Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Velcro

by camlang - Jam Entry

It is a rhythmic bullethell. You must protect the dot in the center. The longer you stay the faster the bullets fly. It has a very distinctive ambient and minimalistic vibe to it, swear-as-you-play dynamic gameplay and some trippy music. The game supports mouse+keybord and controllers (controller vibration will work in PC version).
It has only one track right now and i.e. one level. We’re planning to add more tracks in the post-compo version.

Controls:
Start game - Space/Start
Movement - Mouse/LeftStick

Velcro in 6 statemets:
● - Defend the dot
▲ - Avoid black triangles
◌ - Collect white pentagon to enlarge shield
◌ - Collect green pentagon to fill up your lives
◌ - Collect red pentagon and your shield will shrink
4 - Try to survive 4 waves of bad guys

UPD. If bullets don't appear in web-version try windows build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#11Audio(Jam)4.22
#97Graphics(Jam)4.22
#102Overall(Jam)3.79
#137Fun(Jam)3.60
#177Mood(Jam)3.54
#317Theme(Jam)3.74
#475Innovation(Jam)3.08
#777Humor(Jam)1.96

Comments

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Very nice game. The graphics and the music where great but for me it was to hard. I think I should give it another try later when I have slept a little. Thank you for this great game.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39am

Cool style :) Its challenging, it sounds good and the gameplay is smooth. Good game, good job

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

Nice game ! The music and visuals are both really good. nicely done !

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

I like the graphics (especially the circles and the score). After the background turned orange, nothing happend anymore. Is this intentional? I waited for around a minute and then quit.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

Cool style, would love a leaderboard :)

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34am

@SirRicecake, try windows build. To start the actual gameplay hit space. When the first wave of bullets end the background color will change and after a while (7 secs or so) the next wave will start. There are 4 waves in the game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07pm

The style is cool and the music rocks! The mechanism is clear and easy to learn, but the difficulty curve rises like instantly... It is a nice entry for sure!

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice musik ^^

oatsbarley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Very polished, definitely agree it could have done with a leaderboard. Nice job!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Looks, sounds and plays great. Although would benefit from some instructions in the actual game :)

acerunox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

I love games like this. Nice visuals and great music! I've got 8450 points on first try.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Hype! Great music and visual effects.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great game! The gameplay was smooth and the game in itself was good.
The only thing I didn't understand was what the little balls were doing. Should I intercept it? Let it pass ? Maybe a little "How to" or some popups would have been good.

vegard1992 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Graphics are awsome =)
Maybe work on the gameplay though

Larzan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful, great visuals and audio, fun to play, love it!

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

@acerunox, good score for the first try. Keep it up!

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

@monsieurvinou, these balls are actually pentagons :) and they are bonuses. The white one enlarges shield, the green one adds one hp, the red one is anti-bonus and shrinks the shield. And yes, to collect a bonus you have to intercept it.

thecord says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

5/5 awesome game :-)

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice. I really like the artistic style. Perfect mobile game that could be highly addictive, but I am sure there were some triangle set ups that were impossible to avoid.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This reminds me heavily of Super Hexagon, and that's great! Stylish and sleek, great music, slightly hard too hard to tell which triangle you should be deflecting first, and it'd be nice to have a bit more audio and haptic feedback when you do something right or wrong - flashy, noisy, etc.!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Holy crap that's awesome. Super slick, super smooth, and yet super simple. Favourite game I've seen so far!

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Wonderful game! I like how the visual effects move the music so smoothly (unlike my game that looks like spastic ferret)

As a graphic designer, I must your visuals are gorgeous!

I wish you had an OSX port because I want to keep this game to play locally all the time

apiotrw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really nice visuals. I like minimalistic games.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very fun game with very nice and fitting music.

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Awesome. Feels like a bullet-hell Super Hexagon. I liked this enough to move it from my "LD31 rating" folder to my actual game library, would love to see an expansion.

