Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

birdsong

by Managore - Compo Entry

It's finally time to leave the nest.

The whole wide world sprawls out before you (conveniently squeezed into just one screen), waiting to be explored. Can you learn to fly?

////// CONTROLS //////

Keyboard:

> A / D or Left / Right — Move
> W or Up or Space — Jump
> R — Retry (suicide)
> Enter — Make Nest
> Esc — Exit (progress lost)
> Alt + Enter — Toggle Fullscreen
> M — Mute
> Backspace — Refresh Screen

XBox Controller:

> Left Stick or D-pad — Move
> A or D-pad — Jump
> Y — Retry (suicide)
> B or Start — Make Nest

////// HELP //////

Please note that:

> Unfortunately, the compo build doesn't save if you exit the game. The post-compo build does save, and if you want to completely reset the game, press and hold L+D for three seconds until the game exits.
> The game is quite demanding and might run slowly on older PCs. Closing other programs may help slightly.
> If the screen goes white (for example, after alt-tabbing) try pressing Backspace to refresh the screen. This shouldn't happen but the solution is there in case anyone needs it.
> If you get "FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation", please go here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=35

If you're having trouble:

> Each stick you collect lets you build a nest (at shrines marked with an 'S'). When you die, you restart at the most recently visited nest (marked with a tick). Some areas are very hard to beat without having nests to act as checkpoints, so collect sticks when you can reach them.
> There are five upgrades to find which improve your jump height or give you special abilities.
> Throughout the world are seven gems. What happens if you collect all of them?
> If you're stuck, here is a map: http://imgur.com/5HVKRRC.png

////// ABOUT //////

This is my fourth Ludum Dare entry and, wow, this one was a struggle to complete on time! I've always loved Metroidvania style games but I've never managed to finish making one before. The game was made using Gamemaker:Studio, jfxr and FL Studio. The game uses just four colors, part of the CNES-88 64 color palette by Arne.

I hope you enjoy the game and I'd love to hear what you think!

By Daniel Linssen (@managore)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.59
Theme4.80
Coolness91%
#4Fun4.27
#9Graphics4.55
#13Mood4.32
#16Innovation4.37
#34Audio3.94

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

You blew my mind once again managore. Good job!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14am

Mind blowing. I dont even know hoe that shader is possible.

Volute says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Very impressive!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

This game is legendary, and I love it a lot! :D

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Just got the source, and oh my gosh this was made in GM:S!
Lovely work! I absolutely love the way you made this game :D

Maybe we should do a collab one day? :)

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

I once got attacked for by a bird as I was riding my push bike to the local shops to grab some milk for mum. The little prick cut up my face pretty badly but the shop lady ms.wong put a band aid on it and told me to get my mum to rinse my hair out with lice shampoo. I didn't get any lice playing your game.

A really really impressive job. Well Done!

koujaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

This is amazing =D

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12am

Nice as usual. Glad I can find out how you did the fish-eye effect.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41am

Another Ludum Dare another clever take on the theme, loved it and impressed on what you were able to achieve in the time. Haven't completed it yet but definitely putting away sometime later to play it all the way through.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Cool idea, it would have been nice if the screen fx impacted gameplay somehow, but it's quite good the way it is. Good job !

fullmontis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This is lovely, and super addicting. I wish there was the chance of saving the game, now I have 5 gems and want to take a break but can't! It's quite an impressive feat for just 48 hours, you are amazing!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Ok, I finished it. This is by far the best entry I've ever played in a LD, jam included. The amount of content and polish is incredible.

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41pm

The effect got me a little bit nautious after playing for 30+ minutes. But it was a great experience. Unfortunately I'm too bad to beat the game.

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

really fantastic

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

This is just perfect. I loved both the visuals and the audio. Both create such an awesome mood and the use of the theme is just awesome!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Really impressive darn good game!!
A top entry for sure! I love the way you implemented all the game in a single screen. This trick deserves an special award! :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Wow. Like always, a huge hit. I like what you did with the "floor". I made it all the way to the end :-)

But is there a way to get the stick below the level before one learned to fly?

I actually thought of something similar at first, but I thought, eh, that'll look like crap. You proved me wrong. Good for you. Bad for me ;-)

Also I wouldn't have made such a winner out of it. Full Score!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

This is insane.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Fantastic game, though I couldn't finish it because I got nauseous after 15 minutes of playing.

duon44 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Amazing! Although I got really frustrated at one point and quit

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Once again, you've made a really good game that impressed me to no end. Keep doing what you're doing!

Getting the wings was so satisfying! And the audio was a really nice touch!

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Excellent entry! Very fun metroidvania platformer with no bugs or flaws that I could see. Very interesting graphics and effect. Bravo!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Game doesnt start for me. I get some goofy game maker error.

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

alvarop, oranebeast, Volute, ENDESGA: Thank you all so much!

Groydis: T-thanks. Luckily I removed the lice feature at the last moment.

koujaku: Thank you!

