Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Test Chamber

by 43iscoding - Compo Entry

TEST CHAMBER

____________

You are trapped in the test chamber.

____________

* Arrows or WSAD to move
* Space to jump
* E - pick up/release item
* R - throw item

____________

Currently, there are some bugs considering items falling through the walls/floor and sloppy holding of the items. I'll try to deal with that stuff tonight!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#576Innovation3.10
#808Mood2.64
#816Graphics2.69
#851Theme3.36
#860Overall2.90
#958Fun2.59
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

That was Interesting way to ramp up the game. Controls are a little bit frustrating though. Hard to keep ahold of items. Love the pixel scientist!

icedvariables says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07am

Cool game, it's like Portal... without the portals

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10am

I'm not sure what to do, but I liked the idea of the test chamber

moldfire says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

Not bad, tough towards the beginning one of the spheres glitched out of the wall and I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do after it said I was on my own, I had lit up the panels on the wall but nothing happened.

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30am

moldfire, yeah, that "glitch through the wall" thing is mean =/ I'll try to fix that tonight. Did u lit up all the 3 panels?

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31am

anael, as the tutorial says, you should press the buttons with corresponding shapes

Silii says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02am

Oh oh oh, nice. :) #TryToEscapeFirst :D
Thanks for your com too, see ya in Ld32 ;)

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06am

Not bad, but the controls make it a bit frustrating.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15am

You know those toys for toddlers where you have to fit blocks of different shapes into corresponding holes? This is like that, but for MEN. Also women. And anyone else who likes physics-based challenges.

I like the pixel guy and the overall clean look. I also appreciate how cluttered things get at the end, you don't see chaos like that too often :D

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:18am

oh_andrej, yeah, at first I wanted to do exactly that puzzle. But then I got it a bit simplified ^^

Sadly, I didn't have enough time to draw the lab and main character properly =(

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Wow that gets hard quickly!! :D

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Very interesting. Wish there was a way to rotate an object that you carry around your body. At some point I gave up, because I couldn't move stuff out of the way. But fun nevertheless! :D

Marcellus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I liked the mess this perv scientist puts in your room after a few levels.
But I don't really enjoy tidying games , it reminds me too much of my own room.

shanageek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice settings but controls and throwing objects was a bit irritating. However, its still a cool game

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Very Portal-esque, I liked that. But it's to hard to place the items correctly, and the room is very crowded with crap.

Well done overall.

NuSan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I like the idea, good job. Control make some levels very hard though.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:33am

verry coll xD

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Interesting idea! I found it a bit annoying that my grip of the items disappeared as soon as I gained height; made my plan of creating staircases etc. impossible.

Riocide says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:28pm

needs a bit more ambience but cool idea!

jpmit says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice game!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]