Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cat Care

by Packer - Compo Entry

Cat Care, a game based around the idea of being a crazy cat lady. There are no limits! YOU NEED MORE CATS! Nothing will stop your madness, MORE CATS! Your goal is to gain more meows, even if that means jamming more cats in.

Game is mouse driven, try clicking all the things!
Z and X are basic zoom controls (The camera is locked)

-----
Made in Torque 3D, I didn't change the source code of the engine however that is available through MIT license over at https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D All the scripts are not complied so just open them up with a good old text editor.
-----

I may add to the game before the times up or after, I feel like I could do more but I'm all out of brain juice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Humor4.31
#51Fun3.83
#93Mood3.63
#101Graphics3.97
#110Audio3.52
#153Overall3.67
#385Theme3.73
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:09pm

CATS!!!!!!!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15am

I like this game, because it's like cookie clicker, but where you get to be lazy and watch cats meow at you.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow

psyduckfreak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

nice no black cats though

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

This is strangely addicting.

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

I wasn't sure of what to expect, but the game was simple yet addictive (couldn't stop playing until I got everything). Good idea and a fun way to view the theme!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Psh, more like "Totally Realistic Cat Owning Simulator 2015"

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Cute game, my cat was going nuts!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06pm

We need to take good care of the building blocks of the Internet. Thank you for this educational game :)

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice work !

ishimilated says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

This made me so happy.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Well, that was unexpected! XD Made me laugh, so good job on that!

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it, it was one of our favorites

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

The best cat hoarding simulator.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Meow? Meow meow meow!! Meow :)

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:28am

Ahaha, meow meow

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:19am

Purrfect! It's so cute that I'm still smile. C:
While I was playing, I remembered the track, which is very suitable to this game:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMs-ibV4mkw

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Apparently crazy cat ladies have only Windows

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:33pm

MEOW!!!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:19am

getout of my head! I think I will hear meows in my dream :P
this is a funny game, I think you should have focused on the hilarious stuff instead of focusing on the idle stuff.

idle games are only good, if you can run them in the back and get back to them later.

personally I wish I had the ability to torture kitties :P and to throw ketchup at them
good job.

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07pm

11/10, got to own over a thousand cats.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:57pm

That was the funniest LD game I've played so far. Oh my gosh those cats playing basketball was so funny! XD

I'm surprised my computer could handle so many meows! :P

Shivur says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

The more you have cats the more it become hilarious.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]