Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Android Attack

by callum.thepro - Jam Entry

Android Attack is a 2D Tower Defense game created during Ludum Dare 31. In this game, you have 5 different towers, your objective is to use a mixture of these towers to eliminate the invading androids. If your health falls to 0, you lose, simple.

Please read the readme.txt file in the rar file to understand some of the additional controls and concepts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Theme(Jam)3.94
#802Graphics(Jam)2.59
#814Fun(Jam)2.63
#856Overall(Jam)2.76
#984Innovation(Jam)1.88
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

Awesome ! A bit too easy, though.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736

nice check us out

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I think it would be better if you make it harder. Also I loke this game

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I generally suck at tower defenses but I could manage this one. That I found very nice. The graphics were nice and it was all rather intuitive.

Some thoughts:

The green color for the cost was really hard to read. It would also have been really nice if one got a visual feedback on the icons for which one affords. Also, if I'm not mistaken they don't come in cost order, which was a bit confusing.

It would have been great with some feedback on the health of the base.

When I got to install the most costly defense the enemies died by one shot which made me wonder what happened as I didn't get to see that I hit them. Of course, adding some shooting animations for all defense systems would help, but also adding an explosion on all killed enemies would have been great.

Also, when I got to that stage of protection the game sort of played itself, which is to say that the later waves need to have harder enemies to keep the game interesting.

But it is a great start and hope you are happy with your game.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I left the game play itself up to wave 120 something and if you get more than 99 waves the wave number falls outside the screen. Also if you put the deadliest guns along the upper left edge you never get to see the enemies...so maybe a safe zone for enemies and right adjusted wave number text...

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Pretty fun game! I have the feeling the towers are not very balanced (once you can frequently purchase the 2000 towers the game gets easy). However the game itself is solid, didn't spot any bugs, and the gameplay and graphics are clear. Good job and keep it up!

Dwizzed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Fun game! Loving the play and feel of it! Keep the games coming!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Aaaaaand it froze: http://imgur.com/4hKznVS Is that intended behaviour? :p

Smiley says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Got this exception on Mac (using java 7.. java 8 says nothing just a white screen)

https://gist.github.com/nicklaslof/e4b9b359c90e36e8962b

magnontobi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Couldn't understand the controls unfortunately... For instance, how do you move the towers? I tried clicking and dragging from the icon. Tired clicking on the tower after clicking on the icon and dragging and a few other things. An explanation wasn't really provided in the readme file either, as far as I could see.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I need informations about the towers and general more stats.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]