Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

No More Boxes

by Tuism - Compo Entry

(NB: The source is here, I just bumped it off to put in a link to gameplay video: http://twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/NoMoreBoxes.zip)

(LINUX VERSION HERE: http://twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/NoMoreBoxes_Linux.zip)

---------------------------------------

In a world... Where conservation of everything is the most important ever... Nothing can be created... And nothing may be taken away (lest we end up with nothing to take away from).

Six masters of Boxing duke it out for glory! And points!

4 players (sorry no AI)

P1 controls: AWD to move and jump, F to attack.
P2 controls: arrow keys to move and jump, Enter to attack.
P3 + P4: Mapped to Xbox360 controllers, plug and play!

Each character has one attack. The 6th is also a Sucker. Didn't have enough time to sort out the 6th.

This is my second Ludlum Dare, I missed the previous one and was so sad. Good to be back guys! :D

I wrote a bit of a post-mortem for No More Boxes in which I talk about some stuff I've learned through Ludum Daring about maximising your Jam :)

http://twoplusgames.com/no-more-boxes-ludum-dare-31-how-to-maximise-a-game-jam-restrictions-learnings-getting-players/


-------------POST-COMPO EDITION---------------

You can find the post-compo edition here:
http://www.twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/postcompo

Then the Post-compo MADNESS EDITION which binds all players' controls to P1 - for fun :)
http://www.twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/postcompo/madness

And my post-mortem write up on the post-compo updates:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/17/no-more-boxes-post-compo-post-mortem/


-------------ORIGIN STORY-----------------

A lot of people said they hated the theme, that it's too generic, that it was not "imaginative"... I didn't think so at all! It really depends on how you "police yourself". You can be as open-ended as you want or as tightly clamped as you want. The point is it's really up to you!

So me, I took the restriction REALLY strictly - Entire Game One Screen meant that I could not instantiate anything into the game after it started. This had quite a few profound effects on game design:

>> No bullets. They weren't there before the game started, they can't be there after.
>> No "secrets out of a treasure chest" surprise. Same as above.
>> No destroying anything - well this wasn't strictly in the rules, but if I took anything away from the game, it would empty out the game as it went on. And since I can't make stuff, taking stuff away would be detrimental. I played with the idea of the subtraction being part of the play, but decided against it.

And so my whole game is designed around everything being there all the time! It is a versus arena game, and instead of guns and bullets, there are boxes, and six characters with different abilities. Each time a player died they randomly come back as another character. When boxes fall off the bottom they wrap like Bubble Bobble. Nothing is destroyed. Players are one-hit killed by flying boxes in any direction.

These are the six characters that I'm working on:

Tosser - picks up boxes and tosses them.
Punch - punches boxes into opponents and even out of the air
Stompy - Kills by stomping - has a fast-fall stomp attack, could also affect boxes.
Porter - randomly teleports a box from elsewhere on the screen in front of him, tele-fragging them if they're caught by it.
Amy - she throws boxes at an arc instead of a straight line. Possibly needs tweaking. (Amy because "aim"... Yeah I love terrible puns) (She didn't make it due to time...)
Sucker - pulls a box towards him to surprise opponents from behind.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Fun3.85
#73Overall3.82
#123Theme4.06
#147Graphics3.84
#148Humor3.26
#263Innovation3.56
#371Mood3.14

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34am

Well it is a very polished game! I like your limitations and how you use them to make a good game. Your game has an interesting concept and nice pixely graphics, great job! :D

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35am

Amazing game! Unfortunately I have noone to play it with right now but I can imagine this being great fun against some friends.

Reyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25am

Nice. Cannot think of anything conceptual I would change.

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Very polished and fun. I'll be sure to try it out with friends later. Great job.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:50pm

great graphics, and should be awesome PvP! ;]

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Nice and smart approach for a nice and fun game !
I loved it (despite testing it alone, I can feel how great it could be with two players) !
I had a little bug, where my "playable" characters "spawn" in the base (grey block at top), so I could'nt move or do anything else. It occured after I scored 9 points so I have been able to test enough to put a lot of stars :)

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Nice game, very simple gameplay, good arena! =)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I like the random character :D. Do an IA ! :D

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Heyyyyy thanks everyone! :D I really wish everyone can get to some 4 player testing!! I'll try to get that going too to see how it actually plays :)

@okkolobr thanks for the bug report! It has happened to me too but argh it's hard to fix, I'll have to think on that. Sometimes non-players also all out, but doesn't happen often.

