Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Chess Wars

by Skipi - Compo Entry

Chess Wars is a Fire Emblem-style game where you move your units in a turn based strategy to defeat your opponent.

You can play in two modes:
Hero mode where you lead a small force of elite units

Army mode where you control a chess army

Controls:
WASD to move cursor
Space to select
Q to end turn
R to generate new map
Left Shift to speed up movement
Escape to close game

Has DVORAK support!

Known bugs:
Game is currently unwinnable/unlosable. This is not much of a problem since you can easily generate a new board at any time.

Units are unbalanced. This'll be dealt with shortly.

Changelog:
Did some rough balancing. Hero mode is still unwinnable, but army mode is playable.
Added small menu to make getting to game modes easier.
Updated game to load all assets properly
Fixed flavor text clipping off the screen
Fixed several crashes when generating a new board
Compiled in Release configuration (Gotta love optimizations)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#270Innovation3.55
#469Theme3.66
#691Graphics2.87
#705Humor2.29
#789Overall2.97
#873Fun2.74
#902Mood2.52

Comments

miguelmurca says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Hey, heads up that your .zip fires a security warning in Chrome!

Skipi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Thanks for letting me know. I've gotten that issue before, but I don't know how to fix it. Chrome seems to default flagging binaries it does not recognise.

I can try to find a workaround if this continues to be a problem, but for now I'd recommend downloading in another browser or temporarily turning off malware and phishing protection in Chrome, as that's what blocks the download.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Fun concept. A bit slow for me and I felt a bit overwhelmed of all the possible tactics.

I had problem with a missing OpenAL32.dll file when running the game. This link fixed it for me https://code.google.com/p/rallyraid/downloads/detail?name=oalinst.zip&can=2&q=

Skipi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I fixed the OpenAL32 issue, I forgot I technically have audio code in the game even if there is no sound or music.

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I a bit of a chess fan so I found this game really cool !
Nice graphics too

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Interesting variation of chess game. Some units are difficult to see on some terrain types, especially after they make a move. And I would prefer to use mouse.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Great idea, I love FE. Feels like there's not much going on, but I guess that's bound to happen with the time limit, isn't it? It's a great start though, and extra features aren't a biggy to add. This could explode pretty nicely.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great realisation, but the board is a bit too huge to make it fun for me. Happy to see another entry based on chess :-)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23pm

An interesting take on chess.

Hammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice start. You've got an impressive amount done in just the 48h. I agree with some above points that the game is currently a bit overwhelming and this also makes it feela bit slow. So maybe a furture feature could be maps that start of small then increase in size?

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Tried Hero mode at first and thought that my units will be OP -- nope ^^ I died a pretty fast death. Would be fun to see how far one could get with really OPed heroes. Liked the graphics and the arrow where your units go.

For Army mode there are a bit too many units on the board for my taste, which makes the game a bit slow.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Oh btw: nice job implementing an AI in 48 hours :)

Skipi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

That will probably be what happens in the future. Either that, or I zoom in the view so the player isn't overwhelmed by the entire map.

Skipi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Thanks! The AI is actually really simple. It just generates a few threat maps and a distance map and paths to the tile with the lowest value if it cannot find an enemy. Nothing too fancy.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

game too slow for me to enjoy seemed to have alot of enemies

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I dont quite what to make out of this... it is cool, but didnt get what to do..

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

A cool idea. I love fire emblem and I really want to like this. The problem IMO is the sheer number of pieces. It really makes it overwhelming and time consuming to move pieces and watch the enemy move theirs. Good job though!

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:07am

Neat idea. I wish the game was more complete/finish-able though. I hope you finish the bits you have left and re-release it. This could be very fun with 2 players.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:13am

This game is actually quite cool, but its a little to easy, other than that its a good game. oh yeah, the charecters are too small, maybe like a custom map that is smaller or that you can scroll through

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:16am

Overall not a bad game. Would benefit from sound though. I also found it a bit boring and tedious, it's just a side effect of having like 30 things to control (and then waiting for the computer to do the same). The graphics also blend in with the terrain a bit too much sometimes. Another major issue is it's hard, almost impossible to tell the difference between your pieces and the computer's

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31am

Really interesting idea. Like others, I found it a bit too big / overwhelming / slow to really get into it at the moment. I hope you keep going with it.

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:02am

I forgot to rate this game when I first played it! Anyway, this was really really well done. These mechanics were a really bold move, and the concept was really interesting.

The only thing I would change is to add mouse selection. Having to use WASD to traverse 625 cells got a bit slow.

Awesome job! =)

Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

It's pretty great seeing some turn based strategy here, and I think you've done a good job at making this game interesting!

I'm a bit at a loss why you went with the chess theme, but didn't give any of the units their chess movesets though. I also agree with the people who say scale it down; the game takes unreasonably long as is.

All in all though, this is a very impressive little game, and I'm interested in seeing more!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Interesting entry, quite cool to see a fire emblem-like for LD! I found it really difficult to tell which units were mine - the only one which really stood out was the girl, everyone else was just grey. I quite liked the implementation of the movement mechanics and terrain system, as well as the chess inspired-design. I felt it was quite tedious waiting for the CPU to move its 50 or so units across the board since it took longer than my own turn. Overall a pretty good entry, keep it up!

Skipi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

Rockhopper, that's the plan for when I continue development. The idea is tobgi e each unit slight perks based on their type. For instance, pawns might have a burst of speed on thier first turn. I didn't have nearly enough time to implemebt it, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]