DrHahn: I might write up a short explanation of the shader, since I'm really happy with it and also since it's relatively straightforward.

Franklin's Ghost: Thanks!

Alexandre Szybiak: The maze is intended to be easier to solve while you're not in it, but you're right, and I would have liked to have more features that relied on the effect. I had plans to include enemies that shot bullets at you from far away, but I didn't end up with enough time to add those in, and actually I'm not sure how well they would have worked.

fullmontis: Glad you finished it. I might work on a post-compo version with a save feature.

Joris: Unfortunately I don't think I could avoid that, but thanks for sticking with it for half an hour.

elliottd, Steven Colling, naufr4g0: Thank you all!

rnlf: The "floor" thing happened by accident, but I loved the effect and had to leave it in. There's definitely no way to get the stick underneath the world until you get your wings, it's there to let you build the final nest at "the end". I would have really liked to see your implementation of this idea! It's always so cool to see how other people make use of the same concept.

Jupitron: Thanks!

eruditespirit: I'm really sorry to hear that. The only thing I can think of is to take a break every ten or so minutes, but I know that isn't a great solution.

duon44: Yeah the game gets pretty damn challenging, thanks for checking it out!

andrewkennedy: Thank you, glad you finished it.

Quikding: Thanks!

rabbit: Oh bummer. What's the error? It might be that you need Direct X 9.0c, which you can get here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34429 If that's not it, I'll see if I can add a fix in.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

This was an amazing entry, you really nailed it. A few minor things though.
- The screen distortion effect made it really hard to judge distances.
- The collision detection felt a bit off at points, possibly due to the screen distortion making it hard to judge distances.
- In some cases with obstacles requiring precise movement, I felt like I was moving too fast, with no way to be more precise in my movement.

Again, minor things. This was an outstanding game, and it's incredible that you pulled all of this off in just two days.

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

This game captures the metroidvania feeling really well despite such a minimal set of items... nice job!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54am

Holy hell, I did not expect a game from Ludum Dare to suck this much time out of me. I adore the visual style and the audio is satisfying in most cases. The level design is amazing; it's been a long time since I've seen areas be re-used like they are in Birdsong. You have taken the time to make use of almost all of the available space; my mind was momentarily blown when I figured out you can walk along the bottom of the screen. Some of the platforming is infuriatingly hard, but it wouldn't be just for the game to be a pushover, no? Solid game through and through.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03am

Pretty much an instant classic. One of those pure gems that just needs to be shared with everyone I know. Fantastic job putting this together!

dirigible says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Just got to The End - some of those wall jumps were *hard*. I'm really impressed, man, this is a great little metroidvania. And in only a single weekend? Incredible. You're my hero.

MAVW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

jesus Daniel.... this is amazing!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

God...DAMN. There's your winner right there. 5 seconds in and I knew this was something else. All my 5s, take it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

Fantastic job! The game play is solid and I like your take on the theme. Clever use of graphical tricks to incorporate the theme in a novel way.

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

That shit started to bend and then wtf cool

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

5 Star Innovation, 5 Star Graphics. Awesome job! I LOVE the fisheye effect, very very original. I loved the graphics too. Awesome job! I can totally see this in the top 50!

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25am

lmao what even is this game

best game i ever played, thats what

seriously though daniel get outta here

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

I tried playing this, but it exited immediately without displaying an error message. The screen went black, and I heard a few seconds of music, and then I got kicked back to Windows.

I don't know if this error is the same one rabbit got, but I did install the DirectX component you linked to and that didn't fix the problem.

I was really hoping to play this! I'll check back again to see if there's a fix.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

Oh my god such a brilliant take on the theme!

Krisjet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24am

Wow. That last trial. Mind blown! Just the idea of a Metroidvania with the map already revealed and on screen at all times is genius.
The only criticism I can think of is that some people might be put off by the difficulty, but that is clearly their own problem. Wouldn't be surprised to see you win this one as well :D

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Fantastic!!! Some closely attached obstacles are maybe a little too hard for a keyboard but it was a great experience with a wonderful load of everything: graphics, gameplay, concept. I bow to that. Sadly my old computer started swearing at me after a while, but I hope you'll implement saves in the future so I can try to tackle it again in short bursts :)
- Daniele

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Awesome! At last an exploration game where you can stop being afraid of getting lost (and still get lost). :D

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

As far the best LD31 game.
I didn't finished it because i don't like so much platformer.

I frigging love the overlay effect and the level desing.

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

sick! brilliant idea!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

O_O How can you be so cruel and enter such an amazing game!! Damn, this is exactly what we all secretly hoped to come up with. Such a brilliant interpretation and realization :)

dcolgan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

This is he epitome of good theme use. Awesome job, full stars!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very impressive indeed.
It's a shame I'm not a fan of platformers but it managed to hold my attention for longer than expected.

What makes this so good is the level of polish and attention to detail.

