Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

AVOID

by perfect victim - Compo Entry

first time compo

avoid the red enemy and try to make as much score with the rest,
to move use arrow keys (l&r)
or on a gamepad left stick or dpad
escape to end

the purpose of this game was to create and finish one in xna in a jam
and to try things out

programming the spaghetti was done in C# in visual studio 2013
sounds were made with Bfxr.
graphics were made in paint and visual studio 2013


sorry its an installer.
added the dependencies to the install folder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#731Humor2.25
#790Audio2.27
#829Innovation2.72
#877Theme3.33
#975Graphics2.44
#1055Overall2.63
#1075Mood2.10
#1112Fun2.26

Comments

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Nice idea, everything moves quite fast so it is difficult to get the hang of.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:14pm

i like the game in concept but struggled with knowing exactly what to do, I agree with @wevel, everything seemed a bit to fast so i didn't have enough time to actually plan what i was doing i just pressed keys till i died.

Its a nice concept though ^^

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Decent game, but you should probably use smooth movements instead of a discrete grid (or make the grid bigger). It was hard to tell how objects were moving, and mostly it just looked like they were randomly teleporting around.

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The randomly re-spawning makes this less of a game and more of pure change - hold left arrow and hope for the best. Maybe a bigger play board and some very simple AI would have been more fun?

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Cool idea, but it's hard to understand the movement of pts and enemies

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Yeah sorry the fact that the enemies move around seemingly randomly meant that there wasn't much of a challenge there.

Well done for getting it finished and released though! I think the main improvement needed to take this to the next level would be adding some predictable movement to the enemies

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22am

Cool concept, could do with them not moving around as much so that you have a split second to go after a particular one, if that makes sense?

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The game concept works, but I will echo other commenters in that the enemy movement made it impossible to really strategize. A good first attempt at the compo though, and I like the look of the board.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I liked the look and feel of the game. Very retro :D I even liked the speed it plays at. However the random movement can be a bit tedious at times. Adding an AI of some sort or even a pattern based movement for the enemy would have been sweet.

Good for a first time compo man!

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Ehh. Things move fast enough that it may as well be completely randomized each tick.

Wakka says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03am

Got 300 points :) Liked the game. Only thing I found confusing: Are the dots all moving randomly? Would be better if you could predict better where the dot's are going to.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

идея хорошая! было интересно

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Kind of a neat mood to the game, sort of vectory and minimalistic. I couldn't really figure out what I was meant to be doing though, since everything moves randomly and instantly its pretty hard to actually avoid stuff. Could be good with a bit more work though.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45am

Wasnt sure what I was doing, but I got a high score! I Included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bpNoFf0QyBM

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:12am

The concept was really cool but the game play seemed a bit random. I really wish I could have understood what was going on a little better so I could have moved with more purpose.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:29pm

The inability to plan enemy movement ahead of time made it difficult/impossible to plan my own movement. This was kind of frustrating and hampered an otherwise nice idea,

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:51am

Interesting.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Interesting concept, and smooth predictable movement of points will make it definitive better, so far I get 410 points =)

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Pretty cool concept. Great Job.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great job!!!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

ncie work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]