Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Storage room

by besieger1 - Jam Entry

The Storage room, is all about surviving waves of robotic enemies in a storage room.

Story: You are a hard employee at some hotel and find yourself moving crates and boxes when you hear some sudden shooting and screaming, you drop the crate you where moving and a rifle falls out.

You scramble for some ammo found in the bottom of the crate and prepare yourself. What happens next is up to you...

Note: Sorry about the bad AI, I did my best...

Controls:
Move - WASD + Mouse
Shoot - Mouse button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Graphics(Jam)3.72
#578Audio(Jam)2.46
#739Overall(Jam)2.93
#793Humor(Jam)1.88
#806Fun(Jam)2.64
#809Mood(Jam)2.59
#834Theme(Jam)3.11
#932Innovation(Jam)2.20

Comments

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Awesome game! I love the art!

razieliyo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:10am

omg this is great!

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:17am

Cool art, are the boxes even killable?

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

Nice Job! I love the graphics though shooting the enemies is sometimes glitched.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

The game looks very nice and what you have here is very promising, but it feels a bit repetitive. While the use of theme was interesting, I feel like confining yourself worked against you more than it did for you. This is a really solid foundation though and I'd like to see where will you go with this.

ecoay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48am

would have been slightly better with hit point bars possibly or some indication that they are damaging you or you are damaging them. Maybe a flash animation?

Sim00n says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

I think this is one of those games where it has a ton of potential but the theme constrained it. If you were able to run around many rooms and basically scramble around the entire hotel to find resources it might be a lot of fun. I know this is obviously only 48 hours but it's a great beginning. Please keep working on it outside of the theme and maybe you'll end up developing a really cool game. Great job!

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36am

My gun didn't seem to hurt the robots at all.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

Nice voxel art!

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18am

This is 3D! It's cool!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

The robots are so tanking! Other than that, there was a very funny glitch where the player's legs will fall to the ground.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19am

Love the art, a bit buggy though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54am

This is cool but I couldn't kill any enemy, my bullets would just miss or have no effect. I love the art and concept though.

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice game; only after 4 attempts of play i finally could kill the enemies; The death animation of the enemies at first i thought was a glitch! The sound effects are good and the lack of music give a touch in the mood of the game.

besieger1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I have updated the game now guys, bullets now hit enemy's at close range, as well as some other improvements.

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Feels somehow repetetive!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I struggled to shoot the bad guys—if they were too close I'd just shoot through them, and other times they just wouldn't die. Nice concept though.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice voxels graphics ! The shotgun and rifle feels kinda weird to use.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I would say that gameplay lacks, but god I loved the art-style :D

jsmtux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I really like the models, but shooting did not work very well.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Neat. Repetitive, but cool.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Love the art. its a little easy and it should get harder as you progress. overall pretty good.

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Definitely nice art.

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice colors and graphics! I had a hard time figuring out the aim of the guns, they seemed a bit random and a lot of shots went into the floor for me. Would have liked more skill based shooting, or maybe it was just that I didn't understand the controls?

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Nice art style! Technically a single room game rather than single screen, but I'll let it slide ;) It seems the bullets hit floor too early.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

This game was rather interesting. The robots were rather sturdy, which made survival rather tricky.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

awesome simple graphics indeed :)

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really nice game. I love how you made a good atmosphere to the game with simple 3D. The game feels also really polished.
Great job! :D

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It's a good beginning, but it's a little bit limited and repetitive ...
I like the 3D graphics, and the game load quickly

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

I feel like I've already rated this! xD Oh well! Have another good rating my friend! I liked this game so much I'll play/rate it again xD

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice, I had trouble knowing if I was hitting enemy and if it was hitting me... Great Game!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

It is a nice game, would have been slightly better if there was more room to move around in.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Nice style. Too bad only one room.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:33am

love the blocky 3d graphics, gives the game a lot of character

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:48am

Great entry. Love the style of it. Would love to see some ui elements that are styled like the rest of the game. The enemies seem to have massive colliders. Also, the bullets seem to fire from behind my characters head instead of the muzzle. You are definitely headed in the right direction with this. Good fun!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I like the set up, nice graphical style
I'm not sure if it's my laptop or it's a bug, but I've stuck between boxes few times in a row and was not able to move
However, nice job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Hi there. Nice blocky visuals, nice lighting. Found it a bit hard even early on. Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I enjoyed the art style.
Could have done with more variations on the enemies.
Perhaps limit the bullets you have with having to collect ammo.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:30am

I could just stand at the back corner firing at the robots forever. I believe a little balancing is in order.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]