Excellent.
Thank you.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52pm

God fucking damnit man. This is cheeky as shit. I was saying on stream, "There will be one person who takes the theme and does something fucking genius with it, and we'll all be like 'Why didn't we think of that?' ".

I really wish I'd thought of this, this is just fucking.. genius.. groaaar. God damnit.

Just too good, literally grinning my face off just at the thought that you've done this.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

First thing we did after submitting our game was to check if you had entered this LD. We weren't disappointed, this is amazing!

It's always hard to come out with a good metroidvania in so little time, but you did a perfect job, well done!

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Simple wow! No sure what to do after the nest, but difficulty might be part of the challege. Great work as always.

Ellian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06pm

The ambiant music and SFX are really weird... But appart from that the game is phenomenal. Incredible, mind blown, and I can't believe you did this alone in 48H x__x The level design itself is insanely good. Incredible work!

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Really great entry. I love the screen effect. You see places you can't get to yet and wonder "What's there?" A great feeling to have in a Metroidvania!

The game frustrates at times. I think the combination of the fish-eye distorting distances, limited checkpoints, and extremely sensitive movement made it feel that way. I thought I needed to build all the nests to beat the game, but I wish I saved more sticks for that bottom-right wall-jumping area!

Still, I'm determined to beat it eventually!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Wow. It's hard to innovate on platformers but this blew my mind. I love how you handled the Entire Game on One Screen with the fish-eye lens - a great example of how constraints feed innovation. Lens effect aside, this is a solid platformer with a charming premise, Gameboy-esque graphics, and haunting soundtrack. Excellent work!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Simply incredible! The one thing that really burned me was there there seem to be far more nest spots than sticks, so if you were a little too liberal with building nests you screwed yourself for the later areas when the difficulty level spikes. By that time I had so much invested in the playthrough that it wasn't satisfying to start over again. I'm just not sure what the "build your own checkpoint" adds if you're given the chance to build them at the "wrong" spot.

mtanton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

As usual, I'm envious of your skill. Very very nicely done.

TZeroth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I love it!!! Simply a well done game.

theomg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:27am

Absolutely amazing. Amazing use of the theme and great game overall. Seriously impressive that you did this all alone in 48 hours. Congratulations.
The only improvements I could see are maybe reduce the player collider width a little bit and giving the player a little bit more maneuverability while jumping.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29am

Spent sooo much time on this, Great job!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

Oh man this was insane. I had some trouble finding the last gem, but oh well that's metroidvanias I suppose. I guess the end was a bit of an anti-climax, but it doesn't matter because the road to it was so sick. It was the perfect use of the theme imo. I think you might win this LD!

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20am

Best theme execution. Just prefect! Thank you.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

And you were in a panic because you couldn't think of a game!
I got a little stuck leaving the first wall jump pit. Oh well! I'll play this again a bit later. Liked the checkpoints but wish you made the nest sprite larger.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

cool!

pkenney says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41am

Just awesome. Noticed screen shots early in the dev blog and came looking for the game.

I feel funny saying this given the game I submitted, but I'm not really a fan of hardcore precision platformers where you have to make the jumps just right. However you did a lot to alleviate the problem. The nests were of course huge, but just as important the retry loop was instantaneous. I was frustrated at an early set of jumps I kept having to repeat but the ambiance was so strong and the friction of retrying so light that I did keep it at where I might normally have moved on. I had this experience several times - frustration, continuing in spite of myself, reward.

But I must admit that I eventually gave up when I got stuck in a pit where I had to wall-jump through down a shaft with spikes on the side. After perhaps 100 tries I had not yet even touched the final wall that looked like the hardest jump, and so my despair that I would never succeed got the better of my. That and my hand cramp.

I respect the difficult although it prevented me from seeing the rest of the game, which was my loss.

Even the sound was really well done, the ambient background sound really added more than I would have expected, that's never something I think to add to my own games.

What an entry - you're setting the bar a little high for the rest of us here, don't you think?? My legs hurt from jumping.

drnick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very good indeed! We all knew managore was going to surprise us again. It is nice that you made a game that works well, and is not only based on a cool gimmicky. The game is very challenging. However, you should definitely make progress saving work. It is very frustrating to play as is, without being able to go back, having to play it all in one sit.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:30am

Everything about this game is amazing. I cannot believe you made this in such a short amount of time, it's quite the feat. I love the simple controls and graphics but more importantly this is in my opinion perfect level design. You intuitively go in the right direction even though at first glance you feel lost. The bending effect keeps your eyes perfectly on your bird and the current trials that face you. It totally feels like the camera is moving even though it's one static screen. It also takes quite a bit of time to complete. To me this feels like a fully completed game that I would see on steam or on my 3DS. This is as perfect as you can get for a Ludum Dare entry. Blown away, amaaaazing!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:38am

Wow, superb. I was drawn in by the visual hook and stuck through the whole thing. I really like how you can see the entire map except nearby, so you have to plan a bit but still are free to see everything. Well done!

