Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Overload

by PnDAA - Compo Entry

w,a,s,d move
mouse shoot
espace reroll the next weapon
p pause
m mute

Goal : reach the boss by falling in the holes enemies does when they die.
All 20 sec you earn a new weapon (reset when you fall in a hole). Weapons earn stats each time you get it.
Every 10 kills you got a reroll token. Use it with space.
Boss life fall down with time you spend on all level (don't rush it).

Have fun !

(sorry for my bad english)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#521Fun3.11
#592Theme3.58
#676Graphics2.89
#677Humor2.33
#738Audio2.37
#749Overall3.00
#816Innovation2.74
#829Mood2.61

Comments

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26pm

The weapons are unbalanced. Apart from that, interesting idea.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great idea, well done!
It took me a while to figure out the acutal mechanics, but I had fun doing so!
Haven't been able to beat the game yet...

The backgrounds are somewhat disturbing :P.

Congrats on finishing the game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Interesting idea, I found the weapon-swap timer to be a bit frustrating, especially when I accidentally reset it, or it game me a rubbish weapon (eg the shotgun).

Some nice ideas in there though, and the basic moving and shooting felt very solid. Good work.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Cool game! a little bit too hard, though

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Slightly unbalanced, but otherwise a nice game.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

Nice background switching :D

ssheep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

the game was fun but it was a little unbalanced and i didnt really know what i was doing half the time

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very Hard! I had fun, and I really liked the theme. Not the LD theme, but the computer theme.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nifty idea! A bit unintuitive, but fun. Great work!

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Cool game, loved the backgrounds

Check this one:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49am

How do I run a .love file?

PnDAA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58am

On linux install love2d, on mac no idea, on windows just download the exe file

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice game! OMG the backgrounds! XD

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Very nice game, great potential.

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:19am

the boss doesnt die!

PnDAA says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Don't rush it, like said in instructions his life go down with time you spend on others levels. (and surely when you shoot at him)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really difficult to understand without instructions, had to go back here and re-read your description, but after that it all made sense. And I was able to enjoy it.
It get's really easy when you just try to re-roll the same weapon until it just gets incredibly strong. (The automatic weapons are still the most powerful). I would suggest making the weapon timer shorter, because it's really punishing having a really weak weapon for 20 seconds.
Eventually I was able to beat it.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:51am

Solid top down shooter! The sounds are a little bit annoying and need to be tuned, but that is a minor complaint given the amount of time. Other than that: Well done!

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Awesome graphics! I can't dig why I've fight against the flys but anyway it was fun!

overallcyber says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:31am

The weapons were a bit weird and the combat mechanics were hard to understand, but over all a pretty decent piece of work.

nuno says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:28pm

the weapons are a bit confusing. greetings from another löver ;)

rmc says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Interesting! The boss came to soon, when you are getting the hand of the game, it appears, and then the whole dynamic changes!

Would delay the boss just a little bit!

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great job! I really enjoyed this entry! Also, included this game in my random LD31 gameplay video :D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_gJeG5cgM

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Nice game. I saw the theme to fit very well. It was a lot of fun to play! A little loud maybe. Some of the weapons felt too weak (shotgon).
Great game overall =)

Appocket says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I think u should work on your weapon balance.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]