Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Natquik

by shadow64 - Jam Entry

Natquik is a game about a drifter on his way to visit his lover. Along the way he must make decisions about the things that he encounters and the path he will take. There are choices to be made and some of them can be life or death. It's all up to this man...this snow(?) man(?)...

Note: Due to LD craziness, I was unable to get more than some real bare bones functionality in. I wrote the theme song and I got a fair amount of artwork/animation and UI done, but the game is just not in there yet. Orangebrook is where it ends. There are no choices in. I know it's not a lot, but I just wanted to post SOMETHING this time. Please enjoy what's available and know that I will definitely be posting a post-compo version. Thank you!

Addtional Note: Please comment below if you play through. It's very short, but I'd love to hear your thoughts and I'd love to play your entries as well! Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#157Mood(Jam)3.60
#246Audio(Jam)3.33
#357Graphics(Jam)3.58
#572Innovation(Jam)2.93
#852Theme(Jam)3.07
#942Overall(Jam)2.57

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54pm

it's visually stunning, well done. I'll wait for the finished version.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Not much gameplay, but liked the general mood, audio and graphics!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:17am

Good mood and style, a bit tough to read the font, though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:13am

My only complaint is the choice of font. A bit hard to read. Otherwise, a great game!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:10am

Wow. Thanks for all of the responses so far, everyone! You're very kind! I'll try to get to everyone's games for ratings and comments soon. As for the font, I'll see if I can find a way to make it more legible and if not, I'll see if I can't change it. I might keep it the same for the title and change it for the letters. Thanks for the constructive feedback and thank you for playing! :)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Reminds me of The Oregon Trail :) Wonderful graphics and audio

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:31pm

A nice start here, reminds me of organs trail, Graphics are nice, love the music too, just wish there was more to play. Glad to here you are still working on it ^^

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:12pm

interesting and refreshing change to all the ld games out there, too bad you couldn't make it have some gameplay :)

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:15pm

yep, good mood, and yep, this can be start of a cool game like oregon trail (and more recently, out there...)

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Really nice game

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:31am

Couldn't make it past Natquik? But a really cool look and sound. Thanks!

rainshapes says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:20am

Didn't love the font you chose but liked the music. I also liked the visuals.

Thalia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:56am

Music is wonderful! Pretty style, fonts and art! We could work together with storyline, i like your way of gameplay and atmosphere building :)

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:44am

@shadow64, I get it now, and do not see why I didn't get it before... Must have been a Thursday... never could get the hang of Thursdays...

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really like the visuals and style, colour palette was great. As others have said, the font is a little hard to read.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very short, but I really liked how the player interact with the story. I understand the font is to give the impression of a letter, but it is hard to read. Good job.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:25am

"it's not a lot"
It's not indeed :D. I had the same issue with my game: way too short.

The music and sfx are nice, but that "static" sound is a bit too loud.
Gameplay-wise, I don't know if you intended it to be just a visual novel, or something more interractive, so it's a bit hard to have a clear idea of what this could lead to.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:01am

i understand the font but it's really hard to read

shadow64 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:07am

Hey everyone. Still trying to get through these things. And I appreciate all of the compliments! So! The run down is that during Ludum Dare, my hard drive freaked out on me and caused me to lose a day of work to trying to fix things.

Since then I've been working a bunch and using my free time to get myself back up and running. I think I've FINALLY done that (playing a few of your games in the meantime) but I also discovered that I lost the stems for the original Natquik theme - terrible, I know.

I've been trying to rebuild the song with varying degrees of success. Hopefully when I put it back out, it'll be close if not better.

As for the font, I believe I've found a suitable substitute (yay!) but I won't be uploading a post-jam version until there is substantially more gameplay. Otherwise it just feels a little pointless to me.

In short, thank you all for playing what is there and for your incredibly kind words. I'm working on giving you something extra, along with rating/commenting on your works. And hopefully there will be results sooner than later!

Thanks again!

gre says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:22pm

great concept. very innovative.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:07am

I have sympathy for people who had overly ambitious plans for their game, and things might have got in the way. That being said, I think you have the beginning of some strong elements here. The concept and visuals are really cool, and the post card aesthetic was a really clever idea. I especially like the water-color like animations for the dude in the middle walking. I found the music was somewhat at odds with the (potentially) hardcore survival elements that are indicated in the bottom left. All in all, it was a strong start, but obviously didn't get far enough to go anywhere. Can't wait to see the final product, and I hope you come back for the next LD with all the stuff you learned from working on this game!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]