2HitMatt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:38am

Awesome. Got it open distracting me right now. Love the art and how its designed. Though jumping games frustrate the hell out of me, I'm really enjoying it.

PS - will buy strategy guide ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48am

Stop

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:56am

The mood! This is so cool.

lekochen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Holy shit this is mind-blowing. I finished the game so I know how much content in it. How's that possible to finish it in 48 hours.

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very interesting using (bending) of the theme! I think the graphics could be a bit more appealing and a background music would create a better experience. Overall its a good game. Congrats.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The best game I've played so far !

local minimum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Yep, really, really great. As usual. I've never quite seen a game like this. Graphics well much more perfect than can be expected in a jam. I did however give up quite soon because the combination of the screen distortion and quite demanding controls to start with... I simply fell at the same place too many times. By demanding controls I mean that they didn't give much air control to adjust a bad jump. I'm not sure, but maybe also a bit unforgiving in that it took the bird a little bit to stop the momentum. I mean, that's how it should be, but with the distortion it got a bit too much for me. I didn't really agree with the twigs either. I managed to build one nest but couldn't manage the second or failed to remember how to pick up twigs. Could be just me, but maybe twig introduction could be a bit clearer...or a friendly help for recap for us forgetful.

The whole idea and how to fit a lot of content onto one screen (though to be honest the mechanic would work fine even if everything didn't fit on the screen) was just brilliant.

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Whoa! Very impressive!! That fisheye is such an original use of theme. Might be a bit tiring to play through a long experience with this view/setup but for this jam it's absolutely perfect.

rxi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

A world warped around an all-seeing bird-shaped protagonist; this is easily a wonderful work of art.

Its always a strange feeling to see a game like this, I doubt given an infinite amount of time I ever would have come up with such a concept. At first it may have even seemed like a visual gimmick, a quirky play on the theme but it was only once playing -- tracing my eyes horizontally across the breadth of the world to work out where I should head to next -- that I realized how brilliant the concept was.

Starting the game up in the late evening, accompanied only by a wash of detuned saw wave drones, I began my journey; any hopes of getting an early night were lost when I realized I had been playing for an hour and had only obtained 4 orbs. I found some parts almost frustratingly difficult, but not once felt the desire to stop playing. I'm not sure what it was: the wonderfully unique concept, the lovely pixel art, the subtle effects and juice of it all or simply the inability to save my progress, but I wasn't going to stop playing until I had won.

Its difficult to say much more beyond raw praise, I'm impressed by such a game regardless of the time span it was made, but given that this was made in 48hours I'm left a little lost for words.

Overall incredible work, I enjoyed essentially every moment of the experience.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

Really interesting take on the theme, I enjoyed it a lot :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51am

Wow. This is one of, if not the, best compo games I've played this LD.

Great take on the theme; Simple, easy to pick up character controls; Great looking retro art style; Great level design and quite a decent size area to explore! The higher jump unlock mechanic that allows you to reach new parts of the level is a great addition too.

Great job on this - aren't 2D platformers awesome?

the31 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:01am

Incredible! I wasn't able to beat it this time playing it (wish there were a save option--then again, next time I'll be using the branches more strategically) but I'll certainly be coming back. Great graphics and atmosphere, and excellent use of the theme. A few times I collected items and I couldn't tell what they were--I can certainly understand not having time to make it clear in-game what everything is, and I can tell by reading the description more thoroughly.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:06am

Ok, here we have to most clever and well-designed entry so far. The job is awesome, and the idea...well.
Thanks for this experience, as a game designer you just teached me a lesson.
Great work again.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

Incredible. Just incredible. Great production values all around and super tight gameplay. I can't believe you managed to make a Metroidvania on THIS theme AND in only 48 hours. Wow.

The best part is how much it kept surprising me...there were so many moments where I was like "how the hell am I going to get over there?" but for every one of those moments, there was another moment of realization that allowed me to proceed. Having the entire map laid out in such detail (however small depending on distance) always gave me enough information to figure things out. I never got frustrated with dying because the checkpoint system was so clever (and if I did get into a mildly frustrating situation, it was because I used my sticks unwisely...all my fault). I'm really struggling to believe this wasn't rigorously playtested over years of development...it's just so polished and perfect.

I didn't expect to find my game of the year on here...but, well...here we are. :O

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:11am

I can't wait to play this game!!
but I got this error message, and I had already download the DX9.0c. But it still shows:

FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shader_distort
D3DXCompile failed - result
at gml_Object_o_game_control_Draw_64

Managore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:25am

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, everyone! It's been great to get so much feedback.

hissssssssss, tppr2046: I'm really sorry it isn't working. Could I get you to try this link as well? http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=35

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:30am

to clever - all fives!

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:36am

I can play now, thank you!!
Amazing visual, I love it!

Managore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:41am

tppr2046: Awesome! Glad we could sort it out.

rabbit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:53am

If this doesnt win I will jump off a bridge.

