Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

GRIDMASTER 3000

by pixelguff - Compo Entry

In the future, war is fought in a small tiled room for some reason. You are under attack and must escape at all costs.

Avoid deadly walls and destroy your enemies to unlock your escape route.

My first successful LD entry! Delighted to have taken part.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Theme3.84
#539Graphics3.12
#546Overall3.20
#673Audio2.50
#717Fun2.92
#830Humor2.05
#898Innovation2.60
#935Mood2.48
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Very enjoyable. I love the art style. Music was great at first but after a few loops it got a bit grating. For some reason I think this would be hilariously fun with super slippery controls so you have to constantly be overcorrecting.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

For some reason, as soon as I press start, the game crashes and disappears from the screen. I am on Mac OSX and using Firefox.

misto423 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

Not sure why but it was loading really poorly for me in the web player. Got the title screen but when I hit space, I just got a black screen for a long while.

After it loaded though, it seemed to work correctly. Pretty good game, simple and fun. I agree that the music got a bit irritating after a bit though.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

A fun game. Controls a bit too twitchy for when you have to squeeze in, most of my deaths were to environment due to that, which left a bit to be desired - but good job!

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

I really like the idea. A great interpretation of the theme. Both levels and the background music get a bit repetitive after a while.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

When I seen the tiny screenshot, I thought it's my game. I had the same idea, even the in game tile type change, but in my game I had no time to implement the function. Glad to see you made it. :)

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really long loading time after pressing space for some reason. The tank movement was far too loud, and sometimes the enemies would get stuck on the exit block.

Apart from that though, it was a fun game, would be even better with 8 direction controls.

pixelguff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Thanks for the comments, everyone! I would have liked to have done more with the levels and the audio, but I simply ran out of time.

I'm just glad to have finally participated in an LD to the point of actually submitting something.

Thanks for playing!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:38pm

First Ludum Dare 31 game I've actually played through to the end :)

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:39am

space scrolls browser window down... so was hard to try and play (chrome)

colludium says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

Great fun - nice work. Quite addictive....!

Bloxri says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

Hitboxes a little to big. Sometimes the tank would get caught on the red block and not be able to actually move out of the spawn area at times. It seems at least once every level one tank got stuck in its own spawn area. The movement is a little off, every time you try turn the direct the character moves at least a pixel or few. This really didn't help with the red blocks. Futuristic tanks should be able to move the other direction or at least that way. I think real tanks apply to this rule as well. The music is really repetitive and no way to silence that I know off other than muting the entire window. If the red tanks chased you that would be more interesting. Good submission overall.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:11am

using chrome, screen turns black when I hit play

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:12am

Good game. Music was crazy annoying though, but hey. Music is hard to do/get in 48 hours!

The collision detection is a bit silly but for the most part alright. I died more times from hitting walls than the enemies, though.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:56am

Taking long time to load...
anyway.. nic one..

Ossi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very cool game! I like the art and the use of the theme was good. Using the same room and adjusting the enemies and obstacles was a nice touch. I liked the music, but the sound effects were really hard on the ears especially the tread sounds for your own tank. Good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very solid entry. The decision to add in the hitboxes was excellent - turned what could have been a frustrating game into a tough but fair, thoughtful one!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:41am

Hi there. Like the style. The shells are a bit small, some highlight would make them easier to see, maybe need to move shells a bit slower too - though that might just be for ppl with slow reactions like me... Good job getting everything in there and grats first LD!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Had a real hard time on the level you show on screenshot. Always hit a red square while trying to turn.
Otherwise, nice game with simple yet efficient concept.

Get a menu to start at chosen unlocked level for the post jam version ;)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

nice concept great work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]