Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen

by shyupuff - Compo Entry

One Screen is a kind of adventure game. Control two characters to fulfill your goals, find remnants of stories buried underground and on your phone. Dig dig dig.

Instructions:
Arrow Keys to move and navigate
X to dig and progress dialogue
Esc to change between digital and reality

NOTICE: IF YOU GET STUCK CHECKING YOUR PHONE USE ARROW KEYS TO CHANGE HIGHLIGHT TO THE TV/MONITOR! :D

Made using:
Unity/MonoDevelop/C#
Photoshop
Garageband
Audacity
Lack of sleep

Follow me on twitter: @shyupuff
:D Hope you enjoy it! I couldn't really flesh it out as much as I wanted because I have a lot of work to do this weekend. Thank you so much! And criticism much appreciated. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#23Mood4.00
#225Audio3.27
#282Overall3.48
#327Innovation3.45
#335Humor2.84
#391Graphics3.35
#444Theme3.68
#855Fun2.76

Comments

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Well done! This is a very dark take on the theme. It works very well!

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

You did something interesting with the theme! Very nice and fun to play.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

I quite enjoyed your game! I loved the little stories about the objects you find. Nice adventure. I would have liked to see one of those stories go a bit deeper but yeah... 48h :)

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Nice one, but i struct then i should check my phone messages ;[
Cool graphics!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

nice game.
But i stuck with a phone. "Press X" and nothing happened

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Interestingly made, a very dark and dirty twist on the theme. Was neat to play and see what came up next.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

Got stuck checking phone messages :( Sad panda.

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

Short and interesting approach to the theme. It has a fun story and the game/reality switch is great.

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Nice take on the theme! I enjoyed it!

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01am

If anyone gets stuck on the phone part, you use your arrow keys to change between your phone and the monitor/tv (: (I also added a notice in the description) thanks everyone!

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

froze on the second thing i dug up (looked like half of a brown Missingno)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Finding new objects was great because you'd get little tidbits of story but it's a good thing you pointed out to press the arrow keys after doing the phone part, I was stuck re-reading the same message haha :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I love how you made your game a movie-like move around app! :3
I also get the theme in a way, at the end.
The music was really intriguing, like I can still feel/hear the beat in my head, and I really enjoyed your game! :D
It was short, but promising!

edve98 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Very dark theme, I love it!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00am

Clever use of the theme. Story can be told in more detail, but is good, but that's okay. Graphics are stylish in its minimalism. Nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Hi there. Nice strong message... Love the back/forth from disintegrating reality. Good job!

lase says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:55am

This game is pretty great. Clever & grim take on the theme. Wish it was longer, though.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:30am

This was reeeeally short but this was a really interesting take on the theme, and i loved the graphics!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:56am

I quite enjoyed playing this. good use of the theme.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

belstras says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Love this, music goes well with story. Interesting and bit sad.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I think I beat it? Really short, not really any decisions to make. Got stuck on the brown letter the first time through.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]