Are you shitting me? How is anything this good.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55am

Well there's nothing to say : it's juste perfect ! This innovative mechanic allows you to create really cool level design and the game have a unique atmosphere.

I just feel like the fullscreen doesn't fit with 16:9 screen however ô_o

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53am

Very nice job. Your concept are the best i saw since now. Congratulations.

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Great game, everything's amazing, I especially love the distortion effect that helps keep everything in view at all times :)

Praron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Just fantasitc! :D

Capro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I'm impressed!

hexagore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:54pm

That is one beautiful shader and it has allowed you to cram in so much raw game it's astonishing. I found it surprisingly difficult to get used to though... but it feels great and so atmospheric.

Poupi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Amazing!

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:52pm

What is there to say about this game? It's absolutely amazing, in every way. Simple, yet very addicting gameplay, charming graphics with a very unique shader, and quite fitting audio - the music never got annoying in the entire time I played (something I can't say about every game.. mine doesn't even have music! ;) ), and the sound effects fit perfectly with the game. Outstanding job! I wouldn't be at all surprised if you win, or end up releasing on steam one day!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Probably the best use of theme I've seen. Great artstyle. I am truly impressed you managed to create such an huge metroidvania in such a short time. Absolutely bonkers. I managed to beat it. My only criticism is just that there are couple of points that require unfairly precise jumping, like certain wall kick. But otherwise this was near perfect.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Fantastic use of the theme!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Your game is just so cool !
Graphics are awesome, really nice interpreation of the text, nothing to say :)

Frump says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:47am

Amazing work. Feels very complete for a gamejam game. The twist on the theme is really brilliant too. Beats the hell out of my 4-color palette Metroidvania-ish entry. Thanks for sharing the source.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:28am

Mind. Blown.

egos says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:36am

amazing effect and so polished.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:46pm

The graphics and audio are nice. This is not only unique with it's giant eyelense-shader, it also feels like a full game. It took me a good hour to complete, in comparison to a few minutes for the average LD game. It's amazing what you can do in 48 hours, and I can't wait to see more!

Zyow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice idea!

voidqk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:54pm

fantastic. you don't rest on your laurels, well done.

Draknek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Ahhhh, I wish this saved your progress.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:47pm

This was super impressive, great job!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Very well done regarding theme implementation. Plus the game looks like a finished game and that's very impressive.

slarrimer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:06am

Awesome game!

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:15am

For a few seconds I was wondering about the theme, then my mind exploded :O really cool effect! Great job.
Really fun game too, perfect amount of challenge.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:19am

One of the best games I've played. This looks so good. That mechanic is something I think a lot of people discussed, but decided not to implement due to either difficulty, or time to execute. You pulled it off perfectly. Well done.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:03am

Incredible game! Fits the theme, graphics and sounds tie in together well. Very fun. Very difficult game too, but in a good way, I think.

Axebane says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:12am

Never have I scored any Ludum Dare game I've played this high: 5 stars in EVERY category. The technique you went with is brilliant and perfectly fits the theme, while also being extremely innovative! The art style and audio gave me a strong "feeling" of a kind of dread mixed with fascination, and that gave the game a strong mood all it's own. Amazing work!! I really hope you work on this game more and sell it because I think it would do really well!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:30am

Just excellent! 5/5

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:38am

Awesome theme interpretation.
Awesome exploration storyline.
Awesome level-design.
Awesome visuals.
Wow! Man, you made fantastic game as usual. I enjoyed it a lot. Thanx.

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:37am

Awesome game! Seriously well designed and put together, great take on the ol' dual stick genre, the tension of physics bouncing around and the arena is just great. Just random enough without it being absolutely silly, great progression, great great :)

One gripe is the lack of feedback on some things - for example when an enemy is "invincible" you should be able to tell - shots go through them without me knowing why. I'd like to know their "grace period"

And an online leaderboard too! Instant classic :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52am

Just completed it. Great little story packed into a solid platforming experience, with some interesting visual effects. The shader/filter this was put through had some interesting gameplay ramifications; suddenly, minimaps aren't necessary, and you can plot your route through the game (or look for macguffins you missed) by leaning in close. Also, having save/respawn points as something you buy with game resources was really interesting; suddenly, which respawns you wanted to unlock, and which ones you felt confident enough to skip, were meaningful game choices... very cool!

My only serious critique of the game would be that it was possible to get stuck without any sticks in that 1-way gauntlet near the middle-bottom; I had some serious "I wanna be the guy" moments there, where I just had to buckle down and perfect 3 save spots worth of precision platforming to get through. The ability to cycle between nests, say by hitting reset while on a nest, would have helped me try another challenge while I searched for other sticks.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Amazing game. I love the idea, the style, the music... The gameplay was frustrating sometimes but in a good way. In the way that makes you keep trying over and over again until you reach your goal. That's what makes a game good.
Earning the wings was quite a hard journey, so you really feel proud once you can fly!