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

@Pickens Inc., yeah some patterns are sporadic thats' what we gonna fix. More engaging and enjoyable feedback on blocking is the next on the list.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Really liked the style of the game. It could be nice mobile time-killer game.
Sometimes, when I catch something white, the shield shrinks (Web version).

DA_KID says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Really Good.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Cool integration of the title screen and game field~

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I really loved the colors and the music.

The difficulty spikes pretty drastically, but that's not necessarily a problem. I would've liked to've kept my shield through the levels, though. :) I'd love to see it with touch controls!

If this was a game on a mobile marketplace, I would definitely purchase it. :D

Devark says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

Love how the music is in sync with the game. Really fun and polished, great job!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56am

I think the pulsing with the beat was a bit too obvious, it just seemed a bit too much. Maybe if you made it more subtle. Sound effects need to be had, for instance I was never sure if I was dying or moving to the next level. I know at one point I went back to the main screen, but not sure if that was because I was dying or if it was a bug or something.

camlang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:27am

@WetDesertRock, thanks for your feedback. You're right it's hard to tell when level or wave ends or when you die, we'll try to fix that.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really liked it, the sound does a lot ;)

spolsh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I wish I could play but got Web or Windows downloading error. Please check that out :)

camlang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

@spolsh, downloading of the windows build and web seems to work fine. What does exactly the error says?

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Hello from Microsoft GamesJam!
You have one of most stylish visuals on the event!
Gameplay is also avesome!
Five stars!

camlang says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:48am

@Si1ver, hey buddies! Congratulations on winning!

exoddinary says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:10pm

cool game! and nice music too!

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice pace, well polished graphics, music perfectly matches the gameplay.

Kitch says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really slick looking game and great audio integration! Really good work! Thanks!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:37pm

The looks of the game are minimalistic and awesome. The game mechanics are simple, but seem to work well enough. Sometimes it is impossible to fend of all triangles however (at least for me).

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Very good game from GamesJam Microsoft! Im happy to play it here =)

Insality says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:10pm

great one!
awesome work! I am wonder, how this can be so beautiful

Trite Games says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice visuals and transitions. It's hard but fun :)

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice visuals, great music, good gameplay. One of the finest game I've seen so far. :]

Namide says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very beautiful game

XTremEive says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Love the aesthetics of the game. Great great great execution (yeah I wrote that 3 times).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:37pm

It seems to me very similar avec Hexagone. Cool concept. Aesthetic is awsome by his simplicity. Neat ++

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very solid and fun rhythm game with very good music. I also tested the postcompo version and that is even better!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:05pm

really enjoyed playing this. The audio and pulse of the game work well.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:27am

Damn, this game has some of the best styles both visually and aurally this LD. Excellent work!

Lynx says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:47am

Post-Compo version rocks! So much more my speed and I love the music!

Tuism says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:27am

It's very interesting, really polished, but I feel like the controls let the concept down entirely. Maybe it needs to use a move controller or a analogue stick - playing with the mouse is just painful.

I assume it does support the controller :)

Without reading explanations I thought the arrow things are stuff to be dodged - it's BLACK which looks bad and pointy which looks damaging. So I think the visual communication aspect could be refined a bit.

Otherwise good job :)

Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Simple and addictive game. Visuals and music are great and fit very well together.

radmars says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:01am

Great music but I wish that it was incorporated into the gameplay more - the bullet behavior/movement didn't feel particularly rhythmic at all. Also it's weird that one of the "powerups" is actually bad for you, it just seemed intuitive to always pick those up. Regardless this is a solid game and it would be awesome to see it expanded upon. Nice work!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Good music and graphic style. I wish it had some sound efects.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Fantastic presentation, very stylish. Excellent music too. I like the colour changes for the different waves, and the additional pulsing elements when the beat kicks in. The gameplay is simple but does the job. Great stuff!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

I'm bad at this fast-paced games :( the music made me go on, though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]