Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sales Pitch

by kiririn51 - Jam Entry

Made in 10 hours ;_; so grammar is super spotty.

Have you ever stumbled your way through a presentation? Of course you have, and this game is made so you can relive that experience with these two lovely ladies who are suddendly doing a sales pitch with no idea about what's going on.

Press space bar to advance text and use your mouse to click on things.

You can zoom-in by pressing the number keys (from 1 to 5) or alt+enter to go full-screen.

Programming: @ironiclark
Graphics: @kiririn51

*Here is a mirror with a .zip file just in case!*

http://www.mediafire.com/download/ic1yf4ii4j4rans/Dude_wheres_my_pitch.zip

Made with Game Maker Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Humor(Jam)4.18
#44Graphics(Jam)4.46
#108Overall(Jam)3.78
#221Fun(Jam)3.43
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47am

Oh, Chrome is marking this as malicious for me. Did you know that?

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Yes, and I don't know why! try with the .zip download.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58am

I love the idea behind this! Who can't relate to the feeling of stumbling your way through a presentation?

The dialogue is funny, the graphics are clean (another reason why it's such a good idea; you did a great job making the most of your assets) and it's a very interesting game to play overall. If you go over the text and iron out the little typos, you'll have a very neat and perfect little game! Congratulations on getting it all done in only 10 hours.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19am

A lovely game, would like to see it further adapted. Its like all the speeches I've ever done, but gamified.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25am

What a charming little game ! I only wish it was longer.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02am

WOW. I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I was laughing the entire time and because it was so funny I had to go through all the combinations I could think of just to hear more. Very clever idea and brilliant execution for 10 hours' time. Bravo.

arzi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55am

Lovely art style, pretty fun dialog as well. Made me feel happy and relaxed, even though pitching events are a bit tense moments in real life. A bit short though.

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Super fun concept and somehow a totally relatable concept for probably everybody. Digging the graphics too, very Pokemon meats Phoenix Wright

Ovidios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

That's fantastic! Just found it and I really love it!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Lovely game. Nice graphics and great achievement in just 10 hours of development. Great work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This was quite pleasant and amusing, nice job!

Junuxx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:58am

Interesting approach on the theme, nice story and humor. A bit short and simple as a game, but charming and well done in such a short time!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:14am

It got me smiling, nice idea, love the art!

If I ever have a similar blank-out, now I know, what to do

And Spelunking Pugs - sorry, Spelunking Samurai Taco Pugs? How adorable would that be!

alfadur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:54am

It's cool how the same items are used for different purposes during all 3 stages. Very impressive for speed-gamedev!

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Good job for such a short time. Would have been cool to just control the game with my mouse instead of having to press spacebar though.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:37am

Ahhhh, I too had to go through everything! This game is really fresh and cute. My only complaint is that sometimes trying to get the mouse to highlight someone wouldn't really work. Otherwise... man, the speeches sounded like talks I've actually given before ._. I liked that pretty much every option turns out well, it really made the game feel light and fun.

Thank you for the game!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Fun idea and interesting concept of improvising a talk in a game. I wished you had more time for it! Why did you opted-out for the innovation category?

MonoS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I frigging love the art style, the idea is pretty interesting.
Certain endings are not great as other, for example i love the ending where they sell themselves as mascot and bring client thanks to they cuteness [the red haired one is the cutest].

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:46am

I may be biased, since I really liked pixel art, but this looks great! And you just used 8 effin' colors!! Awesome!!

I found the game really funny, with all those absurds situations.

Ult says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:58pm

awesome game!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very lovely pixel art~!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

This was interesting. I only made 3 tries but I think I could have do more with just some small screen animations. Face animations are not very long to produce and would add a lot to the mood and replayability of your game. I guess it was already difficult to produce all this content in just 10 hours, congratulations. You have great sense of storytelling and nice gfx, I hope you ll be able to work for 48h on the next LD :)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Love the graphics, funny game! I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0
Also, chrome makes most indie .exe's malicious... Stupid Chrome.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

This submission is amazing, Sukaban Games! The graphics are charming and the dialogue is delightfully witty. Your entry reminds me of Ace Attorney and I love it--the spotty grammar can definitely be forgiven!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]