Perfect game, well deserved 5 stars :) Congratulations!

BretHudson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Really great entry, best use of the theme yet. I ended up not knowing where to go at one point, all the areas I knew about weren't fully accessible. Would love to try again after watching a walkthrough. :) The hitbox on the player though... super annoying spikes could hit the tip of your beak and kill you.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice workaround for fitting more onto the screen.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Awesome game! pretty frustrating, but great!

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:18pm

You're on PCGamer! Congrats! http://www.pcgamer.com/the-best-free-games-of-the-week-56/

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Great artstyle although the shader is very distracting.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:46pm

completely insane. favorite entry so far! the graphics are beautiful, the audio fits really well. I cannot believe you managed this entire level in just 48 hours, the level design is superb! amazing job

csanyk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Wild interpretation of the theme. A unique anti-scrolling mechanic, and very well done, makes simply getting around pretty challenging, in a fun way. The music is great.

Only bad thing for me was, I couldn't tell when I was picking up a stick, or if I had any, how many I had. So, I couldn't get very far. But I really want to spend more time with it and figure out this game's secrets.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:26am

You blew my mind once again managore. Good job!
Mind blowing. I dont even know hoe that shader is possible.
Very impressive!
This is amazing =D
This game is legendary, and I love it a lot! :D
This is just perfect. I loved both the visuals and the audio. Both create such an awesome mood and the use of the theme is just awesome!
Yep, all I want to say, is mixed in the comments! XD

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Just amazing. The take on the theme, the gameplay, everything is amazing with this game.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I finally found a PC that can play this! Worth the wait!
I think that the moment I realized that you could modulate the height of your jump AND the speed of your descent when wall-jumping down that one shaft with the spikes was when I knew this was something extra special. The one-screen shader is a fantastic idea (and only made me a little bit sick!) but you backed that idea up with Metroidvania gameplay that is absolutely rock solid.
Amazing job.

Axel_Kay says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:22am

This game is really good. Maybe the objective is not clear enough? Anyway one of my favorite game so far!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:04am

Cool screen effect, but it make me dizzy a little bit.
Great level design and graphic style!
Awesome!

damiller says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:49am

Okay, so I saw this game on PC Gamer, and decided to check it out, is 4 am and I am still playing this game. Is so good, but also frustrating, I am on my last gem and I cant get it. I need help!

peterkirk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This is by far one of my favourite entries I've played. The warping camera effect was a brilliant use of theme. The colour scheme, graphics, and sound were all excellent. Good take on Metrovania gameplay. The only downside is that I had to stop playing from eye strain.

madalaski says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Near-perfect. Could use a little more direction but overall a good contender for this years winner.

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Incredible game, I loved it !

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:41am

Ignoring the effect, at the core it's a very simple platformer. The controls are tight and feels good. The upgrades are nice, and I love, LOVE the nest mechanic. The graphics are really nice, but it made my eyes hurt after a while, not sure if it was the yellow background or the effect. The audio was okay, but it could've been better. As for the level design, it felt kind of uninspired, specially the maze part which I hate. :P On the other hand, the difficulty is alright, and specially with the nest mechanic, it felt like I was being properly challenged in just the right way.

Now about the effect... it is nice, but it really is pretty much just aesthetic, and doesn't affect much of the gameplay. It was actually a bit annoying for me, because it left this quite big area in my peripheral vision where every now and then I notice an enemy or something moving and get distracted. It's makes a very interesting visual, but I didn't thought it made the game any more fun per se, in fact I'd rather play without it.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Wow, great game! The two small suggestions I'd have relate to controls only:
1) a small leeway timer for detecting walljumps (letting the player hit away from the wall, and still be able to walljump), and
2) removing "up" as an input for jump on the D-pad, since it can misfire when hitting left / right for walljumping.

Again, amazing game!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:29am

This is a masterpiece. Period.

Kimau says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really interesting. A similar idea here but with magnification. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=29

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Fantastic take on the theme, and pretty great aesthetics overall. Controls weren't 100% perfect, but they were still good. Fantastic entry!

Anikki says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Very well implemented, balanced, polished and fun. Nice Graphics. Behind that magnifying glass effect is however just a neat platformer that doesn't really gain anything from it. But thats true for most games in LD31.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Really impressive entry, and very clever use of the theme. The game was a little hard for me but admittedly I don't play a lot of platformers. The art is gorgeous, the music really sets the mood and the controls are really tight. One of the best games I've played this LD.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Best entry I have played so far. Really great job.

Odefus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Very nice take on the theme. Strong entry!

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:46pm

This was simply amazing.