Thanks again! :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

@Tipyx what do you mean by IA? You mean IAP In App Purchase? XD

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Pretty cool pixelated graphics

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice "boxing" mechanics. Good graphics and sounds. Great job!

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This is a great game! Though, I don't think the music really fits or is it just me that the music is too loud?

Anyway, this is well polished and if played with two(I got another with me), this will be fun!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Loving this. Too sad I currently have no one to test it with. While AI is too hard, I'd like to see a single player mode with some simple monsters and rain of boxes from the sky. Like in tetris: lowest line disappears, but then starts falling onto you. Make it into full-blown game. I'm really into small arena brawlers nowadays.

You nailed the theme! At first I did not understand that everything was constantly in the room. Great thinking.

A little buggy though. I had tosser stuck in his cell and some boxes to pass through walls.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Yeah to be honest the Music was from the free jam assets from Robert del Naja of Massive Attack. All his tracks were dark and aggressive, but I really liked them so I just... picked the one that seemed to fit the most. But I agree it was a poor fit. I basically opted out of the audio criteria, that was all very last minute :P

@Phoenix849 cool ideas :) I would perhaps add a single player mode or AI if I took this further! Funny you should mention tetris, because a long time ago I made a game called Bear Chuck which was basically blocks, platforms and match-em-up. It was too difficult to play so I learned my lesson from that and made this really straight forward!

Arena brawlers are awesome fun! Samurai Gunn, Towerfall, that Duck game, they're so much fun! I'm learning to make them so this was a good learning game :)

Yeah there're some bugs, I'll iron them out in post-jam version!

THANKS!!!! :D

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

Really charming pixel animation! I like how each character has a unique method of attacking. Punching boxes is so fun!

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Totally digging the polished graphics :D Really fun to play!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I can play the game as I have no one to play with :(.
I will still rate the game in few categories based on some of my initial impressions. Looks good though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Fun game, and really enjoyed the different player mechanics. Well done. :)

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

I like your restrictions, you took it seriously, and you did a great game !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44am

Interesting concept and interpretation of the theme! really well made, its a shame that I had no one to play it with though :(. I would like to see this further developed ! with ai including it would be awesome! Great entry!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Nice physics! Awesome mix of "true" physics and the boxes ending up in a grid layout. :) Different character classes along with the solid gameplay mechanics make this a really great game!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Looks very promising, sadly I had nobody to play it with :(

The dying sound can become quite annoying though.
Also no button on my gamepads would trigger any action, I was only able to move with them. (on the Web version)

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40pm

@klianc09, I agree, the sounds are sub-par... They're just me foleying in the last hour or two and I'm no sound artist... That's why I opted out of the sound category XD

Which controllers are you using? The game is set up to work with xBox360 controllers because they seemed to be the most popular ones, and I'm not really sure how to set up for multiple controller sets with the web version :/ The standalone should be able to be configurable, but even then I hadn't tested that yet.

Thanks for giving it a shot! :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I really need to test your game with other players but it looks like it would be a lot of fun with friends to play :) the jump feels good and it's cool that they all have different attacks.

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

awesome game! very polished and fun

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Wow pretty neat! 6 different characters and all based entirely on their interaction with boxes. Love it! I wish I'd have someone to play it with me, but I see the potential in it so I'm going to rate it quite highly even after my 2-handed 1-vs-1 fight haha.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Absolutely amazing game! Very polished already. My only suggestion it maybe tone-down the character grunts a bit or vary them up a little more.

Also I got stuck in a grey box at the top right at the beginning sometimes.

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

@Trite Games thanks! :D Great of you to notice the jump! It took a lot of tuning, I'm mostly still using Unity physics despite everyone and their dogs recommending otherwise. But because I'm using physics as an arena I can't really roll my own platforming. But it still needs a lot of refinement!

