cool concept!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

I enjoyed it fairly! I think more could be done with the mechanics, but, that being said it was very well communicated and exectuted! ^_^

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

I liked the compression, but not so much the transitions. Cool graphics!

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

Nice job! I think maybe it was a bit too fast paced, but cool concept and the style is nice

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Really like the rescaling arena, even if the transitions are overly long. Gameplay didn't work for me, though... I didn't really feel like I had any control over how quickly I took damage or knocked down opponents, beyond holding down the buttons.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

Really interesting gameplay! I had to stop playing and let myself die to fully grasp what was going on, but once I figured it out I was really impressed!

koujaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15am

Loved it! Kinda wish the player wasn't so slide-ey though.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

Really cool. It seems like the game gets harder the more you lose, which usually isn't good.

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29am

Good design and effects. Totally great.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

65395 .. is this a good score? :)

It's really not enough room to escape the enemy lasers.
I must admit I didn't completly get what was going on and the room was becoming small really fast :)

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool idea, I wonder, does the enemy fire do anything?
Besides that I like the thought you put into the theme and the execution is well done.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really fun! Gameplay looks really solid. Falls flat on music though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Simple game, but beautiful graphics and nice gameplay. Well done. I Included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/v6qOf-i7cO4

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:11am

On its own, having the enemy shots reduce the timer seems fair. Surrounding you with enemies also seems fair. Doing both in an arena so small that you can't really move around makes this game almost impossible to progress through. I went back and forth between two levels until it glitched out and spawned a double batch of enemies, and on the third expansion I had 18 enemies shooting me at once.

The concept is good, but the implementation of that concept leaves a lot to be desired. If the arena started larger, or if you didn't start surrounded each time, it might feel like you at least have a chance at making it to the next level. As it is, it's just too punishing to really get into.

bazld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Great use of theme, and very stylish.

Nairu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Awesome game, doesn't give a huge amount of time between rounds but I do like the art style and the music!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Neat mechanic with the walls closing in. Well done. :)

JFern says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:11am

Really interesting concept! Would be cool if the transitions were shorter or if they froze everyone. Animations when the arena changed were cool too!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20am

fun game but the timer goes way to fast. cool idea with the collapsing arean - great job

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:30am

Simple game, nice graphics too!. With all these explosions i thought Michael Bay designed this :p. Nice entry!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice concept!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Pretty cool idea, my only problem was that it's insanely difficult, you are constantly surrounded by enemies and when they all shoot you it's almost impossible to dodge all the bullets, and it only gets harder when the arena becomes smaller, I think you should let the enemies be able get shot when the arena is changing.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Claustrophobia simulation with red skeletons. I like it :)

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Nice battle arena! A score tab would have been awesome though!

wavertron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:32am

I'm gunna give you 5 stars for Theme.

[shameless plug] I actually used a Game Border mechanic in my LD31 game too (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=45908) - however in mine you need to expand the border fully to exit the level.

I really like your contracting border crushing the player idea. This game does need some refinement but you've got a solid concept to run with. Good stuff.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:36am

You nailed it with the concept, amazing work there. Also the graphic style is awesome.

However, I do wish that the controls were a little more responsive for the movement of the hero. That, or let me run through enemies and remove the drag on the wall. As it currently is, I just felt doomed to be swarmed with bullets immediately.

As others have said, it would be nice to avoid the pauses in between level shrinkage some how. Maybe if the level was constantly always shrinking for that round, but then you could also always be shooting enemies.

Overall, amazing game. Great work and lots of polish.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:13am

Innovation 5/5: I really innovative game!!!!

Fun 4/5: It's fun, but too difficult.

Theme 5/5: Great use of the theme!!

Graphics 5/5: I really like them!!

Audio 4/5: I liked the music!!

Humor n/a: I can't rate that category...

Mood 4/5: While playing, I felt good.

Overall 5/5: My only 5/5 for the moment!!! One of my fav.

cmdr says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:59am

I loved the art and the concept of a constantly resizing arena. The echo some other people here, I was frustrated that it seemed near impossible to beat even the first room in time because there's simply no room to dodge enemy attacks. If you tweak the players' ability to hold onto their precious time I can see myself really getting hooked on this game.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:28am

Thaat was crazy :D It felt bit too random shooting, but... I did like that the arena size changes. I think that's an excellent game mechanism and could be further expanded.

If arena would have more things (gaps, pits, trees, whatnot) and those would change according to damage you get...

To me this was bit too difficult currently.

BretHudson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:39pm

The timing for the game is a bit challenging, but the base concept is brilliant and shows a lot of potential for your post-compo version! :) I hope development goes well for you.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very well made game. Nice artstyle and good fast-paced combat.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:47am

It would be really neat if you started out in a fairly large arena, and really give the player time to build up a sense of urgency as the room starts shrinking down. Either or, give them a better means to dodge/block incoming fire, as well. I found that the room got really small really quickly simply because it was pretty tough to dodge all the bullet hell.

Whenever the room changed size, all movement and interaction in the arena would stop, which really broke up the flow of activity, which was really decent otherwise. The screen shaking and the timer countdown in the back really gave a good sense of needing to hurry, but I think it could be ramped up quite well just by starting in a larger arena, and giving more for the player to invest in before the walls start closing in.

The graphics were good, the music was decent. :) More content might be good in this game, too. More/different types of monsters? Boss fight? More weapons? This is a solid start!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30am

Hi there. Like the infinite zooming, manic action. Good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:30pm

clever and fast paced gameplay!
It gets a little bit chaotic as the play area shrinks though.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:53am

Great arcade fun all on one screen. Good job.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:54pm

The shrinking and expanding arena is a great gameplay idea. But player movement is so sluggish that it's pretty much impossible to dodge enemy shots, in turn making it impossible to reliably beat levels within the time frame. Thus the player feels like he has hardly any influence on how successful he is in the game, which is frustrating.

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:58am

Cool concept but definitely could use some balance work on the gameplay. If you screw up early, it quickly becomes impossible to dodge and then it's just a slow death after that. Slower firing rates for the enemies & smaller hitboxes (ie just easier to dodge shots in general) would probably help here. Definitely has potential though, would love to see a proper postcompo version. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]