The game is extremely fun; difficulty was spot on, with some nice trick jumps; controls felt really tight and precise and the overall mood was amazing. After playing this, I must go back on my opinion that there wouldn't be any interesting and innovative use of this theme. You've proved me wrong.
(if not for the theme) A similar effect could be achieved by using a minimap... but it wouldn't be quite the same thing. I could stand in one place planning my next target, but also move around looking at what was to come. There were no surprises, at no moment, but this didn't make the game less interesting, not even easier. And I find that funny because every other metroidvania introduces you to new areas slowly, making o backtrack quite a lot. Of course, time probably didn't allow for much, but having the entire map visible from the start didn't make this a worse metroidvania... It was a amazing game.

Congrats!

sputnik says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:15pm

devastating

mystakin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Oh hey, I remember your LD29 entry: The Sun and Moon! I suppose it's no surprise this is so good, then. :D

This entry is bittersweet for me. We both had the "Metroidvania in one screen" idea, but dang if you didn't pull it off way better than I did, haha. It's one of those rare entries that I find it hard to quit playing until I finish it. Excellent work!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Brilliant concept, brilliant use of theme, simply brilliant.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Stellar presentation, and the fish-eye effect is a really nice twist to see on the theme. It's interesting being able to see the whole map but only really being able to comprehend it if you stay still and look closely at the surrounding area. It creates this really nice focus on the immediate area while keeping the player aware of their greater surroundings.

The game itself is well crafted, sort of standard, but everything is solid and helps to reinforce the main fish-eye attraction. One thing though, I was under the impression for a while that after building a nest you had to press the "s" key to activate it as a spawn point due to the s below each save point. I think a non-letter symbol would be a nice substitute so that it isn't confused as a key that requires to be pressed. Aside from that I found everything intuitive and straightforward to pick up and understand.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow...

Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:06pm

One of the best games I see so far !

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I'm throwing money at the screen but nothing is happening!!!

Seriously, I just can't comprehend how you something that good, that polished, and that huge in 48 hours.

anael says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:19pm

incredible ! super idea !

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:55pm

And after an hour, I finally finished it :D

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Really original idea for the theme and good, responsive controls, but the fish-eye effect makes it hard to feel the distance, esspecialy while jumping. Overall very nice game. Moody.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I spent an hour on it too. This is a very good entry.

I spent a lot of time in fruitless searches after unlocking the 7th gem because I didnt notice that each gem was spawning a platform. I was thinking one was missing and I needed the 4th air upgrade to go top.
The physic was perfect and I was in love with the big jump after the wall jump upgrade, when you have to fall in the hole from the top. It gaves me some vertigo feeling, very unexpected from a 2D platform game.
I think your magnify effect is not just a tool to respect the theme it also gives a whole new dimention and change perspective when you have to :
- look for a specific point :
- jump to a high point and keep track of your path
- fall in an abyss dodging spikes.

I'm usually fond of 4 colors gameboy style palettes but I think this game would have benefit from a larger palette. It would have let you design some area with specific colors improving the player ability to identify a zone and search for it later on the map.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:30am

Epic ! Makes me a bit sick, but it's so beautifull.

sorlok says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:47am

One of the best games I've played so far in LD, and a solid game in its own right. Wonderful take on the theme, and I love how the fish-eye viewpoint makes certain things easier (like jumping down long pits with confidence). Amazing; 5 stars across the board!

whilefun says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:20am

Overall, v3ry well done. The graphical warp effect made me feel a bit nauseous, unfortunately. I didn't finish because of this, but I did like the graphical style and use of the collection of sticks and nests as save points. Well done!

flwns says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:44am

incredible

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:10am

Ok. Bad point first : This game is painful for my eyes or my brains I don't know.

Now, goods points :) : I really like your shader effect. First Is very stylistic, seconds it's a very useful feature in term of game design. And it's awesome how we can make a huge map feet in one screen with this effect !

Well done!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:14am

Really cool!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Challenging, expansive and interesting - I'm amazed you pulled off so much in so little time! The audio helped to build up the rather ominous atmosphere, and clever use of a limited tone palette reinforced the sombre mood. I was very impressed with how much detail you got into your tileset with so few colours - well done! The fish-eye shader was a pretty good idea, although it was a little disorientating at first. The only real issue I had when playing the game was that one of the walls which shot spikes seemed to be pretty deadly even when there weren't spikes - I got around this by jumping over the wall so I never touched its right side. Fantastic work - keep it up! :)

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:57pm

One of best geames in this LD

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Spectacular! Nailed the theme once again.

Vandash says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Absolutely amazing :)

Insality says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:51pm

wow, i have no words
you are master ;]

kipelovets says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Fantastic work, great theme interpretation, great music, great art, can't say more. This is a true winner

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nothing to say. It's well balanced, the art is good, and it's fun to play. Very good job. :)
(however, there are some little glitchs if you don't use all the branch).

seraphki says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Beautiful =3

Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:39am

I figured it could be interesting for you to watch the game being played, so I recorded my playthrough: http://youtu.be/_lae09-gv_c

Overall - amazing game! It feels extremely polished, and the level design feels incredibly well thought through. There were some occasions where I felt like I perhaps took the wrong way (most notably I was stuck in the same place between 15:15 and 30:10 in the video). I'm very impressed with how you chose to place things just out of reach - that shows great knowledge of level design and the game mechanics. It took me quite a while to realize that there was a HUD and what information there was there, since it all kind of melted together with the map. All things considered though, I'm absolutely blown away by this. Talk about taking the concept to an entirely new level. And it's not just really cool, it's useful as well, since you've always got the entire (except when in the corners) map available at all times! It's absolutely incredible that you managed to stir this up with this level of detail in just 48 hours. I love the game (and you for making it). Thank you very much! And Merry Christmas :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:15am

Definitely unique. The bending effect that allowed viewing from afar was great.