@Gins thanks for your tenacity going as far as to dual-wield! :D

@Lynx yeah the sounds aren't superb :P I do need to make new ones. In the future! The stuck in the box bug should have been fixed, but I'm sure I didn't get every use case. Will look into it - do you mean stuck in the grey box as in your starting area? Or the top right extreme corner?

Thanks everyone! :D

dunin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:22am

I like the use of the theme, very clever.
Nice looking even if the "no move" animation is too quick (they tremble...).
I will play it with friends this game maybe be totally awesome or a total disorder (or both)....

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:55am

I like your use of the theme. It was very well thought-out. Good job with the game!

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I really like this game it's awesome :D

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:31pm

What a great set of mechanics around the crates. It's tough doing a multiplayer game for LD since most people are playing alone, but I can see there is something pretty cool here.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Can't test it in multiplayer. But each gameplay / by character is a very good idea. Congats!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:29am

Outstanding! Great art and so much fun! Would be fantastic with networked multiplayer. Good goin!

BroCade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:14am

"I took the restriction REALLY strictly - Entire Game One Screen meant that I could not instantiate anything into the game after it started." This is the kind of thinking that results in great entries like this one, also everything you work on is gorgeous, this is no exception!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very polished and fun!have to ply it with some friends.God job.Cool music too!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Super solid game all around. I liked how each character was unique. Graphics and audio was great.

Elendow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I really like it, with more stages this can be a very fun multiplayer game.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Very nice work! Loved the graphics and gameplay. Audio is fitting, though the death sounds are a little loud! I experienced a bug where two people were player 2 though, like when I killed the inactive clone, p2 became someone else and left their (still alive) last player on the battlefield. Would have been really cool with online multiplayer - I've noticed multiplayer is sort of a trend this time around but less than half touch multiplayer.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:03pm

**less than half touch ONLINE multiplayer, sorry

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:24pm

RAD game! Slightly wonky movement but super funny! Also, your music stops playing after a few minutes..

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice little game, I like the dynamic environment and the multiplayer aspects. I kept getting stuck on the boxes though which made it pretty hard to play sometimes.

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Hey everyone!! Thanks so much for playing, and the bug reports! I am aware of some of them, though some not! So thanks again! :D It's kinda hard to figure out halfway physics, but I'll make it happen! :)

I'm not sure if I can fix the combo version... Will put up a post jam version soon to smooth out some of the issues!

Thanks all! :D

@RHY3756547 Multiplayer as a trend is still tough overall - if it's not easy to get people playing it'll be harder to get your game moving, but I personally LOVE multiplayer, my company's even called Twoplus after that fact :P

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Certainly innovative. It's rather good that the characters change what they do when they're killed, as it keeps you on your toes. It's a little bloody for a game that uses boxes as weapons, but I guess that's a canonical representation of death. Nice game.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great entry! Fun gameplay, and everything felt very polished (soundtrack, graphics, controls, the array of characters...)
Great work!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I played only with my second hand as a second player, but I see that it is a great and fun game, and I liked graphics style =)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:18am

Hi there. Like the look and feel, nice mellow yet funky soundtrack... Like the attack animation and constant fall. Good job!

gre says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nice polished game.
Incredible effort made on the different player mechanism and gameplay. great concept.
I wish I had 3 friends to play with, that definitely sounds fun. I like multiplayer games playing on one screen. Match the theme quite well.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Pretty fun and addictive multiplayer game. I really liked the variety between each character class. Gamepad support seems to be incomplete though (on the Windows version I had to manually set the jump and attack buttons myself).

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:11am

Gamepad support is a tricky one, each gamepad has their own button mappings, the only one that's consistent is left and right :/ The gamepad that the game is preconfigured for is the Xbox 360 one, and even then - I realised later that on OS X and Windows they're different yet -_-

Soon the moral of the story - gotta write a in-game controller definer thing to stick into your games in future.

Thanks for playing!!! Awesome! :D

Over the weekend I played an updated version of the game with some other people at parties, it went down quite well, there were these kids of like 7 or something. They were SO HAPPY about it. But then I realised maybe the pixel blood was a bit much :P

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:09am

Brilliant

admix says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I like it: lively and fun! =)

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:06pm

This is a great comp entry, i love the idea (was always very fond of the 'many players one computer' games).
Was only playing it alone, i found it quite difficult to kill the second player, but this is definitely worth extending, well done!

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Thanks @Larzan! What do you mean by the second player? The 2nd character from the left, Stompy? Or did you mean it was quite difficult to kill an opponent at all?

I just put up a post-compo version, maybe that addresses the problem (I did a little bit of balancing with Stompy)

http://www.twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/postcompo

Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:18pm

i think it would be perfect for the OUYA or ps.tv

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Since I'm basically a hermit I couldn't really try this game to its fullest extent. But it seems to be quite well-executed and satisfying to play. I love the graphical presentation, you can't go wrong with chunky diagonal text.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Awesome, I love the variety of characters and their different actions. AI would be nice, but with a game jam that's very hard (so no worries there). Otherwise I think a win condition would be good, that way the game doesn't just last until the players decide it's done.

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Ooooh oooh ooh yes, a win con is exactly the first thing I added after the 48 was done, I didn't think it would be so quick to add... So that's lesson learnt, and will be the FIRST think I'll add to future jam games!

It's in the post-compo version here, if you'd like a look:
http://www.twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/postcompo/madness

Thanks :D

Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:51pm

This is so cool! With a win condition, I'd buy this for my brother's Ouya in a heartbeat! It has the potential for such intense fights, which is helped a lot by the ability loop through the screen, the varied abilities of the characters and the fast paced switching to a new character when you die. Really cool, so well done!

PS: I managed to build a tower of all 4 characters in the MADNESS EDITION (which, by the way, is probably the most fitting name I've seen so far in LD31)

igoramendola says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:15am

Cool! It has nice graphics and audios. Also I liked the constant changing of characters, each one with its own characteristic.
Unfortunately, I don't have somebody to play with now, but I played the compo version a few minutes alone hehehe. It's a nice entry and very well done ^^

* the post-compo version is definitely MADNESS xD

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:04am

This was a pretty cool idea. Unfortunately, we ran into a variety of bugs:

-When playing in Chrome, when you walk into boxes from the left side, you get stuck. Forever.

-When playing in the downloaded version, Player 1's controls work, but Player 2's just.. don't. He is immobile.

-The punch sound effect is on a weird delay.

-Joysticks are very flaky, at best.

This really was a great concept, killed by bugs. I hope you get it polished up, because then it'd be heaps of fun!

Tuism says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:47am

Thanks for your input @SuperDisk! The post-compo version should have most of those ironed out -

http://www.twoplusgames.com/nomoreboxes/postcompo

- I've run into the one side stuck bug before, I think I gotten that out though. Will look more into it!

- The download version allows you to set your own controls, I'm not sure how the defaults may be messed up :/

- Punch sound fixed! :)

- I hadn't had problems with joystick controls, did you mean that the mapping was bad? They're set to xBox 360 defaults, it's not really anything that can be fixed without lots of code to implement in-game control setting.

Thanks for playing and noticing the small things!! You're awesome! :D

MaesK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice game! I can't test the multiplayer right now, but I like the game mechanic and characters :D Specially the tosser, is great for accidental suicide... D'oh

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Four gamepads plugged, four characters come down, nothing does anything. No one moves whatever we press. Tried the windows version and web version, both the same.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

It looks really fun to play with 4 people, you have a lot of cool particles, but i would add some more, like for jumping, box collision, this kind of stuff.

Sometimes I got stuck by jumping near a "wall" of boxes D=

The music is odd, it not fits in the game speed

Btw, thanks for your feedback :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

@Rodaja which controllers did you play with? The controls are set up unfortunately for 2 keyboard and 2 controllers, and mapped to xbox 360 controls... on mac. I have no idea how to easily set up flexible controller support in Unity, so it's damn particular. The desktop build would have let you set up controls yourself.

Thanks for giving it a look!

@Kuupu great suggestions! More effects for jumping and box collisions etc is a great idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]