The ending was a bit of an anticlimax, but whatever. It was a good run.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:13am

Crazy fun and amazing. The visual effect is so freaking cool

Si1ver says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice solution for "one screen" theme! =)

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I loved the effect but the "Walking on the bottom of the world" part of the game (As I'm coining it) was seriously mindblowing. Great little game, got a bit frustrating at parts but I absolutely love the aesthetic and getting to fly around at the end was fun. Great atmospheric music too!

Kabukky says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

Great use of the theme! Very atmospheric and the warping effect doesn't feel gimmicky. Very impressive for 48 hours.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pssst - You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cbK0cTrfXs

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very nice. Gfx idea and hardenes are best!
5 of 5.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Amazing take one the theme. Took me a while to get used to the distortion, but then it was really fun. Great job!

madameberry says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Hard as balls (I couldn't finish it) but nails aesthetic and gameplay.

nuqu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

I like the look and the simplicity of the game, the shader is really cool idea!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

It's an awesome job, especially for a compo. Good work as usual :)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

One of those awesome jam games that must be played until it's completed, took me around 25 mins. Loved it! Pure awesomeness, seriously. Well done! :D

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Definitely a clever use of the theme! The platforming overall felt solid and the graphics and audio were pretty decent as well. I did find the fisheye effect to be pretty distracting and sometimes frustrating to deal with for general gameplay, however. Nice work overall, though!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

This games just amazing ><

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

Incredible. Solid, beautiful (the barren-ish landscape and choice of colour reminds me a lot of the movie labyrinth), fun, challenging, and trippy. Fits the theme perfectly to boot! I would be surprised if this doesnt win.

Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

Congratulations! This game was a very deserving winner! The only issue I could suggest is that the difficulty spikes a bit after aquiring the wall-jump ability, but even that's reaching. An all round amazing game!

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:55am

I FELL DOWN THE FLOATY WALL JUMPY PART AND LANDED ON A SAVE POINT!
Amazing game, even if I didn't play anymore once that happened due to wrist pain

feiss says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 11:24am

Long life the winner! very deserved :)

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Wow, I can't believe this is not a jam entry. :D

The quality of the platforming is comparable to Super Meat Boy.
It also has very nice touches like the small random floaty things and the small birds on the left.
Very nice that you dampened the jump sound the pure 8-bit sound would be too sharp.

The only criticism I have is this: it seems to be required to restart (r) when collecting the reward for the 7th (bottom) trial since it is not possible to get back up normally. I guess this may be fixable by putting one-way floors in above that reward.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I saw a post about this game early in the competition thinking that it was a truly interesting take on the theme and have looked for it since. I'm really happy that the last game I played for this LD was also the best! Incredibly good controls and fun level design. The shader effect made me dizzy quite a lot but it was used in such an innovative and good way that it was justified. Hope to see more from you in the future!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 31, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Awesome! :) A totally fun and playable entry, with a very clever take on the theme that makes it super memorable. I found the jumping puzzles to be fun and fair, though at least on my xbox controller, I got a lot of extraneous jumps (maybe from very faint analog presses of the A button?) which was kind of frustrating on the tricky paths. Some of the paths I did with far fewer branches than the save points indicated, which made it extra tricky. My favorite part was jumping out of the level. :)

A well-deserved gold!

FMG says ...
Jan 6, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Thanks for a wonderful game Daniel.

davidmc971 says ...
Feb 19, 2015 @ 3:20am

This is an awesome game! Spent like two hours to complete it. :)

Rustam says ...
Jun 8, 2017 @ 8:04am

(Pro-tip: ask to speak to Matt if you want to chat with our founder!)- No prompts, sign-ups, or frustrating on-boarding. http://ir-kaluga.ru It is FREE and I think it compresses faster than WINRAR.

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 7:30pm

Features fast and furious space, air-to-air and air-to-ground combat that immerses you completely in the game. http://downloadthingshere.cricket Online ScoreBoards - Achievements - Facebook connectivity.

binasa says ...
Jul 11, 2017 @ 5:56pm

Children find this to be an enjoyable and experiencing way to learn! add pumpkins some minor bugs fixed. http://downloadfromuzbekistan.com From bill santiago: App Name MConverter Medias ConverterDescription The best media converter in iOS! FREE version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]